We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“inexpensive but quite nice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Americas Best Value Lamplighter Inn of Santa Fe
Ranked #34 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Reviewed September 6, 2009

My wife and I stayed here for one night in September on our way west. We were happy with comfortable room, the friendly staff, and the location. The facility was well maintained including baking soda in the fridge to keep it fresh smelling. There is even a ping pong room. The price was most reasonable for Santa Fe. My wife especially liked that the TV had so many channels including Home and Garden TV. I liked the motorcycle speed channel.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank bobInAustinTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (393)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

320 - 326 of 393 reviews

Reviewed August 30, 2009

This is an older motel with some serious upsides! Our room was large and very clean, with ample towels. Standard motel, no surprises, but nice. However, the indoor pool building and the lovely outdoor areas really knocked our socks off. The landscaping is gorgeous, with a very tropical feeling, especially by the pool. The continental breakfast also exceeded our expectations, and the gameroom with a guest access computer was a nice plus, too. This motel may look a bit plain from the exterior, but the owner's pride in their property is obvious - it is very well cared for, with some unexpected perks. Great rates, too - what's not to like?

  • Stayed: June 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Jeromehotelier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2009

Nice motel, no pets which is great! Breckfast very nice and healthy, if your looking for greasy suicide food than you'll have to go some place else. Room was big! (402)
Internet worked fine. Easy drive to the Plaza area, and to Hwy.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Williamcsprings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2009

We stayed here in July and the room was very clean, looked like it had a new coat of paint and the bathroom was clean, always a plus. The bed was a little too hard for my liking, but not as bad as some. The free breakfast was good if you like healthy foods, lots of natural grains, soy milk etc, but also some doughnuts. The price was the best part.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank beachlover2141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2009

This is a hard one to rate. There are lots of pluses, but the minuses are pretty significant:

The good:
-reasonable rate.
-special museum package that provide free admission into some museums.
-although old and dated, the room looked clean.
-the room is exceptionally large.
-had a dvd player
-kitchen is well equiped
-free internet connection( not secured however).
-close to downtown.

The bad:
-cockroach. On the last day that we were there, my husband saw one crawling on my bed cover while he was taking one last look around to make sure we didn't forget anything. It wasn't his imagination because I saw it too! Once we got to the next destination, we removed the content from our luggage piece by piece and shook them over the bathtub to make sure we weren't bring anything home with us. Thankfully we did not find any. We told the front desk. Hopefully they are dealing with it.
-the room smelled very musky.
-very little natural light in our room made it look dingy. The dark carpet and dark bed covers did not help.
-cooking odor lingered in the room as there was no kitchen fan.
-our room, which was located in a separate building was behind the parking lot of an Indian restaurant. We were so close that we could see into the kitchen through our window. Very unattractive. You can hear garbage trucks and deliver trucks in the mornings.

Perhaps these problems are unique to the building we were in and that the other units in the main compound are ok. But if I was in Santa Fe again I would not come back. There are more options a little further out on Cerillo.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cecc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lamplighter2405, General Manager at Americas Best Value Lamplighter Inn of Santa Fe, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2009

We take this report very seriously. Housekeeping staff stripped the room, Maintenance staff checked the interior of all 16 kitchen units and fortunately found no bugs of any kind. However to further rest our minds, we have had our Pest Control Monthly Service do an additional treatment of the property.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2009

I have no complaints, even small ones about the Lamplighter Inn. Our upstairs room was very quiet and spacious. The landscaping was gorgeous. The pool and hot tub were both in a beautiful atrium and the landscaping inside was also beautiful. The location was convenient to, but not right on top of attractions within Santa Fe. The towels for the pool were nice and located in our room, so we didn't have to go searching for them. The breakfast selection was good, and suprisingly, had a lot of healthy choices (herbal teas, organic almond butter, fruits, etc). If we are ever back in Santa Fe, I KNOW we would stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank TravellingmommyTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2009

We loved staying at this hotel in Santa Fe - this was an impromptu trip with no prior reservations and we had read good reviews about the hotel and chose to stay there. Lyle at the front desk was very courteous and helpful as were the other staff. The hotel may be a little dated but the two room suite we stayed at was very clean and comfortable. We enjoyed the pool area and the breakfast was also very good. I would definitely stay here again...

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Boston007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
1.9 mi away
The Santa Fe Suites
The Santa Fe Suites
#49 of 60 in Santa Fe
488 reviews
2.5 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Santa Fe
0.8 mi away
Quality Inn Santa Fe
Quality Inn Santa Fe
#48 of 60 in Santa Fe
332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Santa Fe Comfort Inn
Santa Fe Comfort Inn
#33 of 60 in Santa Fe
314 reviews
1.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Inn of Santa Fe
2.0 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
#14 of 60 in Santa Fe
531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Lamplighter Inn of Santa Fe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Lamplighter Inn of Santa Fe

Address: 2405 Cerrillos Rd, Santa Fe, NM 87505-3261
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Santa Fe
#24 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range: $62 - $86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Lamplighter Inn of Santa Fe 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Americas Best Value Lamplighter Inn of Santa Fe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Lamplighter Inn Of Santa Fe Hotel Santa Fe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing