We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than Anticipated!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Garrett's Desert Inn
Ranked #44 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Reviewed February 9, 2014

Wow! I have to say, after reading the other reviews on this property, we were very pleasantly surprised! We've been coming to Santa since the mid 80's and have stayed in just about every hotel/inn near the plaza and down Cerrillos Road and were leery about this one. We had super saver fares on major airline and needed a Santa Fe Weekend. We stayed in room 212 and found it to be very clean and functional. The bathroom was very clean (No mold or mildew and in great condition). We had a flat screen TV in the room (a little small) but we're not in Santa Fe to watch TV. Please do not compare this property to the high end properties near the plaza. However, this is an upper end tourist class hotel that the new owners have clearly decided to breathe some new life into and it shows! The one thing that did bug me was the $8.00 parking charge. I don't recall seeing this on the website, however, parking is limited near the plaza and still a value, they should just state there is a parking charge. If you want a value near the plaza, this is a good place.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank KevininDallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (405)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

164 - 170 of 405 reviews

Reviewed January 4, 2014

Beware of the $8 parking fee, It is not included in your room rate, and is not explained at the time of check in. Although it is only a small charge it should have been explained at the time of check in. This is not a negative review, just a heads up for future guest. The hotel was OK for the money.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank denvertender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Garrett's Desert Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2014

Thank you for giving all our guests a heads up about an $8 parking charge - 55% less than that of our neighbor hotel.

We have notice of the charge everywhere that we can find to put it and we should certainly have mentioned it when you checked in. It is part oif all agents' training. Back to training.

My apologies for our failure to discuss it.

Thank you for staying with us at our Rt 66 motel in Santa Fe,
Phil, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2013

Given the negative reviews, I was somewhat reluctant to book this hotel. However, I needed to be near the Plaza and had to have two rooms. So, I didn't want to spend tons of money on the nearby upscale hotels. After staying, I am asking myself, why the negative reviews? I used two rooms, a king and a double queen. Both were clean and had attractive southwestern style furniture. Yes, the fixtures are old, but functional. The exterior is well maintained. The king room even had a flatscreen TV. WiFi was fine. All this for $60/night, three blocks from the Plaza! I have stayed at the Inn at Loretto, which is literally across a street and small creek from Garrett's. The Inn is spectacular, but nearly three times the price! And parking there is about $16/night. I do agree that charging $8/night for parking at Garrett's seems a bit chintzy. But, given the room price and location, I don't think one can complain too much. One past reviewer suggested that the owners tear the place down and build anew. Sure. And then we would have another $200/night luxury hotel. So, get your expectations under control and give it a try. I can't speak for all rooms, but our two were fine for the price. By the way, the on site restaurant, The Bite, is very good. It is a reincarnation of the well known and much loved Bobcat Bite that had been on the east side of Santa Fe. Our breakfasts were excellent and the service was exceptional.

Room Tip: No elevator, so request a first floor room if you can't climb stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jwpColorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Garrett's Desert Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2014

Thank you for kindly understanding our hospitality role here in downtown Santa Fe - clean, affordable, Rt 66 motel - helpful folks, and leaving plenty of money to enjoy all the great experiences of our world here.

Yes, indeed, a developer was talking to us about doing just that - tear down and build yet another luxury hotel. Luxury we are not, affordable and downtown, yes.

Many thanks,
Phil, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2013

I agree with other reviewers that the motel is badly in need of renovating. Our room looked old and shabby, especially the carpet and the bathroom.
And when you talk with the staff about problems with your room, such as the heat not working well or having to slam your door several times to get it to lock, they just make excuses about that being normal for a motel of it's age.
Well next time, we'll stay somewhere that maintains there property better for sure. Even if the location isn't as good.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Tex s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Garrett's Desert Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2014

Thank you for your comments. we appreciate them.

As the motel's new managers, we too are discovering the items that need attention.

We have been working on the heating and have started to detail the rooms.

Many thanks,
Phil, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2013

Well, this was strange. It started with a heating system that was not responsive -- somewhat like the front-desk which seems to be institutionally unresponsive. The heating really wasn't working (we froze) in my room, and after calling the front desk, it was pretty clear that they had other priorities: "wouldn't, couldn't, shouldn't". Upon checking out, I suggested that the heating in my room didn't really work, and the very pleasant desk clerk cheerfully explained that they've been "having some problems". No apology, no effort to "make it right". OK, the price is pretty good for Santa Fe, the bed was comfortable, and premises were really clean. Other than a heating system and front desk that "don't work" and paper-thin walls -- it's a decent value. I love the their new restaurant, but I wouldn't stay there again just to get close to it. The location is great--really, really great; but location isn't everything, and in this case it's not worth the hassle, guys. It's too bad when when they seem to have so much working for them, but apparently customer satisfaction doesn't matter much as long as you have a good debit card. If you like the Route 66 linkage , try some place like the El Rey Inn out on Cerrillos Blvd. No, the location isn't nearly so good, but they have a class act going and they "like" their customers.

Room Tip: The walls are thin and the floors resonate like a drummer on steroids: try the second floor, as far...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank CJThomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Garrett's Desert Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2013

Thank you for your comments. I appreciate them.

We have just taken over the management of the hotel and we too are discovering the items that need rapid improvement.

We will do a heating check this week in all the rooms and we aslo start Front Desk training this week. Your review will be part of that training, I assure you.

If you care to stay with us again, please give us a call and ask for Phil or Eric (Yes there are two of us working on the issues), and we will be happy to offer you a complimentary night. Please just stay that you were the guest in room ? on the date that you stayed.

Thank you for your comments as we re-build this Rt 66 motel.

Yours, Phil and Eric - Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2013 via mobile

We had the Sunday Brunch Menu with wine, the chili cheese burger with homemade chips and a to-die-for wedge salad! It was beyond good!
The service was impeccable, prompt and friendly.
The atmosphere is modern and oh so cool with happy people all around in a hip section of Santa Fe.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Ppoupore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Garrett's Desert Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2013

Thank you for your kind comments about the Santa Fe Bite restaurant - quite a fine addition to our Santa Fe Rt 66 motel - and fitting the Rt 66 tradition of burgers and malts,

The restaurant is a re-named and enlarged (from 15 seats) famous "Bobcat Bite" that was out of town on the way to Pecos.

Thanks again,
Phil and Eric - rebuilding a Santa Fe Rt 66 motel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2013

Great location close to old town, but if you like a bed that is not soft and lumpy or wifi that works, I suggest you look elsewhere. Some rooms have fridge others don't. The staff is friendly and helpful, but can't do anything about the condition of the place. Everything about this place needs updating. Parking is $8 per day.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank gjp1555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Garrett's Desert Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2013

Thank you for your comments.

We have just taken over management of this Santa Fe hotel - motor court with a Rt 66 heritage.

Yes, we concur and will be working to bring new life to the hotel over the coming year.

Thank you and a thank you for choosing to stay at this affordable downtown Santa Fe motel ,
Phil and Eric - rebuilding a Rt 66 classic motel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
Downtown
Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe
Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe
#24 of 60 in Santa Fe
897 reviews
Downtown
Hotel St. Francis
Hotel St. Francis
#28 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,097 reviews
Santa Fe Sage Inn
#29 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Santa Fe Inn
#8 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,612 reviews
The Lodge at Santa Fe
#34 of 60 in Santa Fe
923 reviews
Downtown
Hilton Santa Fe Historic Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garrett's Desert Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garrett's Desert Inn

Address: 311 Old Santa Fe Trl, Santa Fe, NM 87501-2707
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Price Range: $87 - $149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Garrett's Desert Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Garrett's Desert Inn - a Santa Fe motel in the heart of town. ~ A Route 66 Santa Fe Motel right in heart of Santa Fe, sitting three blocks from the end of the Santa Fe Trail. Now under new management since Oct 2013. Serious downtown value. ~ a classic Route 66 "motor-court" motel with front of the room parking, has been the go-to bargain accommodations for downtown Santa Fe. ~ with the famous "Bite" all-day restaurant featuring its renowned "Best of Santa Fe" burgers and malts. ~ one of the most affordable pet friendly Santa Fe hotels, ~ heated swimming pool and plenty of sun open late May to late September. ~ three blocks or less to 1. The Plaza 2. Palace of the Governors 3. Cathedral and its chiming bells 4. Loretto Chapel 5. The three downtown museums 6. Canyon Road and its 80 plus galleries - a visual feast of a walk 7. Oldest house in Santa Fe 8. Forty - yes 40- restaurants. ~ Right by the end of the Santa Fe trail. ~ Imagine what has passed us by. We're not fancy - we're "right there - in the heart of it" Locally owned since 1957. Giving Back with Every Stay It is our mission to support non-profits by hosting community environmental and political groups, book readings, lectures, meetings, yoga, and meditation - - the essence of living here in Santa Fe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Garrett's Desert Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garrett`s Desert Hotel Santa Fe
Garretts Desert Hotel
Garretts Desert Santa Fe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing