We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel on Cerrillos”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Americas Best Value Lamplighter Inn of Santa Fe
Ranked #35 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Denver
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great Hotel on Cerrillos”
Reviewed July 29, 2008

This is an older hotel which my wife and I really liked when we stayed the end of July 2008. While the buildings are dated, this property is very well maintained. We found our double room with two queen beds to be very clean and well taken care of. There were two extra blankets in the room, a coffee-maker, extra soap if we needed it. There was a small refrigerator in our room, a hair dryer and an iron and ironing board. The hotel also has wireless Internet service which we easily accessed from our room. They also have a computer for guests to use in the recreation room.The hotel is on Cerrillos Road in Santa Fe which is a busy main drive. Our room was very quiet. The hotel does have an older air conditioning system where each room has an air conditioning unit built into the wall. The air conditioning makes noise, as any AC unit would, but it really did not disturb us and was excellent at cooling the room. This hotel has a pleasant breakfast room with ample tables and chairs and more seating than I have seen in most hotel breakfast areas. Their breakfast is quite good, including several types of small danish, english muffins, cereal options, bagels and even almond butter. Of course there is plenty of coffee and juice too. They have maps on the wall of the breakfast room, a world map, a state map, and a map of the United States. The hotel has at least one laundry room that we saw, with a couple washers and dryers and it was reasonably priced at $.75 per load. The grounds of the hotel are very well taken care of with lots of plants and flowers. One wall of the indoor swimming pool is nearly all lined with lovely green plants There is a coffee shop on an adjacent property. This hotel is a great home base to use to explore the Santa Fe area. We were a little unsure about staying here at first, because the buildings are somewhat older, but we were happy we decided to stay and very much look forward to staying here again. It is a very pleasant hotel.

Stayed July 2008
Helpful?
3 Thank R2394
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

385 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    153
    71
    20
    20
See reviews for
123
134
33
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Socorro, NM
Level 6 Contributor
80 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2008

My husband and I stayed at this property for one evening, July 5, 2008. The hotel has a small xeriscaped area with lots of flowers. The pool is most likely the highlight of the hotel amenitites. The room was very clean, with newer furnishings, but there was a rubber stamp feel to the decorations. They do have a lot of cable channels available.

Geographically, the hotel is located across from a grocery store and near several restaurants. It is very far off the main plaza area for galleries. As a New Mexico resident, if you are looking to experience "Santa Fe" style, this is not the hotel to choose. It is a good choice though for it's star rating for a less expensive alternative in this expensive city for families, retirees or those passing through.

  • Liked — The flowers were very welcoming, lots of tourist information.
  • Disliked — Rooms were re-modeled, but still felt old/worn.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank queencamy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2008

A nice motel, older, but clean large rooms. A excellent staff, a great pool, and a good breakfast. I would stay again.

  • Liked — Great Value
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank MarkOSU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2008

This hotel was the perfect pit stop on our drive from Texas to Colorado and an affordable and comfortable place to be even if we'd planned to stay in Santa Fe.
We stayed in the building across the street and had the perfect size room for two parents and two teenagers. It was a large room with two beds, a sofa sleeper and kitchenette stocked with dishes. There was even a little bench right outside our door so that my husband and I could escape from the kids but be within eyesight of the room. The rate was very affordable, the front desk was friendly, the room was quiet and the beds were reasonably comfortable. We particularly enjoyed the coffee shop within walking distance - even though there was coffee available at the breakfast and in the room, it was a nice bonus.
It's not glamorous - but it's clean and comfortable and a great bargain!

  • Liked — Great value!
  • Disliked — No view - but who cared!
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank TXTravelingFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2008

I picked this motel after reading other people's reviews... very clean, nice and a comfortable room at a great price. I totally agree and would go there again. I was not looking for a resort but just a very nice motel for a short period of time. The excellent continental breakfast was a perk. We didn't have to leave the premises looking for a good breakfast... it was included in the rate. PERFECT!!!

  • Liked — very nicely kept older motel, very clean, very good desk personnel, excellent continental breakfast
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank NewJerseyTravelor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fillmore, NY
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2008

Found it in our traveler's guide en-route. Our phone call, always my first indicator of a hotel, was welcomed by an enthusiastic Desk Clerk. He won us over with his pride and passion for the property. During this 15-day cross country road trip, we've stayed at half a dozen motels. This one takes the prize.

The rooms are a bit older, and it's not a "shiney new" property, but the room was superbly clean. The pool was really nice, and they put pool towels in your room so you don't have to visit the desk to get them.

The rec room is well maintained, with exercise equipment and fun stuff. Everything had been attended to by their maintenance people - they certainly take their jobs seriously.

The laundry room was clean and in good order - another kudo to their maintenance team (after some previous laundry room horror stories).

Now, if you want a Seminar on presentation and quality, just take in this breakfast. It is held in the "breakfast room", which was clean and bright, the food represented a wonderful cross-section of the tried-and-true, local favorites, and healthy choices. Very fresh. Very flavorful. The layout and setup made us feel that somebody truly cared about our breakfast.

I'd recommend this hotel to anyone! Eagerly!! Convenient to everything local, and they even recommended a local restaurant (Maria's) that was out of this world.

Great job Lamplighter Santa Fe Team!!

  • Liked — Breakfast
  • Disliked — Having to leave
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank Songseeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bremerton, WA
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2007

My wife and I really loved this place and it's super convenient to everything in Santa Fe. We stayed in the rooms across the street from the main building. We had a kitchenette with stove/oven, good-sized refrigerator and microwave. Our bed was very comfortable and the room was really spacious. I couldn't believe how quiet the room was...especially when you consider that there were kids in the rooms next door and downstairs. In three days, we never heard a thing! The desk staff was extremely helpful and even accessed and printed out our flight boarding passes from the internet on the morning we left. The breakfast was so much better and healthier than the ones we had at the Airport Ramada Inn in Albuquerque earlier in the week. They offered fresh grain kashi cereal, unsweetened oatmeal, outstanding coffee, coissants, bagels and toast; fresh fruit, yogurt, cottage cheese and more. We'd go back again and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Lim48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
2.5 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Santa Fe
0.8 mi away
Quality Inn Santa Fe
Quality Inn Santa Fe
#46 of 60 in Santa Fe
324 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Santa Fe Suites
The Santa Fe Suites
#48 of 60 in Santa Fe
476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
El Rey Court
El Rey Court
#23 of 60 in Santa Fe
767 reviews
2.0 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
#14 of 60 in Santa Fe
511 reviews
0.4 mi away
Silver Saddle Motel
Silver Saddle Motel
#7 of 60 in Santa Fe
769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Lamplighter Inn of Santa Fe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Lamplighter Inn of Santa Fe

Property: Americas Best Value Lamplighter Inn of Santa Fe
Address: 2405 Cerrillos Rd, Santa Fe, NM 87505-3261
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Santa Fe
#24 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Lamplighter Inn of Santa Fe 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Americas Best Value Lamplighter Inn of Santa Fe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Lamplighter Inn Of Santa Fe Hotel Santa Fe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing