We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Handy location, comfortable rooms,”
Review of Santa Fe Sage Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Santa Fe Sage Inn
Ranked #29 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Reviewed June 6, 2014

We were staying at the Sage Inn for the Santa Fe Century bike ride and received a special rate for the event. Rooms were comfortable, clean, bit aged. Some rooms had flat screen televisions, mine was one of the old bulky type with very poor picture quality. Shower head leaked a little. Location is within short walk 15 minutes and they have a free shuttle that runs to/from hotel to downtown square. Breakfast was fine although on the day of the ride we ask if they might open a little earlier than the usual 7:00AM, perhaps 6:30PM and they said no.

Room Tip: Bottom floor rooms are noisy with footsteps heard easily from up stairs room so would recommend 2nd...
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank MikeHLaramie_Wyoming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,321)
There are newer reviews for Santa Fe Sage Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

524 - 530 of 1,323 reviews

Reviewed June 6, 2014

All of the basics were covered and the beds were comfortable. The staff was friendly and very helpful.

As a business traveler I was very disappointed by the lack of wifi coverage. It was consistently spotty and weak and I was not able to work at all from the hotel. I found it very frustrating that they advertised free wifi and had such consistently poor service. I checked with the desk to see if it was an anomaly or normally that way. I was told that this was normal and that a lot of guests complain about it. Apparently nothing is going to be done going forward, so be warned.

Also know that the breakfast is a sugar and carbohydrate feast. Nothing there but fruit and cold hard boiled eggs if you are gluten sensitive or watching your sugar intake.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Claire A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2014

We found the location, cleanliness, and comfort standard to be quite satisfactory. I was surprised that the towels appeared rather thread bare. The location is a comfortable walk to the Plaza as well as the Georgia O'keeffe Museum. Our stay was comfortable and quiet. The breakfast is quite good with fresh fruit, and healthy choices.The folks at the front desk could be more service oriented when answering questions. There is a large parking lot, but I felt the inn was nickel and diming when they charge $5 for parking, overall experience positive.

Room Tip: Consider the second floor as someone over us did have heavy feet.
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Marcia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2014

We stayed at the Sage Inn during our first visit to Santa Fe in May of 2014. We were there for 2 nights. The check in process was efficient and the two young gentlemen at the front desk were pleasant and helpful. Be aware, that there is a charge to park your vehicle at the Sage Inn each night, as parking in the downtown area of Santa Fe is at a premium. We were on motorcycles, which we parked in one space, so we were only charged for one vehicle. You may want to negotiate this charge when you make your reservations. The room is nicely decorated in a Southwest/Santa Fe mode, with punched tin accents throughout. The bed is comfortable and clean and there are a ton of pillows. There is a fridge and microwave, but the room is a bit small. There is a large cowhide chair and ottoman pushed into the corner which is where we deposited our luggage due to lack of space. There is a convenient shuttle to downtown Santa Fe, driven by a very informative and helpful young man. He also will recommend restaurants and points of interest, if you ask. The true "star" of this review is the city of Santa Fe. There is so much to see and tons of history to discover. Allow at least 2 full days to walk the town to get the flavor of Santa Fe. The Sage Inn is in a great location, and the shuttle is a bonus. There's also a Whole Foods Supermarket right next door to the hotel, where we were able to get dinner each night. The hotel offers a continental breakfast each morning, which is standard fare - but the room gets pretty crowded, and the tables are arranged in a very tight pattern, so choose one of the outlying tables, or go into the separate room at the back, if you need more space. I felt that the motel was a bit pricey, but this is Santa Fe and probably to be expected. If we return to Santa Fe, we may stay here again.

Room Tip: Due to excessive traffic at the front of the hotel, it is best to leave the hotel through the back e...
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Phoenix_AZShredder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2014

Might return here, but only by booking a second floor room - the plumbing is unbelievably noisy and, of course, you'll be awakened between 4 & 5 AM as people begin their day. Nice location to the Plaza - everything w/in walking distance-so good value in that respect.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Carole S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2014

It was a great room especially for the money! Too cute with southwest design and really clean. The beds slept great too. We had our service dog and they were great to her, even gave her a gift! Being Kansas people our dog was used to using "grass for her business". Behind the motel across the street was a great grassed in park with benches, poop bags and trash cans. Made her very happy! Was so glad they had shuttle service to the Plaza so we didn't have to walk. The breakfast buffet was really great too. Would liked to have tried the wonderful pool but was too cool outside even though the pool was heated. The staff was very nice, helpful and knowledgeable too! I would recommend it to anyone!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Catherine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2014

Very quaint. Good access to walking parks and availability to down town events. Dog friendly atmosphere. I enjoyed my stay very much and would love to go back to explore other areas of the town.I would recommend this to others. Very close to the Whole Foods Market also which was a good experience, Especially for those who wish to stock up on items for hiking.

Room Tip: I had a room on the back side of the hotel, Very quiet.
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Patricia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
1.7 mi away
El Rey Court
El Rey Court
#22 of 60 in Santa Fe
782 reviews
4.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Inn of Santa Fe
0.6 mi away
Old Santa Fe Inn
Old Santa Fe Inn
#7 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Santa Fe
Hyatt Place Santa Fe
#16 of 60 in Santa Fe
776 reviews
3.7 mi away
Comfort Suites Santa Fe
Comfort Suites Santa Fe
#15 of 60 in Santa Fe
897 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Lodge at Santa Fe
The Lodge at Santa Fe
#35 of 60 in Santa Fe
917 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santa Fe Sage Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Fe Sage Inn

Address: 725 Cerrillos Rd., Santa Fe, NM 87505
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range: $83 - $178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Santa Fe Sage Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Santa Fe Sage Inn is an excellent choice for affordable lodging in downtown Santa Fe. The hotel offers 145 attractive, comfortable rooms with free amenities including a "Healthy Start" breakfast, exercise facility, guest laundry, wireless high-speed internet and downtown shuttle services. The Santa Fe Sage Inn is located only six blocks from the historic plaza and across the street from the Railyard Park dining and shopping district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone and getaroom.com so you can book your Santa Fe Sage Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Fe Sage Hotel Santa Fe
Sage Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing