We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant bargain motel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Americas Best Value Lamplighter Inn of Santa Fe
Ranked #35 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Boulder, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Pleasant bargain motel”
Reviewed March 25, 2009

We stayed for three nights for a short getaway to visit family and hit some museums. The Lamplighter is an older motel with large rooms, thin pool towels and good hot water.
The complimentary continental breakfast was suprisingly good and had a nice selection, including almond butter, yogurt and kashi. Our kids LOVED the pool & hot tub. The planting around the pool is very lush and soothing. We had mixed internet service, with the wifi popping in and out.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank greensb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

385 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    153
    71
    20
    20
See reviews for
123
134
33
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Thompson, OH
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2009

My family stayed in a suite at the Lamplighter Inn of Santa Fe. The room was spotless, and pleasantly decorated.

Don't let the fact that this Inn is part of a major chain deter you from staying here. It is not a cookie cutter type of place by any stretch of the imagination.

What we were really impressed with were the grounds. They are beautifully landscaped, and impecably maintained. Even the indoor pool atrium and breakfast room had beautiful plantings.

In the morning, my family opted to take our breakfast outdoors to the quaint and quiet courtyard.

It is obvious that the staff of this hotel take great pride in the property. I feel that for a family on a budget, this is one of the nicest hotels we have stayed at. I would (and have) recommend it to anyone planning a visit to Santa Fe.

  • Liked — Beautiful Landscaping and Grounds
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank R0adTripper55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shangrila
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2008

For a motel this is a nice place. The place is not new and room is relatively small, but is quite clean and has good room service. Fresh towels and toiletries left every day. Continental breakfast is decent. Shower is acceptable. The experience was pleasant enough to stay for 3 days. If you do not mind staying away from downtown in a non-picturesque area, this is a good value.

  • Liked — good value and clean, internet access in room
  • Disliked — room is exposed to the outdoors, so I did see a couple ants towards the end of the stay.
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank tpmailstuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paris france
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2008

This hotel is great if you're on a budget. The rooms were clean. The complimentary breakfast was suprisingly good and had a nice selection. The hot tub was great. The location is fabulous, close to historic Sante Fe and to the highways for day trips to the pueblos and Taos. Lots of great inexpensive restaurants nearby. You have to try lunch at Tecolocate. Its amazing. Btw, I live in NYC not Paris.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank blueprl22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2008

Positives: Clean, pleasant room, good continental breakfast, nice swimming pool

Negatives: Although wireless internet access is advertised, it did not work during my three-day stay and someone who had been there a week or more said it had never worked. Fortunately, there is reliable wireless at the pdbean coffee house about 100 feet across the parking lot from the motel office (2411 Cerrillos Rd.)

Also, the ceilings are very thin, so upstairs noise comes through loud and clear to the first floor.

  • Stayed August 2008
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank coloradotraveler18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lamplighter2405, Manager at Americas Best Value Lamplighter Inn of Santa Fe, responded to this review, December 18, 2008
We apologize for any downtime experienced with our wireless internet. Our service has been upgraded, and has worked flawlessly for the past 3 1/2 months. We expect it to continue to work without interruption and want our guests to have a great experience here at the Lamplighter Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level 6 Contributor
72 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2008

This was our second visit to Santa Fe and our second stay here. Very good location, short drive to the old town and to the opera. A very good and healthful breakfast served here, and although the motel is far from fancy, the services are excellent and the price can not be beat.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank UrbanNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Provo, Utah
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2008

I've stayed here three times with young children. The pool is a wonderful indoor atrium and free breakfast. The rooms are motor inn style but large. We love it.

  • Liked — the pool, value, room size.
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank tradeshowtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
2.5 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Santa Fe
0.8 mi away
Quality Inn Santa Fe
Quality Inn Santa Fe
#47 of 60 in Santa Fe
324 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Santa Fe Suites
The Santa Fe Suites
#48 of 60 in Santa Fe
476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
El Rey Court
El Rey Court
#23 of 60 in Santa Fe
767 reviews
2.0 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
#14 of 60 in Santa Fe
511 reviews
0.4 mi away
Silver Saddle Motel
Silver Saddle Motel
#6 of 60 in Santa Fe
769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Lamplighter Inn of Santa Fe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Lamplighter Inn of Santa Fe

Property: Americas Best Value Lamplighter Inn of Santa Fe
Address: 2405 Cerrillos Rd, Santa Fe, NM 87505-3261
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Santa Fe
#24 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Lamplighter Inn of Santa Fe 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Americas Best Value Lamplighter Inn of Santa Fe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Lamplighter Inn Of Santa Fe Hotel Santa Fe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing