We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent location, parking extra”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Garrett's Desert Inn
Ranked #45 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Excellent location, parking extra”
Reviewed January 25, 2013

It is right beside the main tourist area, so you know it's going to be more expensive. I stayed on a Saturday night, making the price higher. I didn't see any tour buses, so I assume everyone there drove, so I don't understand why I would have to pay extra for parking in their lot. I was getting tired so instead of driving to a different place I checked in.
It's a bit older, everything was in good shape. Bed was comfortable. I asked for an upper level room for a bit more quiet. Has an attached restaurant (although you are surrounded by restaurants in that area). I also think I saw an exercise room and pool.
The second night I drove out to the suburbs to get a cheaper place. (Santa Fe is not that big, so it didn't take long).

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cdnmint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian M, General Manager at Garrett's Desert Inn, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
All Hotels in DownTown Santa Fe charge for parking since it is very limited and at a premium. We have one of the lowest parking rates which range from $8/day (our rate) to $32/day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

385 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    134
    112
    55
    38
See reviews for
79
129
37
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phuket Town, Thailand
Level Contributor
73 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We enjoyed our stay here. The rooms are comfortable and not your carbon-copy plan hotel rooms found worldwide, which is nice. The location is great, right near the plaza. The only thing I didn't appreciate was that parking is not included in the room price. Who am I, some millionaire who flies in and gets a limo from the airport? Everyone has cars... Other than that, great!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paulieweb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
purrfctprncss
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2012

For the price, the location of this hotel is good. That's about all it has going for it. The room is dated, and our bathroom had all types of hair all over the place--none from us. We had reservations for 2 nights. Went to breakfast after the first night and returned to the room. They did not make our beds or do anything to the room besides laying new towels on a dingy chair near the bathroom. We immediately checked out--not worth paying $$ for only location. They need to renovate, and if they insist on charging parking fees for guests, I would suggest including it in the price of the room instead of an add-on. This place definitely has potential, but obviously doesn't have the management to get it where it should be. I gave it 2 stars solely based on location.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
18 Thank purrfctprncss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian M, Manager at Garrett's Desert Inn, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Thank you for your recent review. We do take these seriously. I will first apologize for the lack of service your room received. Often times, we receive requests from our guests stating they only need fresh towels and the room doesn't need servicing. A room number may have been mis-communicated to our housekeeping department and thus your room was not serviced in error. On a good note, we are renovating this hotel which should be completed by June 2013. Regarding our parking fee, at least 95% of all downtown Santa Fe hotels charge for parking since it is at a premium in this area. Parking fees range from $8.00 per night (which is the amount we charge) to $16, $24 and even $32 per night. Properties that do not charge for parking have room rates over $299 per night and up. If we were to add this fee into our room rates, it would be taxed at a higher percentage due to the lodger's tax on hotel rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Santa Fe hotels

Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
105 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2012

We've stayed at many of the Santa Fe hotels and resorts and decided to try Garrett's for a recent one-night stay. The location can't be beat - easy walk to the plaza, shops and restaurants. The staff is very friendly, the room was clean and everything worked just fine. I agree with other reviewers that if they did a small amount of updating, it would make a huge difference. Especially the linens (including blankets that seem like they are about 40 years old) and pillows. I just had a feeling similar to when you stay on someone's fold-out couch or barely-used spare room with the old, hand-me-down linens that they just never bothered to replace. Even with the parking charge, it was significantly less expensive than a local coupon deal we had for one of the other hotels.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ZenDogAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Yes it's dated but man what a location! Walking distance to the Plaza and everything Santa Fe. We actually enjoyed the restaurant and the very accomodationg staff, great breakfast and coffee every morning while we were there. My wife and I have been coming to the Garrett's since 1991 and consider it the only place to stay when in Santa Fe...

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dean B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, IL
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stayed here around Labor Day. It is very convenient to the downtown area-just a short walk. The rooms as others have mentioned are dated but clean. I very much agree about the friendliness of the staff. The pool looked very nice but I spent too much time in the Plaza to have a chance to enjoy it. I was really disappointed that there was a fee for parking. It should have been included in the cost of the room.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 1KathrynK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
46 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2012

Ok hotel. Could use some updating. Very convenient to downtown. Overall excellent value for what you pay. Some condition issues. Skip the restaurant on the premises. Short walk to plaza and square. Short walk to outstanding restaurants.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank llmesq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
Santa Fe Sage Inn
#29 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,276 reviews
Downtown
Hotel St. Francis
Hotel St. Francis
#26 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,046 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe
Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe
#24 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 879 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Santa Fe Inn
#6 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,537 reviews
Downtown
Drury Plaza Hotel in Santa Fe
Downtown
Inn of the Governors
Inn of the Governors
#11 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garrett's Desert Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garrett's Desert Inn

Property: Garrett's Desert Inn
Address: 311 Old Santa Fe Trl, Santa Fe, NM 87501-2707
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Garrett's Desert Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Garrett's Desert Inn - a Santa Fe motel in the heart of town. ~ A Route 66 Santa Fe Motel right in heart of Santa Fe, sitting three blocks from the end of the Santa Fe Trail. Now under new management since Oct 2013. Serious downtown value. ~ a classic Route 66 "motor-court" motel with front of the room parking, has been the go-to bargain accommodations for downtown Santa Fe. ~ with the famous "Bite" all-day restaurant featuring its renowned "Best of Santa Fe" burgers and malts. ~ one of the most affordable pet friendly Santa Fe hotels, ~ heated swimming pool and plenty of sun open late May to late September. ~ three blocks or less to 1. The Plaza 2. Palace of the Governors 3. Cathedral and its chiming bells 4. Loretto Chapel 5. The three downtown museums 6. Canyon Road and its 80 plus galleries - a visual feast of a walk 7. Oldest house in Santa Fe 8. Forty - yes 40- restaurants. ~ Right by the end of the Santa Fe trail. ~ Imagine what has passed us by. We're not fancy - we're "right there - in the heart of it" Locally owned since 1957. Giving Back with Every Stay It is our mission to support non-profits by hosting community environmental and political groups, book readings, lectures, meetings, yoga, and meditation - - the essence of living here in Santa Fe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Garrett's Desert Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garrett`s Desert Hotel Santa Fe
Garretts Desert Hotel
Garretts Desert Santa Fe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing