We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great location, mediocre service.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Eldorado Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Eldorado Hotel & Spa
Ranked #17 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great location, mediocre service.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

We chose this location based on Trip Advisor reviews. Let me begin with the good, its a fabulous location. You can walk almost everywhere you need to go. The valet service and parking are very expensive,$24.00 a day. The hotel is a lot larger than I pictured it, the rooms are cute and the hotel is very clean. The pool and hot tub on the roof are great and it was nice having a gym on site.
Okay, now for the bad, I found the service to be mediocre at best. When we pulled up the valet started to help us and midway through he left and said he had to help someone else because they were there "first." But they weren't , they pulled up after us and then when he returned he said "looks like you guys got your bags." I had actually wanted help. Then when we were checking in we asked the clerk "in training" if we could get a Balcony room and she said there were none available but didn't even look at computer. A similar experience happened with another valet on the way out. My friend joked that they will do anything not to help with bags. They were also out of hand towels and we had to track down housekeeping to get some, they said they were "all out" BUT did return with some later. Coffee in room is okay but there's a little espresso
Kiosk about half a block away "holy spirit" espresso which has very good coffee. Aside from service, I would recommend hotel but for the cost, service should be five star.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Wendy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian M, Manager at Eldorado Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
I am deeply sorry that you had an experience where our service was lacking. This is not the standard for our property and we pride ourselves on delivering 5 star service. I will make sure to speak with all the managers that deal with these areas, and we will make the appropriate adjustments. Thank you so much for taking the time to review our property, and I truly appreciate your valuable feedback.

~Ian Robert McClendon
Director of Rooms
imcclendon@eldoradohotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,266 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    625
    362
    159
    65
    55
See reviews for
208
458
72
305
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (279)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
College Station
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

We requested a quiet room when we made our reservations. A few hours after we checked in, we heard a constantly barking dog in the adjoining room. When we called to complain, Kayla not only moved usz to another room, but upgraded our room to a king suite which meant we had a fireplace, a balcony and 2 bathrooms! The concierge, Maggie, found out we were celebrating our wedding anniversary and much to our surprise, we had a complimentary bottle of champagne and chocolate covered strawberries sent to our room! Every employee we came into contact with from the bellman to the hostess in the restaurant were all very friendly! The service was excellent! We also enjoyed the rooftop pool and hot tub and many times had it all to ourselves! This will be the only hotel we will stay when we return to Santa Fe!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loudon, Tennessee
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

After a long day on the road including trains, planes, and automobiles we were glad to arrive at Eldorado. Even before our arrival we had experienced great customer service with Ben in reservations. Kayla front desk clerk was gracious,helpful and efficient at getting us into our upgraded room!!! We were weary travelers -two grandparents,daughter and 16 month old grandson. From the moment we arrived we were transformed into a wonderful relaxing retreat.
Allison at front desk was pleasant and provided water as we set out on a tour of town.
We would highly recommend this to hotel to travelers if you are any where near the area --worth the drive!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Phyllis F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

This was my second time in Santa Fe and the first time at the Eldorado. My travel experiences are often shaped by my accommodations. I'm very critical of hotels that purport to be 5 stars but aren't. This was a wonderful stay all around. From the first employes you meet that set the tone of the hotel: the valet, to the front desk and on it goes. The corner room was so spacious with a balcony, allowing us to view the spectacular sunset. It was a tad too warm to use the fireplace in the room, but it was stacked with kindling, ready to go should we want to take advantage of it.
The king bed was welcoming and plush. The shower only in the room was large. The only negative was the power of the spray, but since it's a very arid climate, I would say that is probably due to city water restrictions than the hotel's choice in fixtures.
Overall a perfect experience. I wouldn't hesitate to stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade at the front desk. It never hurts. They can only say, "no".
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mesmu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

We recently stayed at the Eldorado Hotel & Spa and had a wonderful visit. The room was clean and comfortable. Everyone from the front desk, housekeeping and valet parking staff were very friendly and helpful. They went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable. We had a delicious dinner at the Old House restaurant and the service was excellent there also. This hotel is very close to the plaza, shops, and other tourist sites. The water and fruit in the lobby is a nice touch. We can't wait to return and would recommend this great hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KEU7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

The service was excellent, the rooms very comfortable and clean, the beds were outstanding and the bathrooms were very clean.

The staff was very friendly and helpful. I am so glad we decided tostay here and will stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank casscrayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
berkshires in Mass.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

I was recently in Santa Fe for a cousins wedding with my husband. The Eldorado Hotel and Spa is a great place to stay and the location was excellent. So convenient to great restaurants, shopping and just walking around. I would recommend this hotel highly -
Pasquale's restaurant is excellent, small so make reservations, also Santa Cafe- superb service and wonderful food - would definitely go back to both places.
Took a day trip to Bandalier - very interesting and well worth the hour travel time to get there.
Many things to do and see and tons of shopping - just bring your credit card - pricey.

Room Tip: Ask for one with a porch - they are small but it's nice to sit outdoors for a cocktail while get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rfrb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
La Fonda on the Plaza
#7 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,017 reviews
Downtown
Inn and Spa at Loretto
Inn and Spa at Loretto
#22 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Inn on the Alameda
Inn on the Alameda
#2 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,013 reviews
Downtown
Rosewood Inn of the Anasazi
Inn of the Five Graces
#1 of 60 in Santa Fe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eldorado Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eldorado Hotel & Spa

Property: Eldorado Hotel & Spa
Address: 309 W San Francisco St, Santa Fe, NM 87501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Santa Fe
#7 Luxury Hotel in Santa Fe
#16 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
#26 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
#26 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Eldorado Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 219
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come to the newly remodeled Eldorado Hotel and Spa, where award-winning service and unexpected delights set the stage for an enchanting visit. This acclaimed four-diamond hotel is located steps from the Santa Fe Plaza. Spacious rooms, many with views and some with wood burning fireplaces. Superb cuisine at the Old House Restaurant and AGAVE lounge. Experience the new CAVA bar featuring Spanish wines, food and live entertainment. Ultimate pampering at the full-service Nidah Spa. Underground, covered parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, HotelsforEveryone, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Eldorado Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eldorado Hotel And Spa
Eldorado Hotel Santa Fe
Eldorado Santa Fe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing