We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Worst Beds EVER”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Garrett's Desert Inn
Ranked #48 of 61 Hotels in Santa Fe
Reviewed October 1, 2009

I have stayed at Garretts at least 4 times and I must be crazy because only once did we have half way decent beds. We select Garretts because it is close to the Plaza and a reasonable price, but after this last trip, we will never stay there again. The beds squeek when you make the slightest movement and they sag terribly to the middle and aren't the least bit comfortable. A year ago they said they were getting all new beds. Either they did and got a terrible deal or it was not the truth. If you want a good night's sleep, don't stay at Garrett's until they really do buy new, good quality beds.

We also found the staff to be unfriendly and not responsive to requests.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank fowlerfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (414)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

326 - 332 of 414 reviews

Reviewed September 18, 2009

Checked in 9/509. After 1:00 a.m. realized there were bed bugs in my bed. Killed at least a dozen. Called the front desk and was told there were no other rooms to move me to. Hotel employee asked what I expected them to do? After some discussion, employee brought us a key to a different room. With no assistance, at 1:45 in the a.m., we packed up and moved ourselves downstairs and across the parking lot (no elevators). The second room did not have bugs. Upon checkout we asked about an adjustment to our charges and were told there was no manager there, we should pay the bill in full and they'd get back to us. After much discussion, the manager appeared and agreed to reverse the charges for that night. BTW, it takes a few days for all the bites to show on your body. Am still treating bites 2 weeks later.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank VagabondTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2009

The location of this charming hotel is fantastic! -- 2 blocks from the Plaza, near countless restaraunts, shopping and art galleries. We were impressed with the attentive staff and the adorable, refreshing 'vintage' look of the hotel. We will definitely stay here the next time we visit Santa Fe.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lorettamz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2009

Yes, this hotel is no frills but ifor the price, you can't beat it! It is very convenient to everything in Santa Fe. We parked the car and walked to everything - Canyon Road, resturants, etc. The rooms were very clean. Staff was helpful with resturant recommendations and activities to do with the kids.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AMD118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2009

We have stayed at the Desert Inn several times over the years, mainly because it's so close to the Plaza and is considerably less expensive than the lodgings near it. On the surface, it looks pretty nice -- clean swimming pool, flowers regularly watered, decent restaurant on-site, etc. But this time we stayed in two different rooms, both of which had old, saggy-in-the-middle beds (very uncomfortable) and at least one broken lamp. Carpet and furniture are getting dingier as well. The staff were less helpful than in previous years, and I had to go down to the office twice to get a room card that worked. On our next year's trip to SF, we are thinking about renting a condo instead.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gontyna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2009

I did stay at Garrett's from June 24 thru June 29. The location is great-it is within walking distance from the Plaza. My room was nice except the room could use new carpeting and painting. I could always tell when the cleaning people been in because they kept demagnetizing my cards. I had to keep going back to the office for 3 days to get the cards magnetized again.
I would reccommend this hotel if you can get a good rate. I did get an excellent rate thru Expedia.com at $79/per night for 1 queen size bed. I would not reccommend Garrett's rate of $109-$129/per night.

There is a nice coffee and ice cream shop accross the street called Latitudes. I had a good hamburger at The ORE House. There is an excellent tour guide service called Southwest Adventures. They do tours of Bandelier, Taos, and Abiquiu. Their tours take you on a journey not just a destination.

I do prefer budget hotels because sometimes they do have more character. I have stayed at budget hotels in San Diego, San Francisco, and Toronto. Garrett's is a good value at $79/night.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank klw6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2009

We had zero issues at this one. The cafe is SO CUTE and it really reflects the flavor of it's surroundings. Clean, quiet and a PERFECT location. A block from old town. Nice staff, nice pool, again, if you're looking for the ritz then don't stay here but it's a great place to stay if you want to spend your money on food, art and booze instead of your room. Floor to ceiling windows, wood blinds and cable. Not too shabby.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DaveMonica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
1.4 mi away
The Lodge at Santa Fe
The Lodge at Santa Fe
#34 of 61 in Santa Fe
940 reviews
5.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn Santa Fe
La Quinta Inn Santa Fe
#36 of 61 in Santa Fe
695 reviews
0.8 mi away
Santa Fe Sage Inn
Santa Fe Sage Inn
#30 of 61 in Santa Fe
1,379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
El Rey Court
El Rey Court
#28 of 61 in Santa Fe
810 reviews
5.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Santa Fe
Comfort Inn Santa Fe
#35 of 61 in Santa Fe
316 reviews
5.6 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Santa Fe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garrett's Desert Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garrett's Desert Inn

Address: 311 Old Santa Fe Trl, Santa Fe, NM 87501-2707
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 61 Hotels in Santa Fe
Price Range: $77 - $136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Garrett's Desert Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Garrett's Desert Inn - a Santa Fe motel in the heart of town. ~ A Route 66 Santa Fe Motel right in heart of Santa Fe, sitting three blocks from the end of the Santa Fe Trail. Now under new management since Oct 2013. Serious downtown value. ~ a classic Route 66 "motor-court" motel with front of the room parking, has been the go-to bargain accommodations for downtown Santa Fe. ~ with the famous "Bite" all-day restaurant featuring its renowned "Best of Santa Fe" burgers and malts. ~ one of the most affordable pet friendly Santa Fe hotels, ~ heated swimming pool and plenty of sun open late May to late September. ~ three blocks or less to 1. The Plaza 2. Palace of the Governors 3. Cathedral and its chiming bells 4. Loretto Chapel 5. The three downtown museums 6. Canyon Road and its 80 plus galleries - a visual feast of a walk 7. Oldest house in Santa Fe 8. Forty - yes 40- restaurants. ~ Right by the end of the Santa Fe trail. ~ Imagine what has passed us by. We're not fancy - we're "right there - in the heart of it" Locally owned since 1957. Giving Back with Every Stay It is our mission to support non-profits by hosting community environmental and political groups, book readings, lectures, meetings, yoga, and meditation - - the essence of living here in Santa Fe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Garrett's Desert Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garrett`s Desert Hotel Santa Fe
Garretts Desert Hotel
Garretts Desert Santa Fe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing