We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Value in the Heart of Santa Fe”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Garrett's Desert Inn
Ranked #45 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Santa Fe, NM
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Best Value in the Heart of Santa Fe”
Reviewed October 30, 2011

Garrett's is ideally located near the plaza in the historic heart of Santa Fe. While not fancy, rooms have everything you need.

There is plenty of free parking and a comfortable pool area. Staff is very friendly and helpful, too.

Onsite restaurant is pretty good, and you are within walking distance to all the downtown attractions, museums, restaurants and galleries.

There is so much to see and do in Santa Fe, you won't spend much time in your room, anyway, so saving money on lodging makes great sense.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank honeytravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

385 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    134
    112
    55
    38
See reviews for
79
129
37
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Missoula, Montana
Level Contributor
56 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2011

Very close to the plaza. Rooms were clean and fairly large. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hannmen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
174 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2011

Very convenient location for the town centre, just a couple of minutes walk away. But unfortunately the room rate is not exactly the most competitive in town, and if you are staying at the hotel they charge extra for parking. Parking is free for people using the restaurant, but not for the hotel! Breakfast is a significant extra charge, too.

Add to that that the rooms have thin walls, we could clearly hear the conversations from the rooms either side of ours (Room 103), we would say that this should not be your first choice in Santa Fe.

The room was clean and tidy, but the noise was too much, so we stayed just the one night.

Room Tip: Noise problems from thin walls in our room, 103. Watch out for rooms with adjoining doors to the roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Avery-Little
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bozeman, Montana
Level Contributor
114 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2011

You can't beat Garrett's Desert Inn for value for a motel near the plaza. Santa Fe is terribly expensive near the center and Garrett's offers a good balance of price - location - value. Rooms are simple but clean and you can walk everywhere in the historic district.

Room Tip: rooms toward the back, away from the street will be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kjkupiec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level Contributor
44 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2011

first impessions not as good as the reality. very dated decor. average bathroom. no bar fridge. ice machine a 14-mile hike.

check-in staff very friendly.

great location walk to everwhere. wonderful restaurant right next door.

would stay again, altho' if possible would pay more for somewhere a little better.

Room Tip: all the rooms seemed about the same. we would have preffered a King-bed room, but not available on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cubacubaSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Virginia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 12, 2011

My folks recommended this hotel. Maybe Mom dies know best! Great location which really is the reason we states there. Friendly staff.

This location is two floors. I don't do stairs and the staff was great in ensuring a first floor room.

Our room was basic but clean! Again you stay here due to the location which is fabulous!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank inf0hunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2011

Perhaps it was the high volume traffic of Indian Market weekend, but we were unhappy with the cleanliness and upkeep of our room. Although the hotel is attractive outside and the room is pleasant enough in appearance, there were several clumps of black hair on the carpet outside the bathroom, showing that the vacuuming didn't make it that far; a bulb was burned out in the bathroom light; and the entire peephole fixture was missing, leaving a 3/4-inch hole in the door you could look through into the room from outside. Although hotel staff were pleasant and efficient on both check-in and check-out, nobody asked if we enjoyed our stay, a great way to get feedback from folks that could improve service, and the response when I explained the problems was a simple "I'm sorry" rather than any indication they would fix the problems for the next guest. The hotel is well-located, but we won't be back.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
16 Thank lwiltse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Santa Fe hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
Santa Fe Sage Inn
#29 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,277 reviews
Downtown
Hotel St. Francis
Hotel St. Francis
#26 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,046 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe
Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe
#24 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Santa Fe Inn
#6 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,537 reviews
Downtown
Drury Plaza Hotel in Santa Fe
Downtown
Inn of the Governors
Inn of the Governors
#11 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garrett's Desert Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garrett's Desert Inn

Property: Garrett's Desert Inn
Address: 311 Old Santa Fe Trl, Santa Fe, NM 87501-2707
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Garrett's Desert Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Garrett's Desert Inn - a Santa Fe motel in the heart of town. ~ A Route 66 Santa Fe Motel right in heart of Santa Fe, sitting three blocks from the end of the Santa Fe Trail. Now under new management since Oct 2013. Serious downtown value. ~ a classic Route 66 "motor-court" motel with front of the room parking, has been the go-to bargain accommodations for downtown Santa Fe. ~ with the famous "Bite" all-day restaurant featuring its renowned "Best of Santa Fe" burgers and malts. ~ one of the most affordable pet friendly Santa Fe hotels, ~ heated swimming pool and plenty of sun open late May to late September. ~ three blocks or less to 1. The Plaza 2. Palace of the Governors 3. Cathedral and its chiming bells 4. Loretto Chapel 5. The three downtown museums 6. Canyon Road and its 80 plus galleries - a visual feast of a walk 7. Oldest house in Santa Fe 8. Forty - yes 40- restaurants. ~ Right by the end of the Santa Fe trail. ~ Imagine what has passed us by. We're not fancy - we're "right there - in the heart of it" Locally owned since 1957. Giving Back with Every Stay It is our mission to support non-profits by hosting community environmental and political groups, book readings, lectures, meetings, yoga, and meditation - - the essence of living here in Santa Fe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Garrett's Desert Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garrett`s Desert Hotel Santa Fe
Garretts Desert Hotel
Garretts Desert Santa Fe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing