We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, good price--- terrible mattresses”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Garrett's Desert Inn
Ranked #44 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great location, good price--- terrible mattresses”
Reviewed November 8, 2013

Garrett's Desert Inn is perfectly situated a short two blocks from Santa Fe's historic and main shopping district. You can walk to the Georgia O'Keefe museum, buy a pair of $4,000 cowboy boots at Lucchese and then walk to the Luminaria restaurant (as long as you finish before 9pm..this town closes up early!!) to have a great meal. Garrett's prices are great and they matched a lower price that I found online. Their rooms were large and clean, however, the mattresses in my room were lumpy, soft and horridly uncomfortable. I couldn't imagine sleeping on them for more than two nights.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank OshunLibra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Garrett's Desert Inn, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Thanks for your comments.

We have just taken over management of the motel and would appreciate knowing what room you stayed in. If you could share your name with us, we can also look it up.

We know that we need new mattresses and would like to deal with YOURS immediately. Please connect - my cell is 303 877 9659.

We do indeed offer the best location at the best rate of any downtown Santa Fe hotel and now we need to make it yet a better experience.

Thank you,
Phil and Eric - rebuilding a Rt 66 classic motel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    136
    113
    55
    39
See reviews for
80
132
37
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salida, Colorado
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2013

While this is an older motel style property it remains my favorite in Santa Fe. It is only two blocks from the square, making it a lot quieter than most. The beds could be softer but they are as good as any major hotel chain. The front desk personnel are always outstanding and responsive. The rates are better than anything in the downtown area, including the daily rates for parking my car. The u-shape of the property with one entrance in front of the lobby makes it the most secure place in town for me to park my car and I never have to worry about it the whole time I'm there. I can walk to everything I want to do in Santa Fe. Housekeeping does a great job, I've never had a problem and I have been staying here since 1977. It will always be my place to stay in Santa Fe.

Room Tip: Every room in this hotel is great. It is a 2 story motel style, so there might be a walk from your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Butch R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
126 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2013

a longtime Santa Fe resident recommended this motel. I agree I highly recommend this. I stayed three nights for a weekend vacation. Just so convenient to many of Santa Fe attractions. next to Old Pecos Trail, it is very convenient for driving, too. Room was clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank terry h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2013

We are very traveling to Santa Fe for weekend, taking a weekend break from working on the road. Read reviews and decided on Garrett's Desert Inn. An excellent choice. Booked directly with the hotel and got a great rate. Room was clean and comfortable. It is an older Inn but it has a style of its own. Location is excellent. Customer Service is excellent. The best deal in Santa Fe.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Stayed on the night of September 21st 2013.
The location is superb, less than 300 metres to central plaza in Santa Fe with the market, shops and several good bars / eating places close by.
We felt the motel itself was clean, comfortable with friendly and helpful staff. The swimming pool was also a great plus and a nice place to relax in the sun after the sightseeing in the town.
Very good value for money, recommended.

Room Tip: If you can, opt for a room in the left hand block (as you enter the Motel driveway). These rooms are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2013

We chose Garrett's Inn because it was so close to the centre of Santa Fe, which was a few minutes walk away.

We had been a bit apprehensive about our stay after reading poor reviews but we found our room very comfortable, the staff very helpful and the pool was sheer bliss after an afternoon of shopping.

Wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel, it offers everything you need. The décor may be a little old fashioned but who cares, it is clean and comfortable and were visiting to explore Santa Fe and not look at the wall coverings.

Hotel offers parking for 5$, which is a real bargain in a town centre.

Also has bar/ restaurant, gym and laundrette on site.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wallibobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013

We selected Garrett's Desert inn for it's location - just several blocks from downtown. The room was dated but was quiet and came with a very comfortable king bed as well as a small table and 2 chairs by the window. TV and internet access were good. It did have a small bathroom but that was offset by a large vanity just outside the bathroom door.
Our room had a problem with a tub insert that had come loose on the side and allowed water to collect under the surface. It was like taking a shower on a waterbed; except that water spilled over and pooled onto the floor. Maintenance quickly fixed the problem the next morning but the tub still flexed when stood on.
We would certainly come back to Garrett's because it is priced very well for its close proximity to downtown. It does not have free breakfast but there are many choices nearby including Jalapeno's just up the street.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Murph0508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
Santa Fe Sage Inn
#29 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,288 reviews
Downtown
Hotel St. Francis
Hotel St. Francis
#26 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,053 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe
Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe
#24 of 60 in Santa Fe
884 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hilton Santa Fe Historic Plaza
Downtown
Drury Plaza Hotel in Santa Fe
Downtown
Inn of the Governors
Inn of the Governors
#12 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garrett's Desert Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garrett's Desert Inn

Property: Garrett's Desert Inn
Address: 311 Old Santa Fe Trl, Santa Fe, NM 87501-2707
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Garrett's Desert Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Garrett's Desert Inn - a Santa Fe motel in the heart of town. ~ A Route 66 Santa Fe Motel right in heart of Santa Fe, sitting three blocks from the end of the Santa Fe Trail. Now under new management since Oct 2013. Serious downtown value. ~ a classic Route 66 "motor-court" motel with front of the room parking, has been the go-to bargain accommodations for downtown Santa Fe. ~ with the famous "Bite" all-day restaurant featuring its renowned "Best of Santa Fe" burgers and malts. ~ one of the most affordable pet friendly Santa Fe hotels, ~ heated swimming pool and plenty of sun open late May to late September. ~ three blocks or less to 1. The Plaza 2. Palace of the Governors 3. Cathedral and its chiming bells 4. Loretto Chapel 5. The three downtown museums 6. Canyon Road and its 80 plus galleries - a visual feast of a walk 7. Oldest house in Santa Fe 8. Forty - yes 40- restaurants. ~ Right by the end of the Santa Fe trail. ~ Imagine what has passed us by. We're not fancy - we're "right there - in the heart of it" Locally owned since 1957. Giving Back with Every Stay It is our mission to support non-profits by hosting community environmental and political groups, book readings, lectures, meetings, yoga, and meditation - - the essence of living here in Santa Fe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Garrett's Desert Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garrett`s Desert Hotel Santa Fe
Garretts Desert Hotel
Garretts Desert Santa Fe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing