We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Location and Great Value” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Santa Fe Sage Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Santa Fe Sage Inn
Ranked #28 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Centennial, Colorado
Level Contributor
63 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Location and Great Value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2014

Our family of 4 has stayed at the Santa Fe Sage Inn twice. It is an excellent value. This is not a luxury hotel. It has smallish, quaint, well decorated rooms. The service is excellent and the room was very clean. When we are looking for a quick Santa Fe getaway but are low-budget, this is where we stay. Bonus: VERY close to Whole Foods. Five minute drive to the plaza.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KathyM7551950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle211, Guest Relations Manager at Santa Fe Sage Inn, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
We want to thank you for your comments. We are so happy to be able to accommodate you and your family and we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    378
    519
    217
    84
    37
See reviews for
265
470
122
95
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (271)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2014

We stayed 2 nights at the Santa Fe Sage Inn. The staff was very friendly and helpful. They have a shuttle to get you to the Plaza area. The location was good but the rooms were a little cramped. The room was clean. My husband and I would stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank bobette b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle211, Guest Relations Manager at Santa Fe Sage Inn, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Thanks so much for taking the time to write your review. We are so glad to know that your stay was everything you needed it to be. We will hope to see you again on your next visit to Santa Fe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2014

We stayed here for vacation. I loved the location because it was just a block away from the Railyard which has the Farmer's market and local artists display. If you are a walker, it is an easy walk to the square with good restaurants along the way. (1 mile) There is an hourly shuttle if you are not a walker. The rooms are not large, similar to average European room sizes, but are clean and the beds are excellent. The staff was wonderful and helpful. The only reason I did not give this 5 stars is because the continental breakfast is a bit of a miss. While I didn't expect a gourmet buffet, especially for the price, I do expect continental breakfast to always have coffee available, milk for the cereal and utensils. There were either staffing/training issues or just not up to snuff. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Avoid being right outside the swimming pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Harleysmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Cruces, NM
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2014

This hotel was recommended because of its "Sage Coach" which takes guests to and from the downtown plaza. The plaza is walking distance if you have some time, but in hot summer weather the Sage Coach was our choice. We stayed for three nights July 4,5,6. I don't think the Inn was totally full, but quite busy. The front desk folks were super nice and friendly, especially Diana and Matt. The Coach driver, Randall is also a great guy. We always tipped our Coach driver, but some guests did not (???).

The room, a superior queen, was really attractive and clean, though a bit crowded-just one arm chair. Two comfortable beds with lovely bedding, good shower, flat screen TV, and refrigerator. That refrigerator was a surprise. It was not running when we checked in. I turned it all the way on, as I am used to these little fridges not being super cold. Well this one was a Mercedes-it froze everything (not just in the freezer). Be warned, halfway on will be fine. Whole Foods is a half block away, so you will probably use the fridge. Also we travel with my husband's CPAC and my white noise machine. I carry a long extension cord because most places seem to have all their outlets in use. In our room there were three empty outlets not in the bathroom-yay. I did still need the extension cord since they were on the opposite wall from the head of the bed.

There were all sorts of guests: families, couples, folks from other countries, and folks who travel a lot in the USA. Polite and friendly was the norm for guests here.

The pool is small and was packed with children most of the time, so we hope to use it on another trip after school has started. Nice grounds with trees, tables, and chairs. It's about three blocks to the Farmers Market.

The breakfast choices were pretty limited-not much fresh fruit-but waffles and cereal seemed OK for the little kids. There are so many great restaurants nearby, that we did not really want much at the Inn anyway. There's a nice little outdoor eating area in addition to the breakfast room. Coffee excellent and it's provided all day.

All in all, we got a lot of bang for our bucks, and we look forward to staying at the Sage Inn again, and recommending it to friends.

Room Tip: I asked for a quiet room, so we were put on the second (highest) floor. To the left of our room was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kathryn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle211, Guest Relations Manager at Santa Fe Sage Inn, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
We are so happy that you found the Sage Inn and we that you enjoyed your stay so much. We will look forward to seeing you again and greatly appreciate the recommendations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
49 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2014

The Sage Inn was a great find and good value for money. The room was very nice (it actually looked much nicer than the pictures on their website, I thought).
It’s a 15 to 20 minute walk to the centre of town & the complimentary shuttle to the main plaza downtown is an added convenience. (It doesn’t run very late, but then Santa Fe has no apparent nightlife… you’ll be in bed by 10pm.)
The laundry facilities and breakfast were very good (who doesn’t love DIY waffles?).
The only minor negatives are that there was no bar fridge in the room & the pool borders on the parking lot (as so many seem to do in hotel/motels). But overall I wouldn’t hesitate to go back to the Sage Inn if returning to Santa Fe.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CapeTraveller111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2014 via mobile

It was the night before Fourth of July. I specifically asked if there was a fireworks show and if it could be seen from the Inn. I was told there was and it could. The next day I had a crying child on my hands because the fireworks display could NOT be seen by the Inn.

The name "Inn" seems to be something above the quality of a motel but less than the quality of a hotel. This place was on par with a Motel 6. All the rooms are only accessable from the outside. There is no elevator. The rooms are small, the furniture old and over sized. The air conditioner was probably made in 1967 and barely worked.

We were also told that our AAA discount would NOT be honored because of the holiday weekend and we were terribly over charged.

We paid for a refrigerator and microwave and both were missing. When we asked for them to be replaced we were told that wasn't possible.

The only positive is that the Inn is basically in the back lot of a WHOLEFOODS, so at least healthy food was easily accessible.

There were several other hotels in the same price range across and down the street. But they were closed when we checked in after 2:00AM, which is why we chose the Sage Inn.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Glamour_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle211, Guest Relations Manager at Santa Fe Sage Inn, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
We want to take the opportunity to thank you for your recent Trip Advisor comments, however we feel that several items in your review are not reflective of your stay with us.

We apologize for any issues you may have had during your stay. While we did have set rates during the holiday weekend, you failed to mention that when you spoke with the Guest Services Manager he understood your concerns and gave you what equated to a sixty dollar discount for your stay. This was far better than any other discounts that may be available throughout the year.

As the manager who gave you three options to view the Fireworks show instead of driving over to the venue, I know that I did not tell you they could be seen from the hotel as that has never been the case. I can only apologize if you were given some misinformation during your check-in process.

Unfortunately, the only rooms available during your stay were Traditional rooms that have neither a refrigerator or microwave. Please also note that we only have refrigerators in our Superior rooms but not microwaves. I can understand if you misunderstood as our Suites have booth refrigerators and microwaves. Yes you are correct that during your stay neither of these items were available to be placed in your room as we only keep a few extra refrigerators that are on a first come first serve basis. We do however have a microwave in our kitchen area that is available to all guests on property.

We can see that you did not enjoy your stay and for that we are truly sorry as we want each guest to leave with a feeling that we went above and beyond for them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, Tennessee
Level Contributor
62 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2014

For Santa Fe, the price is reasonable. I think it's kind of cheap to charge tenants $5 to park at their hotel, but I suppose this is a worm-around so they can proclaim the best prices in downtown Santa Fe. It doesn't seem far, but it is seemingly long walk, especially in the dark, to get to the main square downtown. But the amenities are nice and functional and average. We got what I expected... a room, a bed, a tv, and an average breakfast. I guess, that's the keyword and the reason for my rating: Average.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ehren7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
Inn At Santa Fe
#30 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 576 reviews
El Rey Inn
#19 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 735 reviews
Old Santa Fe Inn
#5 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Comfort Suites
#15 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 736 reviews
Downtown
Inn of the Governors
Inn of the Governors
#11 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santa Fe Sage Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Fe Sage Inn

Property: Santa Fe Sage Inn
Address: 725 Cerrillos Rd., Santa Fe, NM 87505
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Santa Fe Sage Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Santa Fe Sage Inn is an excellent choice for affordable lodging in downtown Santa Fe. The hotel offers 145 attractive, comfortable rooms with free amenities including a "Healthy Start" breakfast, exercise facility, guest laundry, wireless high-speed internet and downtown shuttle services. The Santa Fe Sage Inn is located only six blocks from the historic plaza and across the street from the Railyard Park dining and shopping district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Santa Fe Sage Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Fe Sage Hotel Santa Fe
Sage Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing