We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Great location, tired hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Garrett's Desert Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Garrett's Desert Inn to your Saves list
Garrett's Desert Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   311 Old Santa Fe Trail, Santa Fe, NM 87501 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #46 of 61 Hotels in Santa Fe
Parker
Level Contributor
217 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Great location, tired hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2011

If you're looking for a cheap place to stay in downtown Santa Fe, NM then Garrett's Desert Inn is the place. Yes, you still have to pay for parking but you're within 2 blocks of the Plaza. The rooms are in need of a facelift and new mattresses. Water pressure was great in the shower, a definite plus. They have a restaurant attached to the Inn that is a must. Dinner was a pleasant surprise and VERY affordable.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Carol L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    123
    107
    51
    36
See reviews for
73
117
35
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southwest
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2011

I like the idea of this place. The location is great and the staff were excellent, very friendly and helpful. Where it starts to go downhill is withe beds. They were soooo uncomfortable, like sleeping in a canoe. The second thing was charging 8 dollars for parking when the parking lot was empty. I got a 'deal' on this place at 90 dollars including parking for one night, but I think I would've had a better night's sleep somewhere else.

Maybe it's cheap for Santa Fe, I am not sure. Maybe they can get away with the prices because of the location, I am not sure. What I am sure of is if they updated the beds and made parking a bit more reasonable (it's free if you eat at their restaurant, but not if you stay at their hotel) then it would be a good place.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank snorkel_god
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clovis, NM
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2011

Our room was spacious (considering the price and the proximity to the Plaza), but the real treasure was the friendliness of the hotel's employees. One in particular, Sam, made our stay a more memorable experience and proved that this is an inn that values it's guests, not it's dollars.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Momma_cupKate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2011

Very friendly and helpful staff. Horrible rooms. Dingy. Run down. Creepy. No fridge. No microwave. Your looking at a television and a bed and paying out the rear for it. No thanks. Location is the only thing this place has going for it. It's worse than rough camping.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
16 Thank IntrinsicB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Santa Fe hotels

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2010

On line, the photos of the garrett in belie what you will encounter! i had stayed at this same hotel in abouat 1974, and it had the same carapet and furiture as then, only it had not been cleaned or updated. disgusting. the wallpaper was hanging, the ceiling had been terribly patched due to water leaks, you didn't want to touchor sit on the furnitture, the carpet was something youdid not walk on barefooted, there was no internet service except for pay, the in-room coffee was undrinkaboe,and insult to injury, you had to pay for parking! and the television , well, you could see it from acroos the room - if you had brought your binoculars. It was serviced by a wire coming down the wall! althought it was listed on the in-room tv guide. Not that I visit Santa fe to watch television, but this little set should be recycled - no need to bolt it down, as no one would steal it.

This hotel needs to be imploded and a real accommodation constructed in its stead. Give me a Motel 6, La Qunita, Hampton Inn or any other reputable chain hotel. And there isn't a rating lower than "terrible: that I could mark. The proximity of the hotel to downtown isn't worth the risk of staying here. Drive anywhere wiithin two minutes of this hotel and you can find acceptable accommodations, and you won't feel that you have contributed to a flop house hotel.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
16 Thank ReasonableDenverCo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2010

My husband and I booked for three nights here in a last minute effort for a wedding we were attending that weekend. Even after we reviewed the comments made here we still booked the hotel because it was a great price and the only hotel available so close to the Center. The Garrett Desert Inn is not like La Fonda or Hotel St. Francis but it was a great deal. The rooms have clearly been updated. We were able to get a Queen size suite for $119/night (aka the manager's special). The living area was a nice size, complete with microwave and fridge. The concierge was knowledgeable and pleasant. The Ze French restaurant located downstairs is OUTSTANDING! A must while you're in Santa Fe. All in all, my husband and I enjoyed our stay. No complaints here.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vanessakate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2010

We've stayed at this hotel many times in the past and appreciated its location and value. But when we returned after a 5 year absence, we were shocked to find that the property has deteriorated and there has been no attempt at maintenance.

I am including photos from our recent visit so that folks can draw their own conclusions. Our room was not particularly clean and definitely had not been vacuumed. The front desk had no computer service at check-out and promised to send an email of final charges. They didn't.

I like a bargain as well as the next person, but this unclean, poorly maintained property is no longer on my list for a repeat visit.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
18 Thank MissPicante
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
Santa Fe Sage Inn
#27 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.0 of 5 stars 1,126 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe
Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe
#24 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.0 of 5 stars 776 reviews
Old Santa Fe Inn
#4 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 stars 1,339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Eldorado Hotel & Spa
Eldorado Hotel & Spa
#17 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.0 of 5 stars 1,127 reviews
Downtown
Drury Plaza Hotel in Santa Fe
Downtown
Santa Fe Motel and Inn
Santa Fe Motel and Inn
#8 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 stars 609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garrett's Desert Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garrett's Desert Inn

Property: Garrett's Desert Inn
Address: 311 Old Santa Fe Trail, Santa Fe, NM 87501
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 61 Hotels in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Garrett's Desert Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Garrett's Desert Inn - a Santa Fe motel in the heart of town. ~ A Route 66 Santa Fe Motel right in heart of Santa Fe, sitting three blocks from the end of the Santa Fe Trail. Now under new management since Oct 2013. Serious downtown value. ~ a classic Route 66 "motor-court" motel with front of the room parking, has been the go-to bargain accommodations for downtown Santa Fe. ~ with the famous "Bite" all-day restaurant featuring its renowned "Best of Santa Fe" burgers and malts. ~ one of the most affordable pet friendly Santa Fe hotels, ~ heated swimming pool and plenty of sun open late May to late September. ~ three blocks or less to 1. The Plaza 2. Palace of the Governors 3. Cathedral and its chiming bells 4. Loretto Chapel 5. The three downtown museums 6. Canyon Road and its 80 plus galleries - a visual feast of a walk 7. Oldest house in Santa Fe 8. Forty - yes 40- restaurants. ~ Right by the end of the Santa Fe trail. ~ Imagine what has passed us by. We're not fancy - we're "right there - in the heart of it" Locally owned since 1957. Giving Back with Every Stay It is our mission to support non-profits by hosting community environmental and political groups, book readings, lectures, meetings, yoga, and meditation - - the essence of living here in Santa Fe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your Garrett's Desert Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garrett`s Desert Hotel Santa Fe
Garretts Desert Hotel
Garretts Desert Santa Fe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing