We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Hotel In Thr Heart of Old Santa Fe”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
El Dorado Hotel & Spa
Ranked #17 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
Roseland, New Jersey
Level Contributor
736 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 296 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel In Thr Heart of Old Santa Fe”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2014

Our third visit over a number of years for the same professional conference, which it works very well for. Short walk to Palace Square. Nice rooms. Nice price. Free Wifi. We asked for a room with a balcony and fireplace (most of those rooms are on the top level i.e. fifth floor. Some are also on fourth floor.). The SW style fireplaces are not stoked during summer months, but look nice anyway. Small bathroom with one sink, walk in shower. Large closet. Furniture a little worn. Comfy bed. No turndown service. Nice walled balcony with small table and two chairs-great for breakfast/coffee. Coffee setup in room with working refrigerator. So you can stock some water and drinks without the room-bar type charges. Valet parking underground in hotel. Agave Lounge is very nice bar with excellent margaritas and friendly staff. Hotel staff universally friendly and accomodating. Nice meeting areas. Small pool and hot tub on roof upstairs from fifth floor. So overall, a nice comfortable and accessible place to stay in Santa Fe.

Room Tip: Ask for room with a balcony and fireplace on the fourth or fifth floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Conseiller99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SFDap, Director of Operations at El Dorado Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Dear Conseiller99,
Thank you for being a numerous time repeat guest to the Eldorado Hotel and Spa. We do not stock the firewood during the summer months but always have wood on hand in case a fire is requested. We are glad that you found the hotel to meet your needs for your conference. With the plaza only 2 blocks away, everything is within walking distance to shops, food and entertainment. I look forward to welcoming you back next year for your conference meetings.
Sincerely,
Max
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,301 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    642
    375
    163
    65
    56
See reviews for
215
467
78
315
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (287)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2014 via mobile

Wow! We loved this hotel. Close to the shopping, nightlife, and restaurants...a real New Mexican experience. We got special pricing through Travelzoo so I don't think we could have afforded it otherwise, however, I would love to stay there again. Comfortable beds, beautiful architecture and friendly staff! A+!! Downside is the price.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Shari M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SFDap, Director of Operations at El Dorado Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Dear Shari M,
We are so happy to hear that you love the hotel and that you have found your hotel to stay at when you visit Santa Fe. We often offer promotions so please look at our packages and promotion when planning your next visit. I hope that we can welcome you back to the Eldorado Hotel and Spa in the not so distant future.
Sincerely,
Max
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bi-Coastal
Level Contributor
117 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2014

We stumbled onto this hotel by chance. We had booked another Santa Fe hotel and were disappointed with the area. We looked in our AAA travel guide for 4-diamond hotels and saw the Eldorado ~ what luck, we got the last room! A wonderful hotel, perfect location to the Plaza and Old Town. The staff is friendly and helpful. We will stay there again!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Live4Maine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SFDap, Director of Operations at El Dorado Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Dear Live4Maine,
I am glad that you stumbled onto the Eldorado Hotel. You have now found the place to stay on your next visit to Santa Fe and the City Different. I look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.
Sincerely,
Max
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iola, Kansas
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2014

Great place, great people that help and a location close to all of the old downtown area. From first arriving to leaving people where there that helped and where pleasant and helpful. The room was located with a great view. The lobby was large and even though there was a large convention there at the same time we never felt crowded or underserved.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SFDap, Director of Operations at El Dorado Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Dear Thomas W,
Thank you for your kind words. With the Eldorado Hotel only located 2 blocks from the plaza it is convenient for restaurants and shopping. I am also glad that even though the hotel was busy that you did not feel crowded. I hope that you will choose us again on your next visit to Santa Fe.

Sincerely,
Max
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, NM
Level Contributor
159 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2014

Stayed here recently as a convenient layover before heading the back way home to Albuquerque for some golf in the mountains. The hotel really is nice. The common areas, both at check-in and on each floor are expansive. You never feel cooped up. The front desk and door staff were very attentive. It appears that the rooms were remodeled sometime in the recent past (at least the fourth floor). The bedding was very comfortable. The room itself was not cramped at all and while not what I would consider spacious, it was a good size.

There were however, some stains in the carpet in the hallway that were long overdue for cleaning. Someone's room service tray that was outside their door at 9 PM was still sitting there at 10 AM, which is pretty bad.

The entire hotel is non-smoking, including the tiny rooftop pool area. And I mean tiny, 4 lounges, 2 chairs and one table. That's it. I am not sure where they get the 'spa' portion of the hotel name.

It is somewhat appalling that they charge $24/day for valet parking. Add a tip and you are easily over $30/day. I parked across the street in the municipal parking structure for $10.00 maximum charge. I believe that it is closed from 10PM to 6AM or something like that, but I wasn't going anywhere.

The hotel is right on the edge of downtown and is convenient to most things. As I live here in NM, I got a NM resident rate which kept the price reasonable, but certainly more than a Motel 6.

Room Tip: This is a rather large hotel, so be sure to ask for a room near the elevators if walking is a proble...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BLDTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SFDap, Director of Operations at El Dorado Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Dear BLDTraveler,
Thank you for taking the time to review us. I am happy that you found the hotel to be convenient and the common areas not crapped. We do have a full service spa on the lobby level of the hotel. We offer everything from full salon services to massage treatments and nail services. I am sorry that you found a room service tray left overnight. I have spoken to that department and I have been assured that this issue has been taken care of. I hope that you will choose us again for your next visit with us.
Sincerely,
Max
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2014

This was our first time to Santa Fe. Compared to other hotels I have stayed at it was average.
The room was nice but the TV was awful. Few channels and not HD. I know you don't go to Santa Fe to watch TV but during down time its nice. On the positive side its close to the square and best house margarita.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cathyb329
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SFDap, Director of Operations at El Dorado Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Dear cathyb329,
Thank you for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. I am sorry that the TV signal was not up to par. I would love to know which room you stayed in so that I can address the issue. I can be reached at (505) 995.4523. I am glad that you did enjoy the bar and the house margarita.
Sincerely,
Max
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2014

We've stayed here a few times, super convenient to the plaza and downtown area, all the staff were super nice especially during our most recent visit. Not the cheapest place in town, and you get what you pay for. The $24/day parking is steep but parking is tight everywhere downtown so could be worth it.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank funguyPhil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SFDap, Director of Operations at El Dorado Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Dear funguyPhil,
Thank you for staying with us again. I am glad that you have made the Eldorado Hotel your place to stay when you visit Santa Fe. I hope that you will return to visit us again soon.
Sincerely,
Max
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
La Fonda on the Plaza
#5 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,110 reviews
Downtown
Inn on the Alameda
Inn on the Alameda
#2 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,131 reviews
Downtown
Inn and Spa at Loretto
Inn and Spa at Loretto
#23 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Santa Fe
#12 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,600 reviews
Downtown
Rosewood Inn of the Anasazi
Inn of the Five Graces
#1 of 60 in Santa Fe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Dorado Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Dorado Hotel & Spa

Property: El Dorado Hotel & Spa
Address: 309 W San Francisco St, Santa Fe, NM 87501-2115
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Santa Fe
#7 Luxury Hotel in Santa Fe
#16 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
#26 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
#26 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — El Dorado Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 219
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come to the newly remodeled Eldorado Hotel and Spa, where award-winning service and unexpected delights set the stage for an enchanting visit. This acclaimed four-diamond hotel is located steps from the Santa Fe Plaza. Spacious rooms, many with views and some with wood burning fireplaces. Superb cuisine at the Old House Restaurant and AGAVE lounge. Experience the new CAVA bar featuring Spanish wines, food and live entertainment. Ultimate pampering at the full-service Nidah Spa. Underground, covered parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your El Dorado Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eldorado Hotel And Spa
Eldorado Hotel Santa Fe
Eldorado Santa Fe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing