We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Nice Place and Great Location - Close to the PLAZA” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villas de Santa Fe

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Villas de Santa Fe
Ranked #26 of 61 Hotels in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice Place and Great Location - Close to the PLAZA”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

I've stayed here a number of times. The suites here are very nice - big enough for a family, and certainly bigger than your average hotel room. Rooms are comfortable with a touch of Southwestern Style. I was never charged the mysterious resort fee. Kitchens are adequate and functional and fully stocked with cookware. The location is great, very close to the Plaza (please don't call it the Square; this is New Mexico, not New England). For the price, it's one of the best places in Santa Fe.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JohnL-ABQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Villas de Santa Fe, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
We are thrilled to hear of your happiness with your recent stay. Our resort is happy to provide guests with spacious accommodations and in-room amenities to create a simple and home-like atmosphere. We are happy you enjoyed our choice in interior design to provide guests with the New Mexico feel. Your feedback is greatly appreciated and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    201
    165
    37
    17
    8
See reviews for
90
211
20
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

Upon leaving we were charged a $34 resort fee. This was not mentioned anywhere when we booked out reservation. That being our last interaction with the property left a very bad taste in my mouth. I wouldn't stay somewhere that isn't upfront about all costs. Otherwise, we would have been overall quite happy with the experience.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank LB630
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
299 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 245 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

This was our 2nd visit to VdSF - room 2314

Again we had a 1 bed unit - the living/dining/kitchen area was quite small - however, for 2 people it's adequate and with only a short walk to the Square it is very well located too.

The only disappointment was the Internet connection which was extremely intermittent and front desk were not very helpful, as usual! If you sat in reception it worked fine - however, to ask your guest to call their Internet provider to sort the issue was a little random! We could not understand why we had to call their supplier to sort out their lack of connection in their rooms!

On that note, the stay was good if you don't need to speak to reception or require internet!

I fear that this Diamond Resort did not live up to their mantra: ​What best represents our commitment and passion is something you’ll discover from your very first experience with Diamond: We Love to Say Yes™. Even if we’re not always able to every time, we’ll always go the extra mile to make your vacation simply perfect. Best of all, you’ll always see the smile it puts on our faces when we have the opportunity to help. That’s because We Love to Say Yes™.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lindsay-and-Neil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Round Rock, Texas
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

Very nice suite within walking distance of the Santa Fe Square, in nice weather that is. The room was clean and nicely appointed. The bedroom and living area had a door dividing the rooms which could be closed, in our case as I watched a movie as my wife slept. Nice TV's in both rooms with one DVD player, also the DVD player was wired so I could move it to the bedroom TV on our last night. My only objection was that this unit had all but one overstuffed cheap pillows which is a personal objection of course. Remember this is a timeshare ownership property so some things will be unique to each suite. I will note that the wireless access was free for my stay which I noted was an issue in earlier reviews. The connection was very good and it tells me that the property cares about guest concerns. The front desk was very helpful with booking our stay through Living Social and even helped us with directions once we arrived in Santa Fe since our rental car GPS wasn't working. I have stayed at several Diamond Resort properties and have always been pleased.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
81 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

Room was clean, well stocked in kitchen, bed was very comfy. Being a timeshare there was no day to day service,but if we needed somethng, we had no problem in getting it. The location was very accesible.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JAKRM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Villas de Santa Fe, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Thank you, we are glad you had a pleasant stay. We hope you will do not hesitate to pay us another visit in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Mexico
Level Contributor
356 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

Reserved through Booking.com. After two days of no servicing of the unit, called the front desk and was advised it operates as a timeshare and NOT/NOT a hotel; maid/linen/towel changes would only be provided AFTER 4 days (the length of our stay). Further, “non-timeshare” reservations did not/not include a coffee carafe for the coffee maker (making the obtuse instructions provided useless). Telephones didn’t work at all even after reporting it to the front desk the second day; response: “we’ll send someone right away.” Unannounced construction/repairs on the unit above us on the Martin Luther King holiday precluded a planned afternoon nap; no point in calling even if the phones worked. Found this ironic as on turning on the TV, we got a pitch from Diamond Resorts International Chairman and CEO Stephen J. Cloobeck about resolving customer complaints/concerns; topping it off, our last night we watched an “Undercover Boss” episode featuring Cloobeck resolving exactly the kinds of problems we faced. That said, scored it "average" because the unit itself was comfortable, reasonably sized, and close to city center activities, museums, shops, and restaurants. Wifi was free, a change from previous posts.

Room Tip: Didn't see an elevator, so if you've got heavy luggage ask for ground floor vice 2nd or 3rd.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BrianTravelholic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Villas de Santa Fe, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Thank you for submitting your review of your recent stay at our resort. If you were unaware of our cleaning schedule or the concrete work that would be taking place during your visit prior to check in, we apologize if this had a negative impact on your stay. As we are primarily a Vacation Ownership property, housekeeping services are provided on the fourth day for longer stays of 5 nights or more. We can also assure you that we do advise our guests of any construction that will be taking place during their stays, on our website or when you are booking. We also try to notify our exchange and rental partners of any planned construction, so that they can advise their customers ahead of time. While there will not be any work done on weekend days the observed Martin Luther King Day holiday was on a Monday and work was resumed. We of course apologize for any inconveniences you may have experienced and we hope this has not marred your stay with us and we will see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

Units were clean and well stocked in case you wanted to use the Kitchens. Only the middle floors are loud. So be sure to get a top floor away from the elevator. Also the WI FI is not free. In this day and time you would think that it should be.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank HGATES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Villas de Santa Fe, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments.
We are glad you found the apartment well stocked and to be in a good location.
We are sorry to read you are disappointed in the WIFI charge, we are currently in discussion to change this in the future.
We hope you visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
Downtown
Eldorado Hotel & Spa
Eldorado Hotel & Spa
#17 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.0 of 5 stars 1,159 reviews
Santa Fe Sage Inn
#27 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.0 of 5 stars 1,154 reviews
Old Santa Fe Inn
#4 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 stars 1,357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inn At Santa Fe
#29 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.0 of 5 stars 544 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe
Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe
#23 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.0 of 5 stars 801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villas de Santa Fe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villas de Santa Fe

Property: Villas de Santa Fe
Address: 400 Griffin St, Santa Fe, NM 87501-1306
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Santa Fe
#22 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Villas de Santa Fe 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Otel, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Villas de Santa Fe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villas De Santa Fe Hotel Santa Fe
Hotel De Santa Fe
Resort De Santa Fe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing