We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful location and dog friendly. Just a short walk to the Plaza”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Garrett's Desert Inn
Ranked #44 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Wonderful location and dog friendly. Just a short walk to the Plaza”
Reviewed April 10, 2013

This is an older motel (1950s) and is located just down the street from the Loretto Church and the Plaza. You will not find any other motel in downtown Santa Fe for this value. The large hotel across the street will cost you four times as much. The rooms are basic, clean, a bit tattered here and there, and NOT soundproof. However, the room I had was spacious enough not to feel cramped. The bathroom had older- shall we call them vintage- fixtures but was very clean. The bed was large and comfortable but the pillow shams were torn. The people in the office were very nice, cheerful, and helpful. I think some better artwork (my room had a really bad, blah watercolor of a pueblo) and spiffing the rooms up would be in a good suggestion for the owners. There is easy parking in the center of the large L-shaped building for only $8. a night- a bargain in Santa Fe. There is a coffee pot and coffee packs in the room and always coffee available in the lobby. Not a fancy place to pamper yourself but with so many (!) tempting things for sale in Santa Fe it is a good place to save money in lodging.
Small fee for dogs. Definitely worth staying in this motel if you are not looking for luxury.

Room Tip: Main level rooms good for those with dogs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shirley R, Director of Sales at Garrett's Desert Inn, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

I really appreciate your kind comments concerning what a great value we are in comparison to other hotels within walking distance of the plaza. Not everyone can afford or wishes to spend a large portion of the travel budget on a hotel room, as you say, when there are so many wonderful stores and galleries on which to splurge.

I also very much appreciate your acknowledgement of our terrific staff. We do pride ourselves on being very customer service driven and do our best to ensure that every guest is treated with sincere hospitality. The crew loves hearing positive comments and I will be sure to share your kind remarks with them.

Yes, it is true we are all dog lovers here at the hotel. We make it easy for guests traveling with beloved family pets to have a good place to stay for the pooches too!

We are starting a hotel renovation soon and the areas that were not perfect that you described will certainly be taken care of.

Please come back to see us and bring your pet and we will delight in showing you our wonderful new changes.

We very much appreciate your comments and thank you for your valuable input!

Sincerely,
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    136
    113
    55
    39
See reviews for
80
132
37
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Although the motel is really mediocre, everything you need but old,it is a quick three block walk to the plaza. The price is right, but there is a charge of $8 to park your car each night. No breakfast offered, but plenty offered at restuarants in area.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A Eu B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shirley R, Director of Sales at Garrett's Desert Inn, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Dear A Eu B,

Thank you so much for your comments concerning your recent stay. I am glad that you found our hotel affordable, a good value and also enjoyed our proximity to the plaza.

Our hotel will undergo a renovation soon and we are very excited about that. We will still maintain an excellent value in comparison with other downtown properties, but we will have a fresh and modern new look. It is exciting!

We are also working on opening our restaurant and providing meal service for our guests. Parking is at a premium in Santa Fe so the parking fee will remain, however, I should note that our parking fees are about $20 less than other hotels in our area.

Please come back and see us once our renovation is complete and enjoy new rooms, great service and still at an affordable price for downtown Santa Fe.

We value your comments and feedback!

Sincerely,
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Cruces, New Mexico, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 2, 2013

If you are taking a pleasure trip to Santa Fe, NM and would rather spend your money on the great food and shopping Garrett's is for you. The rooms are a 1950's leftover with the same bathroom tile my whole family had BUT they are clean and comfy AND a 4 minute walk to the Plaza.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carneyq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shirley R, Director of Sales at Garrett's Desert Inn, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear Carneyq of Las Cruces,

I thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I was delighted to hear that you had an enjoyable stay and found our guest rooms clean and comfy. That's music to my ears!

I am also delighted to hear that you felt Garret's Desert Inn was a great value and that you were able to save some money by staying with us and enjoy the many great restaurants and shopping that Santa Fe has to offer.

We really do have an amazing location, just 4 minutes to the Plaza from or front door-just steps away from all of the wonderful sights, sounds and tastes of our wonderful city.

We will begin a hotel renovation within the next few months. So, while modernizing and upgrading our guest rooms, we will still maintain a bit of the Route 66 charm that we have and sets us apart.

We are excited about our soon to be "new look" and we would love to invite you back to the hotel and enjoy our new and improved guest rooms, while still offering our guests a great downtown value.

I very much appreciate your review and thank you for all of your valuable commentary!

See you soon!

Best Regards,
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2013

The room was large, with microwave for early breakfasts and a fridge. Bathroom was fine... all amenities we needed. Beds were queen sized and comfortable with plenty of pillows. Room was cleaned well each day of our 10 night stay.
Front desk staff, particularly Brian, Holden and Leslie were very helpful in arranging taxis, shuttles and providing information about various activities around Santa Fe.
Location was excellent- close to the free shuttle to Canyon Rd, and to the Plaza, and shops. We walked everywhere easily from the hotel.
For the price ($108 for 2) it was excellent value.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a fridge and microwave
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barb L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
92 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2013

Location is the main selling feature. Staff very friendly on check-in as well as offered a decent rate for the time of year I visited. Room was outdated but clean with all the amenities! Minimal sound transference which means a lot to me!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TORN1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
110 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

Some of the reviews I read tried to brush off the shortcomings. Please. It's a dive, the staff know it, and could care less. All it has is its location. The sheets didn't even fit the bed. Dirty moldy shower and sink. Stained matted carpets, dingy...dark. Pass.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
26 Thank Brett N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Santa Fe hotels

El Paso, Texas
1 review
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Though a motel type facility, the staff and rooms were great for our needs. One block from Loretto Chapel and two blocks from St. Francis Church. Walking distance to everything. Could do with just a little updating but the beds and linens were very comfortable. Meant to ask what kind of pillows are used because I was ready to take them home. Filming going on while we were there but the staff did everything possible to make sure we were not disturbed. I'm bad with names so can't remember name of female manager that helped us but she was awesome. Overall, excellent location, excellent price, excellent staff.

Room Tip: Stay on top floor so you don't hear people walking around.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gmbdarts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
Santa Fe Sage Inn
#29 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,287 reviews
Downtown
Hotel St. Francis
Hotel St. Francis
#26 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,052 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe
Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe
#24 of 60 in Santa Fe
884 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hilton Santa Fe Historic Plaza
Downtown
Drury Plaza Hotel in Santa Fe
Downtown
Inn of the Governors
Inn of the Governors
#12 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garrett's Desert Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garrett's Desert Inn

Property: Garrett's Desert Inn
Address: 311 Old Santa Fe Trl, Santa Fe, NM 87501-2707
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Garrett's Desert Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Garrett's Desert Inn - a Santa Fe motel in the heart of town. ~ A Route 66 Santa Fe Motel right in heart of Santa Fe, sitting three blocks from the end of the Santa Fe Trail. Now under new management since Oct 2013. Serious downtown value. ~ a classic Route 66 "motor-court" motel with front of the room parking, has been the go-to bargain accommodations for downtown Santa Fe. ~ with the famous "Bite" all-day restaurant featuring its renowned "Best of Santa Fe" burgers and malts. ~ one of the most affordable pet friendly Santa Fe hotels, ~ heated swimming pool and plenty of sun open late May to late September. ~ three blocks or less to 1. The Plaza 2. Palace of the Governors 3. Cathedral and its chiming bells 4. Loretto Chapel 5. The three downtown museums 6. Canyon Road and its 80 plus galleries - a visual feast of a walk 7. Oldest house in Santa Fe 8. Forty - yes 40- restaurants. ~ Right by the end of the Santa Fe trail. ~ Imagine what has passed us by. We're not fancy - we're "right there - in the heart of it" Locally owned since 1957. Giving Back with Every Stay It is our mission to support non-profits by hosting community environmental and political groups, book readings, lectures, meetings, yoga, and meditation - - the essence of living here in Santa Fe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Garrett's Desert Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garrett`s Desert Hotel Santa Fe
Garretts Desert Hotel
Garretts Desert Santa Fe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing