We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very relaxing stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of El Dorado Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
El Dorado Hotel & Spa
Ranked #17 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
39 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Very relaxing stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013

This is a charming boutique hotel in downtown Santa Fe. It's a very relaxed environment. I visited the spa and thought it was amazing. You can also walk to the Georgia O'Keefe art gallery and to top rated restaurants nearby. The staff was really responsive and did their best to ensure that I was comfortable. For example, there weren't any towels in my room when I arrived by they brought some by right away when I called the front desk.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CAGirl411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason B, Front Office Manager at El Dorado Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Thank you for the kind words. We try our hardest to make sure all our guests are satisfied!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,293 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    637
    372
    163
    65
    56
See reviews for
214
462
76
315
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (285)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Summerfield, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
113 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

I was here last week for a business meeting and stayed at the Eldorado and found it to be a nice hotel. The room was spacious with a very comfortable bed and pillows.The staff was friendly. The lobby area was nice. I had meetings in some of the meeting rooms and they were very good as well. I am not sure if the room was a good value since I didn't pay for my stay, but I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a quality place to stay in Santa Fe.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason B, Front Office Manager at El Dorado Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
It is always a great day when we have someone speak so favorably about our hotel. We thank you for taking time out of your busy day to enlighten others about your stay and quality of our property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
31 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013 via mobile

Lovely hotel with spacious rooms close to the downtown. Quiet. The service was generally good and the staff super friendly, but the attention to detail and excellence just not there. My room service breakfast dishes sat outside my door for 36 hours (no exaggeration!!!) despite the housekeeper moving them AND me calling the front desk after 12 hours to say that it was rather unsightly! The bathroom floor under the sink had garbage and lots of hair and dust. Ugh! Thank goodness I found that the last morning. This place could be a total winner with more diligent management

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank BeulahBehemoth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason B, Front Office Manager at El Dorado Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Thank you for the detailed response. Be assured that is always our goal to provide the exceptional quality service you expect. I am sorry to hear of the troubles you experienced. Rest assured we will attend to these issues right away so your next stay is 100% perfect. We only get better with feedback to guide us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

Just a quick update since my last review. Returned to the Eldorado and was surprised by the gift of fresh fruit in my room. Nice touch and glad to have picked them again for my stay in Santa Fe. Since my last visit they have added a breakfast buffet - that is simply excellent. Luckily the hotel has a great gym so any extra pounds gain are quickly lost. Friendly efficient service has meant this is now my fourth stay there in 12 months ! Well done Eldorado team!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank COPTHALL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason B, Front Office Manager at El Dorado Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
I am happy to see we have made a great impression during your stay. It is always a pleasure to welcome back repeat guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

There are not supposed to be any "free lunches" but the Eldorado came close for us this past Friday. The ambiance in the dining room is exquisite- marvelous native american pottery, murals and collages- the hamburger "special " which included a delicious salad and sweet potato fries
was more than we could eat, Above all, our server " Hooper" was so refined yet friendly and engaged us in a conversation about the merits of living in Santa Fe. Hooper is a real credit to the Eldorado- we lingered , chatted and really did not want to leave. We shall return this oasis. Ooops and I almost forgot to mention the bill came to 10.00 for both of us- even if it is only on Friday it is close to a free lunch. Dr. Steve and Gloria Weisz, Atlanta, Georgia

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Steve w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason B, Front Office Manager at El Dorado Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
I am sure the Food and Beverage Team is proud to hear such a great response about your visit. Thank you sending us a response and thank you for visiting.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan Capistrano, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

We stay there every year for Christmas and the New Year. Rooms are terrific, Staff is incredible, Restaurants remarkable with superior service. They make traveling with teens fun and memorable. Returning for the 10th year!

Room Tip: Room with fireplace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trisha a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason B, Front Office Manager at El Dorado Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Great to have you back year after year. Thank you for making the Eldorado Hotel & Spa your home away from home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

We checked into our room which was beautiful but there was splintered glass on the carpet and I stepped onto one and cut my foot. We called the front desk to ask for a first-aid kit. We had to call them a second time to follow-up and then only did they move us to another room and offered to pay for our dinner which we had at the hotel earlier. But broken glass on the carpet of an upscale hotel is quite unacceptable. In retrospect, I should have been more assertive, but we were on a short visit and had a long itinerary. Anyways, I think the management should have followed up with this and offered me a complimentary spa treatment or at least come check on me to see if I was okay-- afterall I was on vacation, who would expect to cut one's foot on broken glass in a decent hotel??

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
15 Thank Gee I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason B, Front Office Manager at El Dorado Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the the time to review our hotel. It is unfortunate that you had such an experience. It is unacceptable to have something like this happen. I sincerely apologize and have contacted our Houskeeping Team in regards to this item. Your feedback is very important and will not go unnoticed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
La Fonda on the Plaza
#6 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,069 reviews
Downtown
Inn on the Alameda
Inn on the Alameda
#3 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,078 reviews
Downtown
Inn and Spa at Loretto
Inn and Spa at Loretto
#22 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Santa Fe
#12 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,586 reviews
Downtown
Rosewood Inn of the Anasazi
Inn of the Five Graces
#1 of 60 in Santa Fe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Dorado Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Dorado Hotel & Spa

Property: El Dorado Hotel & Spa
Address: 309 W San Francisco St, Santa Fe, NM 87501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Santa Fe
#7 Luxury Hotel in Santa Fe
#16 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
#26 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#26 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — El Dorado Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 219
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come to the newly remodeled Eldorado Hotel and Spa, where award-winning service and unexpected delights set the stage for an enchanting visit. This acclaimed four-diamond hotel is located steps from the Santa Fe Plaza. Spacious rooms, many with views and some with wood burning fireplaces. Superb cuisine at the Old House Restaurant and AGAVE lounge. Experience the new CAVA bar featuring Spanish wines, food and live entertainment. Ultimate pampering at the full-service Nidah Spa. Underground, covered parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Booking.com and Jetsetter so you can book your El Dorado Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eldorado Hotel And Spa
Eldorado Hotel Santa Fe
Eldorado Santa Fe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing