We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Great location and fully equipped kitchen - Totally worth the price” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villas de Santa Fe

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Villas de Santa Fe
Ranked #26 of 61 Hotels in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
Darien, Connecticut
Level Contributor
160 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Great location and fully equipped kitchen - Totally worth the price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We stayed here on a recent trip through New Mexico, and it was perfect for us (2 adults and one 'tween). Our room / suite had one large bedroom with a king-size bed and full bath plus a separate room with a queen size pull-out couch. There was a door between the 2 rooms ensuring full privacy. The room with the couch also had a kitchen area, and was fully stocked with pots, pans, cups, silverware, even a food processor. Being able to prepare your own meals is a great way to save some money while traveling. Remember, this isn't a hotel so maid service is not complimentary - it's more like renting a friend's apartment for a few days.

The location was great for us, we wanted to be within walking distance of the Old Town plaza and this is only 5-10 minutes away. We spent the whole day walking around town, and it was very convenient to be able to get back to the room quickly and on foot if we needed a mid-day siesta.

We were on the third floor and room had a small balcony (a nice option), the other floors don't have them so it's worth asking when checking in if you want one.

Overall a pleasant stay, we'll definitely consider Villas de Santa Fe on our next trip.

Room Tip: As for the third floor - quieter plus an option to have a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Chaz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Villas de Santa Fe, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Thank you for sharing your review in regard to you and your family’s recent stay here at Villas de Santa Fe. We were pleased to read that our accommodations, amenities, and location met, if not exceeded your expectations. As we are primarily a vacation ownership resort, we do provide weekly housekeeping services. Daily housekeeping can be reserved through the front desk for a small fee. If you come back here again, we hope you are able to take advantage of our shuttle service, which many of our guests take advantage of for places that are not within walking distance to the resort. Your recommendation is greatly appreciated. We hope to see you and your family again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

416 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    164
    35
    17
    8
See reviews for
84
209
20
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

I was on a business trip in Santa Fe and booked a 1-bedroom suite here. The location was what I was most interested in and the amenities seemed fine. I was then shocked to discover that 1) I was expected to make my own bed every day (unless I wanted to pay extra for maid service), 2) it was nearly impossible to find a parking space every evening, as the spaces are so tight and everybody seems to be driving an SUV and 3) I was told that check-out time was 10 AM, which is a first for me. When I mentioned that I had a red-eye flight from Albuquerque that evening, the response was "sorry, no late check-out unless you are a diamond-something member". I found this a tad stiff, since i was paying $200/night. But now I know better and I will never stay there again. This place is really a rip-off and they have no sense of hospitality.

Room Tip: Try some place else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Villas de Santa Fe, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
It is with deep regret to read that your stay here at Villas de Santa Fe Resort did not meet your expectations. We always strive to deliver exceptional hospitality, and offer quality accommodations at an affordable cost to each guest that stays with us, and we were very concerned after reading your review in that we did not meet these expectations. As we are primarily a vacation ownership resort, housekeeping services are provided on a weekly basis. Daily housekeeping services can be requested through the front desk for a nominal fee. The 10 am check out policy is standard for all Diamond Resorts-managed properties. Requests for a later check out (1 hour after) can be requested through the front desk. If this is available (preference is given to Diamond Resorts Loyalty members), then you will be notified when the request is made. Unfortunately, there may be times when we are at or close to full capacity when we regrettably cannot fulfill this request. This information is provided both on our website, as well as our 3rd party rental partners’ websites. Nonetheless, we are truly sorry you were not made aware of these policies before booking your reservation. The type of response provided to you by our front desk staff is not typical for our resort. This will be handled with the front desk staff member in question internally. If you are willing to give us a second chance, we are extremely confident that your next stay will be much more enjoyable and even exceed your expectations. We sincerely appreciate your business with us and wish you the best on all your future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Stayed here for first time in July 2013. Good location, near shopping area with grocery stores,gas station and small mall. Many restaurants in walking distance. Not that close to plaza, but convenient location off main streets but still remains quiet. Kitchen a big plus. Nice outdoor area for grilling, jacuzzi. Very family friendly. Lobby has laundry area for use also.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MrsGTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

This is a combination time share and hotel ideally located a few blocks from the Plaza, Santa Fe's "center." It is also less than a 10-minute drive from the Santa Fe Opera, probably the closest downtown hotel to the Opera. Our room was a one-bedroom suite on the second of three floors. Furnishings were beginning to show a bit of wear but acceptable. Kitchen was complete except for a full-size cooktop (only two smooth-top burners) and oven but the microwave had the capability to bake or roast. "Complete" included dishes, flatware, six each of tall glasses, short glasses, and plastic glasses, serving dishes, dishwasher powder, etc. Small appliances, including a toaster and a blender, were Cuisinart and worked well. Sofa bed in the living room had a good quality foam mattress on which one could get a good night's sleep without risk to knees and shins from a protruding metal frame and springs. Lobby offered coffee, tea, and fruit juice 24 hours a day as well as a small library and comfortable seating. The hotel provides a shuttle to the downtown area, a welcome service since parking is at a premium and afternoon temperatures in summer can make walking a challenge. A few problems: ice machines are not located on every floor; noise from adjoining units can be heard through the thin walls and floors; housekeeping is once per week with a seven-day stay though additional service can be arranged. There is a shopping mall with two supermarkets and a US Post Office about two blocks from the hotel. There are many fine restaurants in Santa Fe. Three that pleased us were Santacafe (right downtown serving well thought out dishes in a lovely courtyard, Cafe Fina (a few miles out of town, cafeteria style but well prepared, desserts prepared in-house are excellent and large enough to share), and Zia Cafe (tasty food including salade niçoise with tuna cooked to specification, try the courtyard in fine weather).

Room Tip: Request an end unit on the top floor to minimize noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank MiltonKimura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Villas de Santa Fe, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thank you for sharing your thoughts about your recent stay here at The Villas de Santa Fe. We were very satisfied to read that our accommodations, amenities, location, and services offered met, if not exceeded your expectations. The tips you provided for our followers here will be very helpful for their future planning. Our guests comfort when it comes to noise levels is very important to us. If you are experience noise-related issues from an adjoining/adjacent unit, we recommend bringing this to the attention of our front desk staff. They will do everything they can to ensure the issue(s) are resolved in a timely basis. As we are primarily a Vacation Ownership property, housekeeping services are provided on a weekly basis. This information, along with additional services and amenities, is relayed to our 3rd party rental partners, so that they can advise their customers. You are indeed correct in stating that additional (re: daily) housekeeping services can be provided (for a nominal fee). This can be scheduled by contacting our housekeeping office directly. Your recommendation is greatly appreciated. We hope you will think of us again the next time your travels take you to the Santa Fe area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

This was a good hotel for the money and location. More 3.5 than 4. The decor in the suite is not heavily Southwestern themed, but more like a very decent chain. Our suite in building B seemed to have been recently remodeled; all the appliances were new, the beds, mattresses, furniture etc. were solid and clean, the linens were nice, two nice flat screen t.v.s. the kitchen is very well stocked. The room was reasonably quiet, and I felt safe on the floor, in the building and parking lot at night. The staff is friendly, with front desk people efficient and responsive for the most part. If you want something specific, you should call ahead and ask for it. I got some of what I asked for, but not all. It was a compromise I could live with because other aspects were quite good. I especially liked the free shuttle service to and from the plaza.and Canyon Road. No wait, no schedule; all you had to do was ask and they drove you in a new suv. (Very helpful, because parking on the Plaza is difficult and expensive.) The lobby is very attractive, with free computers, a pool table, free juice and coffee. The location is close to the plaza and museums, the parking is free and easy, most of the place is very clean and well maintained. There was no outside noise at night despite being near a main road. The pool is a bit drab and the hottub next to the pool was not really clean. There was an occasional wiff of septic system in the pool area. There is a second, large hot tub in building 2 which more attractve and much cleaner. I like the combination of pool and hot tub though. As others have mentioned there is maid service once during a week stay, but it is very easy to get extra soap, towels, trash picked up, etc. Despite what management says in response to critical reviews, when I asked for an hour later checkout I was told their policy is no/never, but you can leave your bags and go downtown till you are ready to leave. Again, not perfect, but okay. We had a lot of trouble getting cell service inside the room and had to go outside to make calls. We were able to pick up free wifi though. We used the hotel as a base for exploring Santa Fe and making day trips to the beautiful countryside. When we got back at the end of the day it was good to have a safe, comfortable place to recharge. Overall, I enjoyed my experience here, felt it was a good value, and would stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank bostonbonnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Villas de Santa Fe, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
We are pleased to read that our location proved convenient to you and that you could use our hotel as a base from which to explore all that the area has to offer. We are happy that you found your accommodation comfortable and well maintained and we hope to have another opportunity to welcome you back in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lubbock, Texas
Level Contributor
96 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

We booked a room through Hotels.com for what was a very reasonable rate for Santa Fe in the summer. The property is within walking distance to the plaza and many shops and restaurants. The two-room suite had a well equipped kitchennette, two TV, and was overall very, very nice and clean. The beds were comfortable, and the curtains were extremely effective in blocking out the sun, a bonus for not-so-early risers. The downside is that these well-priced rooms were right in front of the parking lot-not much of a view, but, contrary to what I initially feared, there wasn't noise. The property has a (poorly equipped) gym, a pool and a hot tub that we didn't use.
The main problem I had with this hotel was the creative way to add on to your bill. Wireless wasn't included, it was available for a fee. That's OK, I guess. What is absolutely not OK is to charge a full daily fee for each device that's connected. My husband and I have a tablet each, and could not use the same connection.
The other preposterous charges are for room cleanup for those staying less than a week, and for replenishing the coffee for the coffee machine. Yes, there is free coffee in the lobby (together with watered down fruit juice). No, I don't want to walk half a block before I had my morning coffee. Bottomline, had they charged me 10$ more per night and avoided these ridiculous tricks, I'd now be a satisfied customer. As things are, I will stay elsewhere next time.

Room Tip: The cheapest rooms will face the parking lot. If that bothers you, spend a bit more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank gunnercade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico, United States
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Our week started the Saturday before the Spanish Market, but there was still plenty to do in Santa Fe. This resort's best feature is Santa Fe. The work-out area, pools and sauna are fine, but you should visit this resort to be close to the heart of Santa Fe. The Plaza is a quick 7-10 walk, the resort has a shuttle that will take you to Canyon Road or Sambusco Market. There are so many restaurants within walking distance that you could literally try a new restaurant for each meal. The 2-bedroom is large. My wife and I stayed, and we had some family members come up during the week. The kitchen is well appointed and the outdoor grill and patio are very nice and gives you the opportunity to chat with the other guests. Staff is helpful and friendly. We had one night of inclement weather, borrowed some board games, played some pool and stuck close to home. Otherwise, we were out and about.
Two large grocery stores within 2 minutes -- Albertson's and Sprouts. Quick access to attractions to the north , such as Chimayo, high road to Taos, and SF Opera.

Room Tip: There is one 2 bedroom unit with a private patio, it was used as the model while the property was be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank jacatty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
Santa Fe Sage Inn
#27 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.0 of 5 stars 1,130 reviews
Downtown
Eldorado Hotel & Spa
Eldorado Hotel & Spa
#17 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.0 of 5 stars 1,128 reviews
Old Santa Fe Inn
#4 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 stars 1,340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe
Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe
#24 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.0 of 5 stars 778 reviews
Inn At Santa Fe
#30 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.0 of 5 stars 536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villas de Santa Fe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villas de Santa Fe

Property: Villas de Santa Fe
Address: 400 Griffin Street, Santa Fe, NM 87501
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Santa Fe
#22 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Villas de Santa Fe 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz and Otel so you can book your Villas de Santa Fe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villas De Santa Fe Hotel Santa Fe
Hotel De Santa Fe
Resort De Santa Fe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing