We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Americas Best Value Lamplighter Inn of Santa Fe

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Americas Best Value Lamplighter Inn of Santa Fe
Ranked #35 of 61 Hotels in Santa Fe
Tolar, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

This is an older hotel but don't be fooled. It was clean and quiet. The rooms are very large and the beds very comfortable. Great location and price. This is the place to stay after a day of exploring the Santa Fe area; will stay again next time we are in Santa Fe.

Room Tip: Ask for the inside courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chip F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    136
    57
    17
    19
See reviews for
107
115
26
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
147 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

This is an older motel, but which is well maintained and managed. The room was clean, spacious and contained a well prepared kitchen area, suitable for preparing light meals.

The aircon struggled to maintain a cool temperature and was rather noisy, but did not prevent me sleeping in the quite comfortable bed. The TV was a, by now standard, flat screen LG or Samsung as seems to be the case...

The best thing about this motel is the location, great for getting downtown or escaping to visit places outside the city. Conveniently there are gas stations and supermarkets/stores on the main road. This is a great base for a few days.

The breakfast was standard, ok, nothing special, but edible.

Staff were polite and helpful answering questions and saying good morning.

Room Tip: I stayed in the annex block over the road behind the Indian restaurant which was quiet and had plent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LNT66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Big Spring, Texas
Level Contributor
27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

Good location, clean room, friendly staff, great pool and hot tub, good location, and oh, so affordable. This was a good choice for Santa Fe. After a day of exploring Santa Fe, it was good to see so many good restaurants so close at hand that evening--within walking distance.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank backroadstravelerme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rolla, Missouri
Level Contributor
224 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

For a one night stay it is okay. Rooms outdated, but clean. Pool huge. Breakfast horrible. The breakfast room was hot. The biscuits cold. The gravy super watery. Otherwise, okay. Staff slow, but friendly.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Katie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brownsville, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Not a new or deluxe accommodation by any means, but the price reflects that. But you will not be disappointed. I was very pleasantly surprised by the attention to detail and cleanliness in the guest rooms and bathrooms, the sparkling indoor pool, and the well-appointed and supplied breakfast area. Also, despite there being several children in adjoining rooms, my room was very quiet, owing, I suppose, to the older building construction. Guess they don't build them like that anymore. The location is just a short drive to Santa Fe's historic Plaza, and for souvenir hunters, the infamous Jackalope is just a stone's throw away. It was darn near perfect for this bargain traveller.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Mary N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
49 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

For this money in this city at this time of year, feeling like I got what I paid for is a victory. Though my room would have benefited from an update, it was clean and functional. The staff was attentive. Breakfast was no great shakes but was free and in a large, clean space. If I'm looking for a place to crash on short notice while on a road trip, I'd stay here again.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Azguy602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shingle Springs, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

I stay at the Lamplighter Inn in Santa Fe two to three times per month for work. The reason I keep coming back is the cleanliness of the hotel. The decor and rooms are dated, but everything works and the hotel is very clean. The owners are always very friendly and helpful. They always work with me to fit me in with my sometimes short term booking behavior.
In short, I really like this hotel and the people, it's one of the best values out there.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
2.5 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Santa Fe
1.9 mi away
The Santa Fe Suites
The Santa Fe Suites
#48 of 61 in Santa Fe
3.5 of 5 stars 422 reviews
2.8 mi away
Santa Fe Comfort Inn
Santa Fe Comfort Inn
#25 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 stars 254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn of Santa Fe
1.4 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#15 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 stars 651 reviews
2.0 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
#14 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 stars 417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Lamplighter Inn of Santa Fe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Lamplighter Inn of Santa Fe

Property: Americas Best Value Lamplighter Inn of Santa Fe
Address: 2405 Cerrillos Road, Santa Fe, NM 87505
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Santa Fe
#24 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Lamplighter Inn of Santa Fe 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Hotwire, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Priceline, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Americas Best Value Lamplighter Inn of Santa Fe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Lamplighter Inn Of Santa Fe Hotel Santa Fe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing