We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location + Good Property = Good Choice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Santa Fe Historic Plaza
Ranked #18 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
374 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
“Great Location + Good Property = Good Choice”
Reviewed April 14, 2011

As other posters have commented, you can't beat the location. Plaza area is within easy walking distance to the shops and restaurants.

This is an historic building so don't expect it be to be brand spanking new with all the latest building amenities and room sizes you may find at newer Hiltons. Having said that, the property appears to be very well maintained and decorated in a great southwest motif. Thought the public spaces - lobby, restaurants, hallways, etc. - were very well maintained and looked very nice.

Our room was nice, fairly typical but had a small bathroom, some missing wallpaper border, a hot iron stain on the carpet and a toilet that flushed so hard and loud you could hear the toilet next door to you. Room housekeeping could have been better - bed sheets weren't changed when requested (took request to front desk to make it happen) and vacuuming the carpet wasn't thorough as' leftovers' were still on the floor after the room was cleaned. Still the beds were very comfy and our room location was very quiet.

Special credit goes to the staff, especially the foodservice folks, who were unrelenting in their commitment to excellence. They were always checking to see what they could do to make our dining experience better. Food was excellent and the fitness room is top notch.

NOT SO GOOD: paying for self parking, paying for internet access except if you are sitting in the lobby.

Every property has its opportunities for improvement but this Hilton is nevetheless a GOOD CHOICE and certainly would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TFopinion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,539 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    708
    482
    207
    90
    52
See reviews for
312
618
101
306
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (255)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2011

I think hotel staff and their wilingness to solve any problems is key to a great experience. This hotel is tops! It's located on the edge of Santa Fe's Plaza. Can't beat it.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Wlbursnana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lubbock, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2011

My husband and I decided to take a trip to Santa Fe for the weekend of our Wedding Anniversary, as we had never been before! We choose the Hilton Santa Fe based on location, past trip advisor reviews and word of mouth from a friend who had stayed there in the past. When we first walked into the lobby we were greeted by friendly front desk staff as well as a beautiful Southwestern Style Lobby that was the perfect mix of modern comforts and historic touches. We asked the front desk agents about local places to visit and they had really good recommendations, which was exciting for us, because you could tell they knew the area well!
We were checked into room 226, which was a spacious room with a great view of the pool area. I had read some past reviews about the rooms undergoing renovation in the near future, but even with the current status of the way they are now, it was a lovely room with the modern amenities you would need. I would be so interested to see what they look like after the renovation.The hotel might be smaller then its next door neighbor, but the staff gets to know each of their guests so much better and ends up providing much better service to those staying the weekend.
The second evening as we were getting ready go to out, the hotel surprised us with a bottle of champagne and chocolate covered strawberries as they had remembered we were in town for our anniversary! It was such a nice treat and the room service was delivered by Christoper, who was very sweet.
We also had breakfast in the restaurant on Sunday morning before leaving and I felt that it was an above average hotel breakfast, and had great southwestern options for their guests.
All and all I would go back in a heart beat and look forward to seeing the updated rooms!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TexasTraveler35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2011

We were pleasantly surprised by the modernized facilities!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ManitouMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Level Contributor
210 reviews
195 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2011

This hotel is a bargain compared to the El Dorado next door (where my conference was). Room was quiet (faced the pool). Fee internet in the business center. Friendly staff. Close to the tourist attractions. Take the train from Albequerque (sp) for just $7 and walk 3 blocks to the hotel. OK, I found a quarter and other stuff near the bed and by the big chair ( but they vacumed the next day). Message to hotels: Vacum your hotel rooms, especially next to the night stand, in the closet, in the corners, etc. It's not brain surgery. Is there nothing grosser than finger nail clippings by the bed stand. (And thanks for the quarter left there too).

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 2Midwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Tahoe, NV
Level Contributor
49 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2011

Located at the bottom end of town but easy walking distance (four blocks) to central square. Excellent front desk service. Great value for the price compared to other hotels we researched.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank antiqworks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
98 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2011

I was pleasantly surprised by the hotel's convenient location, and the quality of the room.

Just off the central plaza, it's close to all of the sights. Although it's central, it's very quiet.

Everything in the room seemed new. The bedding and towels were sumptuous. The TV screen was very big for a hotel room. I'm not a fan of Direct TV because it's so slow to change channels, but it is good enough for a stay in a place like this where there's so much to see and do outdoors.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank judyisreadytogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantaFeSuzanne, Director of Sales at Hilton Santa Fe Historic Plaza, responded to this review, March 7, 2011
Hello judyisreadytogo,
Thank you for your compliments on our hotel during your most recent stay.
We truly appreciate the positive feedback and look forward to seeing you again.
Warm Regards,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
La Fonda on the Plaza
#5 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,148 reviews
Downtown
Inn on the Alameda
Inn on the Alameda
#3 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,171 reviews
Downtown
El Dorado Hotel & Spa
El Dorado Hotel & Spa
#17 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Inn of the Governors
Inn of the Governors
#11 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,544 reviews
Old Santa Fe Inn
#6 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,535 reviews
Hotel Santa Fe
#12 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Santa Fe Historic Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Santa Fe Historic Plaza

Property: Hilton Santa Fe Historic Plaza
Address: 100 Sandoval St, Santa Fe, NM 87501-2131
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Santa Fe
#8 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
#15 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#17 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Santa Fe Historic Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 2 blocks from the famous Historic Plaza, the Hilton is one of the best hotels in downtown Santa Fe. Not many hotels near Santa Fe, NM can compete with our excellent service and amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hilton Santa Fe Historic Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Santa Fe Historic Plaza Hotel Santa Fe
Hilton Hotel Santa Fe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing