We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Diamond Resorts' lump of coal”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Villas de Santa Fe

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Villas de Santa Fe
Ranked #19 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
Newbury, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Diamond Resorts' lump of coal”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2014

Don't expect a resort; except for the well-appointed reception building, the property is more like a Holiday Inn Express. If you're staying in building one, you'll leave the main building, walk across the parking lot and into a nondescript doorway (past the trash can) to the elevator, then upstairs into the motel-like hallway. The one-bedroom unit is comfortable enough, but there is no outside space, not even a little patio - and even if there were, it would overlook the parking lot ... as the bedroom does. Be sure to pull the curtains entirely shut to keep out the parking-lot lights, but set your alarm clock because you've blocked out the morning sunshine, as well.

During our one-week stay, the WiFi was operational intermittently at best, and the outdoor hot tub expired on day 3. We were informed as we checked out that the other hot tub was working, but, um, no one had informed us of its existence .Neither had anyone informed us not to expect housekeeping. At all. (Something about the timeshare exchange -- housekeeping only for a 9-day stay. Yes, that exchange paperwork may specify midweek, but those are the rules, so no need for an apology.) It seems our check-in clerk had completely neglected to provide any information about the place other than a local map.

And we traded a 5-star 2-bedroom timeshare in Kauai for this? At least it's a good location, walking distance from the Plaza. And Santa Fe? We'd return in a heartbeat. What a fabulous destination.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Robin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Villas de Santa Fe, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
We appreciate you taking the time to post your feedback regarding your recent stay here and terribly regret that so many aspects of it, including your assigned accommodations, were disappointing to you. Villas De Santa Fe offers a variety of rooms to satisfy the diverse needs of our guests. We assure you that we list the general room amenities of each room type on our website, so that guests can make an informed decision. We apologize that you found the specific room type, to be unsatisfactory and that you experienced intermittent internet connectivity during your stay. This will be addressed with our third party provider respectively. We are most surprised to read your comments about our team’s service. Our team members strive to be completely knowledgeable in all resort areas so they may directly assist our guests with any questions. If you did not find them to be willing to offer helpful information, we apologize, if this too, had a negative impact on your stay with us. Hopefully, you will reconsider joining us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

478 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    230
    181
    42
    17
    8
See reviews for
102
242
22
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pueblo, Colorado
Level Contributor
136 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2014

This supplements my review posted April 8, 2013. We are staying here right now, and WHOOPEE, they've added complimentary wifi in the rooms. Previously, you had to go to the lobby and sometimes have to wait for the two complementary computers.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank judgejohnny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Villas de Santa Fe, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Thank you for sharing your feedback with us! We are glad that you are happy with the changes we have implemented in regard to Wi-Fi. Your feedback is greatly appreciated. We hope you have a wonderful time here, and look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2014 via mobile

Since you are never really sure what you are getting with a groupon, I was delighted to see that we got a fantastic deal. The layout is similar to what you would find at a residence inn. The sleeper sofa is very comfortable, which is not always the case. The one-bedroom suite was perfect for my family of five. Having a kitchenette even saves us money eating out and allows us to eat what we like. The BBQ by the hot tub was very handy. The kids enjoyed the heated pool.
I would definitely consider coming here again!

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Tanya73Boulder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2014

This Diamond Resort property appears to be very well-maintained. It was a nice surprise as it was more attractive in person than it was in the advertising info online. We were there in March, so off season and very reasonable. We found it to be easy access from hwy. 285 and centrally located, so within walking distance to breakfast, Georgia O'Keefe Museum, Plaza, etc. Since it was March and chilly in the evenings, it was nice to have the fireplace. Kitchen was well-appointed, esp. for a small space. We were there for three nights and the only small annoyance was noise from the plumbing in rooms above us.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Carole L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Villas de Santa Fe, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience here at Villas de Santa Fe. We were very pleased to read that our accommodations, amenities, and location all exceeded your expectations. In addition to being very close to nearby attractions (which you stated is within walking distance), we also offer a complimentary transportation service to and from the resort to select nearby areas. You can contact our front desk directly for additional information. Your recommendation is greatly appreciated. We look forward to seeing you both again the next time your travels take to you back to Santa Fe!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colorado
Level Contributor
223 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2014

This is a time share community, nothing wrong with that. The units are on the order of Embassy Suites, two rooms. The construction is your normal wood and dry wall, in other words on the cheap side, get the top floor so you don't hear folks walking above, the rooms have a kitchenette, separate bed room and living room. It is clean. Most have an electric fireplace. You get charged a resort fee for what I don't know, parking I convenient, no amenities like shampoo or soap, water on top floor never gets hot, two flat screen tvs with ok cable tv, I had a good experience but nothing stands out for a time share rental that is normally a lot more luxurious and attended to. There is no night staff so when you have a problem good luck.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stanley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
65 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2014

My husband and I stayed for a few days at our timeshare here on our first visit to Santa Fe. Loved the resort. We loved our room. Really clean and well decorated. We had the one bedroom unit on the 3rd floor. For such a small kitchen it had everything we needed. Especially appreciated the quality of the cookware and the abundance of it for the two of us. Liked having a tv in the bedroom also. Super nice shower. Only complaint was that it was a bit cold in the shower area. Would recommend putting in one of those heat lamps. But the bathroom was nicely appointed. Great bed and bedding (love all the white linens) and nice towels in the bathroom. Parking was tight on the weekend but we did walk a couple of times into the downtown area so that was nice. And the historic area was about a 15 minute walk from the condo itself so that was super convenient. Highly recommend this as a place to stay. We were only there a few days and didn't use any of the facilities but the pool and hot tub looked really nice from our little balcony. Hope to go again someday.

Room Tip: Had elevators to the third floor so that was nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Villas de Santa Fe, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Thank you for sharing you and your husband’s experience here at Villas de Santa Fe. We were very excited to read that our accommodations, amenities, and location all exceeded your expectations. In addition to being very close to the downtown area (which you stated is within walking distance), we also offer a complimentary transportation service to and from the resort to select nearby areas. You can contact our front desk directly for additional information. Your recommendation is greatly appreciated. We look forward to seeing you both again the next time your travels take to you back to Santa Fe!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2014

The best thing about Villas de Santa Fe is that it is centrally located to many of the must see locations. The rooms are reasonably-priced, the staff is friendly, and the pools/hot tubs are nice. There is nothing fancy about this "resort" (fee charged) and parking can be a nightmare, which tends to be an issue everywhere in Santa Fe. Stick to this side of town though, where you can enjoy the quiet.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cehicks23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
Downtown
Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe
Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe
#25 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 869 reviews
Santa Fe Sage Inn
#29 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,255 reviews
Old Santa Fe Inn
#7 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inn At Santa Fe
#32 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 590 reviews
Downtown
Inn of the Governors
Inn of the Governors
#11 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,522 reviews
Downtown
El Dorado Hotel & Spa
El Dorado Hotel & Spa
#17 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villas de Santa Fe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villas de Santa Fe

Property: Villas de Santa Fe
Address: 400 Griffin Street, Santa Fe, NM 87501-1306
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Santa Fe
#21 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Villas de Santa Fe 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, HotelsforEveryone, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Villas de Santa Fe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villas De Santa Fe Hotel Santa Fe
Hotel De Santa Fe
Resort De Santa Fe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing