We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The 5th Floor Rooms are Grand!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
El Dorado Hotel & Spa
Ranked #17 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
Richmond, Texas
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“The 5th Floor Rooms are Grand!”
Reviewed January 26, 2013

We stayed in a beautiful large room with a huge king bed and a Kiva fireplace. The ambiance of the hotel was warm and friendly. The main restaurant served an excellent meal. The bedding was top notch, with feather pillows and a feather top bed. Close to downtown and the plaza with many restaurants and stores to choose from. My first time in the city was a great experience!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sharli6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larry W, Guest Relations Manager at El Dorado Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear Sharli6,

I can't thank you enough for your kind comments regarding your recent stay at our property. Our goal to each guest is total satisfaction one guest at a time, and it appears that we did our job in making your first trip to Santa Fe a memorable one. This is by far the highest compliment you can pay to a Hotelier.

We do hope that you will come back and visit in the very near future, and to that end if we can be of any assistance please do contact the Hotel as it will be our pleasure to be at your service.

With regards from your friends at the Eldorado.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,301 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    642
    375
    163
    65
    56
See reviews for
215
467
78
315
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (287)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
85 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2013

The staff at the hotel is very nice and willing to accomodate any requests that you have. We upgraded to a room with a fireplace, very nice on cold nights. Views from hotel are nice. We loved the location, great to walk to the plaza and restaurants, yet not in the middle of the tourist inundation. Book restaurants in advance, Santa Fe is small and they book up fast. The lobby could use a reno, but the rooms are very clean and comfortable. Will stay here again.

Room Tip: Book early for a room with a fireplace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larry W, Guest Relations Manager at El Dorado Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Dear Gary D,

Thank you for being our recent guest and sharing your thoughts on Trip Advisor. We are indeed very lucky to have such a caring staff and I seriously appreciate that they were able to handle all your requests in such a satisfactory manner. I am so pleased you took the opportunity to venture out and see so much of our little town as it is a charming place to call home.

We do hope you have the opportunity to join us again in the near future as we are constantly making modifications in order to better serve our guests. With that in mind if we can be of any further assistance please do contact the Hotel as it would be our pleasure to be at your service.

With regards from your friends at the Eldorado.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
73 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013

The Eldorado rolls out the red carpet for well pedicured paws—special bedding, food bowls and most importantly (to my food obsessed pug) first class pet treats. Local neighborhood dog bakery, Pooch Pantry, makes organic freshly baked doggie biscuits, which were included in our Golden Paws Club gift bag. The hotel also provides a list of pet sitters, local vets and pet stores.

We received an exceptionally warm welcome from all staff including parking valet ,Joe, front desk reception personnel and concierge, Dachelle.

The lobby is impressively urbanely chic—it looks much better in person than on their website. The Agave lounge is a popular spot with well-heeled locals and has a very comfy and intimate ambience featuring tasty and fresh small and large plate items (I enjoyed a very tasty and fresh tuna tartare). The bartender caters to a discerning clientele and his drinks did not disappoint (the pomegranate martini was super!). Chef Anthony Smith employs a hand-crafted chamber to dry age the beef served at the hotel's affordably priced Old House fine dining restaurant, adjacent to the lounge.

Our 5th floor deluxe king with kiva fireplace was peaceful and posh-warm rich woods, oversized chairs and the bathroom has a great roomy vanity (a nice feature for us women) and all the little extras you expect in superior accommodations—robe,complimentary grooming items, coffee maker and refrigerator. The real wood burning fireplace was such a treat during our stay in January when temperatures can plummet. The hotel staff provides ample firewood and are available to light the fire at your convenience. We enjoyed wonderful views of Santa Fe and the mountains from our private balcony with electric luminarias.

A super bargain in off-season. Our room was $139 and can increase to over $300 in peak spring and summer season.

The hotel does not offer pet friendly dining options at present but room service was excellent—food was hot, well presented and tasty (no extra charge for substitutions).

Free WIFI and access to fitness center, outdoor heated pool, sauna and whirlpool.
Parking is $24-pricey— but in heavily populated downtown area, the norm and the price you pay for an ultra convenient location (walk to shops, museums, etc.)

$50 per pet fee (maximum 2 dogs per room).

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheila W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larry W, Guest Relations Manager at El Dorado Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Dear Shelia W,

We are thrilled you had an opportunity to be our recent guest and shared your thoughts on Trip Advisor. I can't thank you enough for your kind words and recognizing our amazing staff. It will be my pleasure to share your comments with them as it will be most appreciated.

I am so happy that we could also accommodate your pet needs. I have two pampered pups myself so I well understand the need to have all the little extras available as it makes traveling a pleasure rather than a chore. We do hope you will have an opportunity to visit us again in the very near future as we want to be your favorite Hotel while in Santa Fe.

With regards from your friends at the Eldorado.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park City, Utah
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Booked this property same day as arrival - we were on a road trip and this place fit the bill for quality accommodations, great location right in old town Santa Fe, and being dog friendly.

The property did not disappoint and the staff were very friendly and generally happy people (always a plus!).

We did have an issue with the first room we checked into - on the top floor - when we heard continued scratching sounds up in the ceiling/on the roof. We notified the desk and they immediately sent someone to investigate and move us to another room.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larry W, Guest Relations Manager at El Dorado Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear Michelle M,

We are so pleased that you found us on your recent trip. It was our pleasure to have you as our guest and we are very greatful for your kind comments. I was disappointed to hear that you had trouble with your first room as we try to be error free. However I am very pleased the staff handled the situation in such a timely manner.

I do hope when you find yourself back in Santa Fe we will have the opportunity to have you as our guest again as our goal is to make the Eldorado your favorite Hotel while in Santa Fe.

With regards from your friends at the Eldorado.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2013

This is a review of the Eldorado Hotel in Santa Fe (stayed there as part of a business trip to the US). The hotel gets an "excellent" (not often I do this) simply because a) staff were polite, friendly and always very professional (especially at reception+concierge) and b) hotel is modern, spacious, airy and high-end. Having arrived for the weekend, they advised me where to hire skis and how to get to the ski slopes nearby (30mins - worth it!). Room and fully-equipped gym had spectacular views. The Agave Lounge provides the perfect start to an evening (hostess recommended a great Santa Fe brown beer - excellent!) and is a better place to eat a meal than at the restaurant (which is slightly soul-less if travelling alone) - but do try the rib-eye steak (a luxury worth ordering). Cannot imagine staying at another hotel in Santa Fe. Well done (and special mention to Hotel Manager who replied in detail to my survey answers - first time this has happened in over 20 years staying in hotels around the world). Mr E.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank COPTHALL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larry W, Manager at El Dorado Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to let us know how we did during your stay with us! We are more than thrilled that you enjoyed your time here in Santa Fe, and you are right we are so lucky for our location it is perfect for a lot of different activities. Santa Fe has a lot to offer our guests and again, we are thrilled you were able to experience experiences such as our world class service, to our great food, speciality beverages and most importantly our wonderful location nestled right below the Santa Fe Ski Basin. Thank you again for your comments and I hope you come and visit us again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 12, 2013

We had a very pleasant stay at the hotel. We found the staff to be very helpful and the rooms quite comfortable. The facilities for the meeting were also very good. Finally, their restauarant and lounge are excellent.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trip53449
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larry W, Guest Relations Manager at El Dorado Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear Trip53449,

We greatly appreciate you decided to be a guest of our Hotel. I can't thank you enough for your kind words and candid review. Our goal is total guest satisfaction one guest at a time.
It will be my pleasure to share your review with our staff as they thoroughly enjoy making the difference in a guest stay as your having a memorable experience is the highest praise we can receive.

We look forward to your being our guest in the very near future, and hope that if you have any needs you will contact the Hotel directly so we can be at your service.

With regards from your friends at the Eldorado.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico, United States
Level Contributor
27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013

We booked a room at the Eldorado Hotel for New Year's Eve 2012 as we were attending a party at a friend's house in the north part of town. We had a great experience there--super help from the valets in the parking garage, great service from the bellhop who brought up our belongings, and good service at the check-in desk. We used the concierge, Roman, to book a taxi to take us to our party that night. Once there, I tried to call the taxi company and could not get through. So, I called the concierge at the hotel. He booked our return taxi and called me back to advise me of the details. I was very impressed that he would go above and beyond when we were offsite. We also had a great breakfast in the Old House Restaurant the next morning before checking out.

Room Tip: Even though we could not get a room with a king size bed due to booking so late, we still had a grea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zita M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larry W, Guest Relations Manager at El Dorado Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear Zita M,

Thank you for being our recent guest during the Holiday Season. We are thrilled you had such an enjoyable stay, and so many staff members helped make your time with us memorable. I will be sure and personally thank Roman for assisting you with Taxi reservations.

It would be our pleasure to have you be our guest in the very near future, and if we can be of any further assitance please contact the Hotel directly. Again it was our pleasure to be at your service.

With regards from your friends at the Eldorado.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
La Fonda on the Plaza
#5 of 60 in Santa Fe
2,105 reviews
Downtown
Inn on the Alameda
Inn on the Alameda
#3 of 60 in Santa Fe
2,123 reviews
Downtown
Inn and Spa at Loretto
Inn and Spa at Loretto
#23 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Santa Fe
#12 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,598 reviews
Downtown
Rosewood Inn of the Anasazi
Inn of the Five Graces
#1 of 60 in Santa Fe
565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Dorado Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Dorado Hotel & Spa

Property: El Dorado Hotel & Spa
Address: 309 W San Francisco St, Santa Fe, NM 87501-2115
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Santa Fe
#7 Luxury Hotel in Santa Fe
#16 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
#26 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#26 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — El Dorado Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 219
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come to the newly remodeled Eldorado Hotel and Spa, where award-winning service and unexpected delights set the stage for an enchanting visit. This acclaimed four-diamond hotel is located steps from the Santa Fe Plaza. Spacious rooms, many with views and some with wood burning fireplaces. Superb cuisine at the Old House Restaurant and AGAVE lounge. Experience the new CAVA bar featuring Spanish wines, food and live entertainment. Ultimate pampering at the full-service Nidah Spa. Underground, covered parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Jetsetter and HotelQuickly so you can book your El Dorado Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eldorado Hotel And Spa
Eldorado Hotel Santa Fe
Eldorado Santa Fe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing