We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“comfortable, clean, and convenient” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Santa Fe Sage Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Santa Fe Sage Inn
Ranked #29 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Durham NH
Level Contributor
47 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“comfortable, clean, and convenient”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2009

Just a short walk outside the main square but near the railroad yards, a much neater part of Santa Fe, this hotel is really nice, with wonderful staff and plenty of parking, etc. Okay, the pool and the breakfasts weren't much for our needs, but you can get great breakfasts nearby, and the showers work well after an August day in SF. We used it as a base for hiking and sightseeing and couldn't have asked for more in comfort and cleanliness..

Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank DavidByKayak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,246 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    379
    523
    220
    85
    39
See reviews for
267
476
123
95
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (273)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, VA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2009

We enjoyed our stay here. The staff was courteous and helpful. The "Sage Coach" was a great feature. It is a van that will cart you around the plaza/hotel area. The plaza was a six block walk, easy to do, if you were tired at the end of the day thecoach would come pick you up (Check the operating dates on the coach, it may only be for the summer) The room was clean and comfortable. My only complaint about the room would be that we faced a brick wall, we checked in early and that was all that was available. We didn't stay in the room much so it wasn't a big deal. The breakfast was good. The hotel is very convieniently located to everything we wanted to do. I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tripper718
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA. USA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2009

This was my first time in Santa Fe and I really have to say..the Downtown is SUCH a joke.
Everything is just as expensive as Los Anegles, but you're in the middle of nowhere in New Mexico! Only the Liberals who go to this place are willing to pay for the crappy Art.

Anyway, the hotel was about $115 a night.. not bad compared to the other hotels Downtown but in reality.. this place is the exact same as a Best Western or the Travelodge across the street, BUT it has a semi fancy lobby and nice paint job.

It wasn't that bad though, the rooms were clean, etc.

The only things I really was disturbed about were:

A) The pool is literally TINY. It's the size of 2 hot tubs. That's okay, but... their website TOTALLY misleads you to think it's a real pool. The photo is purposely taken at an angle to make it look bigger. That's pretty low.

B) When you check in, DON'T use a debit card. As the other guy said, they do weird things and take more then the room is, then the charge goes away, then new charges, etc. etc. And I could not pay cash when I asked to!

The people at the front desk are very friendly though, but just keep in mind this place is a Motel with a nice paint job...

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank antonrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
122 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2009

Having read many reviews of hotels in Santa Fe before going, I picked this one and was delighted. I've traveled all over the world and been lucky enough to stay in stellar hotels, as well as my budget picks, but have never encountered a staff (from manager to shuttle driver to housekeepers) that was so uniformly helpful, solicitous and responsive. I heard many guests, on checkout, also remarking what a wonderful stay they had there (I was often on one of the two the hotel-offered computers in the morning, by the reception area, when many people checked out).
The location is easy for parking and access to the Plaza (as well as being next door to Whole Foods), but the free shuttle service was also a big plus. The room was very clean (the reviews criticizing the cleanliness of the rooms seemed very odd, based on what I saw) as were the grounds. The room was perhaps on the small side, but quite large enough. Staff was ever-present and solicitous, often restocking clean towels for the pools, tidying up, etc.
Breakfast was plentiful (French toast, bagel assortment, muffins, donuts, hard-boiled eggs, cereal, yogurt, fresh fruit, etc.) and always helpful to have included in the room price. I also liked the fact that it started at 6:30, since I am an early riser (as were many there). But, best of all were the constant smiles and pleasant attitude of the staff (especially the lovely lady who welcomed us to breakfast and to afternoon chips, dip, iced tea and lemonade in the reception area!).
The pool is a very creative use of space - and small, so if the pool is your main destination in Santa Fe, this is probably not the best hotel for you. Seating there is limited to a round table with 3-4 chairs, 3-4 lounge chairs and a double seat, but lying on the ground on towels was fine.
There are also many shady outdoor dining tables on the grounds.
Overall - I found the price very reasonable and the experience to be as good as I had hoped. While there are a lot of options for lodging in Santa Fe, this is a great one to choose if you are looking for a clean, pleasant and convenient base for exploring the area.
We went to the opera, Bandelier and Tent Mountain national sites, hiked around the ski area, saw 3 museums, walked around Canyon Road and thoroughly explored every shop in the plaza. We always took the shuttle to and from town to save our strength for other adventures.
Also, I would skip eating at the Sensa restaurant (overpriced and a bit pretentious), by the Plaza, but we had great meals at the Guadeloupe Cafe and El Farol (wonderful tapas assortments).

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank enghien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, TX
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2009

A friend recommended the Sage Inn and we decided to give it a try for an impromptu weekend away. What a great place! The staff was friendly, helpful and alway quick with a smile or suggestions on what to do. We come to Santa Fe often and know our way around but they directed us to the "little gems" only locals know about. The room was a little small, but spotless and the price was right with a 3rd night free offer.

Norma the breakfast lady is a sweetheart who took a moment every morning to see how we were doing. Cheryl sent us to a little restaurant we never noticed before called "La Chosa", check it out, the food is great! Just a minute down the street is a chocolate (my passion) place that had been on the food network.... too many choices!

Next trip to Santa Fe we will definitly be staying here again. The hotel is large (about 120 rooms I think) but even though it is on the main road in Santa Fe, it sets back far enough to be quiet for some sound sleep. My boyfriend's favorite things were the comfortable mattress and the workout room. All in all, it was one of the most relaxing trips we've taken, you didn't feel lost in the crowd.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PlanoSara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lanesboro, MN
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2009

While the rooms and pool are small, the location and shuttle make the Sage worthwhile and my family will stay there again. Couldn't get the humidity out of the room.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank edecker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
texas
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2009

My family and I had to spend 2 nights in this nasty place last week. I had feces in my bathtub and filthy globs of hair on the floor (I have pictures). My sister and her family had black mold all around the caulking in the tub. We told the person at the desk and she just said she's have someone clean the bathrooms. No apology, no explanation, no offer to get the manager. This is not a place I would recommend to anyone for any reason.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
16 Thank sharintexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
Inn At Santa Fe
#30 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 584 reviews
Old Santa Fe Inn
#5 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,493 reviews
El Rey Inn
#22 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Comfort Suites
#16 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 769 reviews
Downtown
Inn of the Governors
Inn of the Governors
#11 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santa Fe Sage Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Fe Sage Inn

Property: Santa Fe Sage Inn
Address: 725 Cerrillos Rd., Santa Fe, NM 87505
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Santa Fe Sage Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Santa Fe Sage Inn is an excellent choice for affordable lodging in downtown Santa Fe. The hotel offers 145 attractive, comfortable rooms with free amenities including a "Healthy Start" breakfast, exercise facility, guest laundry, wireless high-speed internet and downtown shuttle services. The Santa Fe Sage Inn is located only six blocks from the historic plaza and across the street from the Railyard Park dining and shopping district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Santa Fe Sage Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Fe Sage Hotel Santa Fe
Sage Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing