We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sure looks nice on website, but it's not!”
Review of Santa Fe Sage Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Santa Fe Sage Inn
Ranked #29 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Reviewed June 13, 2008

Website doesn't look at all like the actual room. It's a very small, budget motel with old furniture. Bathroom was extremely tiny and smelled musty and moldy because the shower curtain never dried out from the previous person. We asked for a quiet room in the rear of the building. When we tried to open the window we found the screen was broken and bent. My husband checked the other units on that lower level and there were two others that were broken also. The maintenance man said it was from kids forgetting their cards and breaking in - guess I don't believe that. Looked to us like those units had been attempted to break into. Really creeped me out and I didn't feel safe all night. It's a rather run-down part of town - their website shows some rather nice room, but it sure wasn't ours! Go somewhere else and feel safe.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
16  Thank Fronnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,325)
There are newer reviews for Santa Fe Sage Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,178 - 1,184 of 1,325 reviews

Reviewed May 29, 2008

Got this hotel on Priceline as part of a vacation package for three nights. The reviews looked good and the price and location seemed right.
Great experience all around. On maps, the plaza looked further than it was. It really is about a ten minute walk and, like most of Santa Fe, it's a nice walk.
Checked in at about 1am. I had called to make sure this was fine and the clerk assured that there would be no issue. I walked in and the clerk was standing at the desk, attentive and ready. Quickly checked in. I was very impressed.
The room was about the size of a typical budget motel but with nicer furnishings. It was obvious that it was an older place that had been renovated because of the number of electrical outlets. Also, one electrical outlet was hooked up to the main light switch, which meant that the lights had to be on for it to work, and that made it impossible for us to charge some things overnight. Not a big deal though.
Our room was on the second floor in the back of the hotel next to a stairway. I worried about the noise, but it was never an issue, even one night when we kept the window open. The bed was very comfortable and the room was always cleaned thoroughly and efficiently.
Parking is a bit tight in that the spaces are relatively small, but there's plenty of it and we were never more than a few steps away from the room.
Didn't use the pool, but it was really cute. Small, but nice looking, it was surrounded by a fence covered in vegetation. The kids staying there seemed to like it.
Breakfast every morning was impressive. Donuts, fruit, cereals, very decent coffee, french toast, bagels and more. The breakfast area was beautiful as was the lobby area. Very... Santa Fe.
I really did appreciate how close everything was. There are quite a few restaurants within easy walking distance, not even counting what's around Downtown or the plaza.
I would highly recommend this hotel for people coming to Santa Fe but not wanting to spend over $100 per night on a hotel. Parking Downtown can be tricky, especially during the tourist season, so it's really nice to not even have to worry about the car and just walk it.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank colinaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2008

For the value and the quality of the rooms, we would have been better off staying at a nicer place for the same rate on the outskirts of the city. The quality is akin to a pre-renovation Holiday Inn.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
4  Thank kerico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2008

My husband and I stopped at the Sage Inn after seeing a billboard while traveling to Santa Fe. We had a great time both in Santa Fe and with the staff of the Sage Inn. We even stayed 2 extra days!

They were friendly, and always had a great recommendation of what to do for the day and what to eat for the best "New Mexican" experience. They sent us to Tomasitas restaurant just about a 7 minute walk away and we enjoyed a great meal (we highly recommend it).

The rooms were a bit small, but some of the cleanest we have ever stayed in. We didn't spend much time in the room, so we didn't mind.

We were pulling our camper with us and they had plenty of parking space for it for free! The lobby has 24 hour high speed internet which was great for checking email while on the road and mapping out our next travel plans.

The breakfast selection was huge for a continental (we've eaten our share of plastic bagged muffins). There were fruits, yogurts, hard boiled eggs and fresh donuts that were still warm!

We will definitely stay again the next time we pass through Santa Fe!

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank HotStuff4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2008

The room was clean, however the bed comforter probably needs to be replaced. The bathtub drain was VERY slow draining, which meant standing in ankle deep water while showering. The breakfast included with the room had an average selection and the breakfast bar was tidy. It's a long walk to the Plaza and would not recommend doing it at night.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
6  Thank ArizonaSuziC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2008

The Santa Fe Sage Inn is a great value and location for sage travelers looking for budget-friendly accommodations. Rooms are nicely decorated in a southwest motif and include the special extras of free wifi and bottled water. Continental breakfast is included, and the inn is adjacent to a Whole Foods supermarket, so you can pick up salads or sandwiches for lunch or dinner also.

The Sage Inn is a particularly great choice if you plan to do a lot of local sightseeing and day trips. The inn is about a 15 minute walk to the heart of downtown Sante Fe. It provides free parking and easy access to major roads for sightseeing / day trips. If you are planning to just hang out at the hotel with kids, it might not be the best choice as the pool is small and tv reception is a little fuzzy.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Provence_Enthusiast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2008

For the price it can't be beat. We just returned from a 9-day stay, and found it excellent - clean, quiet rooms, friendly and helpful staff. The breakfasts were very good, and free access to a computer was helpful for emails and car bookings, etc. Ask about lower rates if you stay longer than a week. We were on winter rates (April) and the weekly rate was just over half the daily rate! What we saved paid for the car and most of our meals. (Not sure if they do a weekly rate in high season, so ask.) Sure you can find nicer places in old adobe homes, but you will pay big bucks for the pleasure. A hotel is for sleeping - spend your savings on having fun! I would stay there again, no problem.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank BikerRay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
1.7 mi away
El Rey Court
El Rey Court
#22 of 60 in Santa Fe
782 reviews
4.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Inn of Santa Fe
0.6 mi away
Old Santa Fe Inn
Old Santa Fe Inn
#8 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Santa Fe
Hyatt Place Santa Fe
#16 of 60 in Santa Fe
776 reviews
3.7 mi away
Comfort Suites Santa Fe
Comfort Suites Santa Fe
#15 of 60 in Santa Fe
897 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Lodge at Santa Fe
The Lodge at Santa Fe
#35 of 60 in Santa Fe
918 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santa Fe Sage Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Fe Sage Inn

Address: 725 Cerrillos Rd., Santa Fe, NM 87505
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range: $83 - $177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Santa Fe Sage Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Santa Fe Sage Inn is an excellent choice for affordable lodging in downtown Santa Fe. The hotel offers 145 attractive, comfortable rooms with free amenities including a "Healthy Start" breakfast, exercise facility, guest laundry, wireless high-speed internet and downtown shuttle services. The Santa Fe Sage Inn is located only six blocks from the historic plaza and across the street from the Railyard Park dining and shopping district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelsforEveryone so you can book your Santa Fe Sage Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Fe Sage Hotel Santa Fe
Sage Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing