We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Inn of the Governors is fit for a President”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Inn of the Governors
Ranked #13 of 61 Hotels in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 10, 2006

Don’t be fooled by the fact that the Inn of The Governors looks like a tarted up Best Western from the outside. It is one of the best places to stay in Santa Fe (and we have stayed at most of them.)

From the outside this hotel looks like a traditional motor lodge with parking at the front door of each room. Yes, it has flowers on all the rails and nice plantings, but on the outside it is what it is.

Inside, the lobby is a cozy, active place where there is Internet access, tea and sherry every afternoon, and a sumptuous breakfast (included in the room rate) every morning. There is a delightful, heated pool just off the lobby with high walls that makes it a very private place.

The staff is friendly and helpful, though our request for a bellman to help us with our luggage was unmet (we got a prompt apology.)

Our room (a deluxe) was large and had a desk, leather chair and matching couch (which rolled out to a queen), a fireplace (which we did not need in early July) and plenty of wonderful authentic southwestern art throughout the room. We had a small balcony in our second storey room which afforded us a view of the distant mountains and the not so distant parking lot. I recommend requesting a second floor room.

The sheets were comfortable and the pillows plentiful (we had 10 in our room!). There is a nice mini-bar, cheap bottled water, and a coffee maker. We had free wireless Internet access from our room, though I understand this may not be true of all the rooms.

I am not sure what all these folks who complained that they couldn’t turn around in their bathroom were talking about. It is not a huge bathroom, but is plenty big enough and is decorated with attractive Mexican tiles. In our room we had a sink in the bathroom and a second sink in the vanity area outside the bathroom. The bath amenities were Gilchrist & Soames and were fully replenished every day during our three-night stay. The hotel provides top quality robes. It also has hangers that are not attached to the rod (a pet peeve.)

One grumpy correspondent complained of noise. We kept our balcony door open every night (and we were there when the Opera was opening and the town was hopping) and had no problems with noise, other than a slightly noisy trash truck one morning. The a/c is rather loud but we used it only to cool our west-facing room down in the late afternoon when we returned from a day out.

The hotel has a fabulous location just south of the Plaza and very much a part of the traditional town center. You can walk everywhere in town from the hotel and the Canyon Road galleries start just a few blocks away.

If you care what your hotel looks like from the outside, go to the nearby Inn at Loretto or the Eldorado, both beautiful multi-storey adobe structures. But if you want a comfortable, top flight hotel experience in a convenient location, try the Inn of the Governors.

  • Stayed: July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
16  Thank Anabasis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,691)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,589 - 1,595 of 1,692 reviews

Reviewed July 9, 2006

Just got back from the Inn of the Governors in Santa Fe. Nice, quiet small hotel. Rooms were small, but very clean. We had the lowest price room with two double beds. I think our rate was around $200 a night, but this was July 4th weekend. Breakfast buffet was awesome with a different hot entree every day, fresh fruit, pastries, eggs, sausage, bacon, etc. and a nice quiet patio to sit on. Fresh squeezed orange juice! The pool is small, but immaculate with few users. The restaurant (same place they serve breakfast) was incredible. Chips/Salsa and Quacamole was $3! Huge margaritas were $5. The Stuffed pepper was $4 or $5! I had the Salmon wrap and it was great for the same price. This was the best surprise of the trip---low priced, high quality food in a great atmosphere, when you are too tired to trapse around town looking for a decent restaurant, just go downstairs. We ate there two out of three nights. The rooms were quiet and the beds sufficient. Not much of a view from our second floor room 241, it would have been nice to have a balcony. One nice thing was the semi secure parking which we really liked--only one entrance and fenced. We walked to all the missions, and the cathedral and the square. It was very easy to get around. We also drove to the Canyon Road for galleries, Georgia O'Keefe Musuem (great), Jackalope for cool junk (glass for garden), Bronze Foundry in Teseque (spelling? just north) and the best was Los Portrillos on Cerrillos (again spelling challenged) an awesome Mexican restaurant (Ranchero theme) that was filled with locals, no tourists. I might regret letting out that secret. My only negative is the price and someone trying to light a fireplace in July in a room on our hall and made a smokey atmosphere--Yuk! They should remove the wood in summer and put in a big candle if someone needs atmosphere!

  • Stayed: July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank BMW1200RT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2006

If you choose to book this hotel based on what others have said here, be aware that you're paying for location only. It is very run down and in need of repair; our room was tiny, even though we were in a deluxe king room. We're not big people, but the bathroom was not even big enough to turn around in.

The worst part was the noise! We were kept awake by the bar-goers and the traffic noise below. Exhaustion finally won out at 3 a.m. We left a day early.

We wish we had stayed a bit out of town rather than right in the middle of the noise.

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank TeacherKaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2006

The Inn of the Governors is a very nice place to stay for a couple of days. Its best feature is its location (just a few blocks from The Plaza, the Saint Francis Church and good restaurants). The breakfast is horrible and maybe that's why it is free. Our room was nicely decorated without overdoing the native decor. It was small but comfortable. We traveled with our two years old daughter and found the place child friendly. She particularly enjoed the warm water of the pool. A visit to the Children's Museum is a very good option for families traveling with todllers and small children.

Stayed: June 2006
4  Thank cosicosi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2006

We stayed three nights in April and had a wonderful experience. The staff from the front desk to the restaurant to housekeeping were professional and friendly. Our daughter wasn't feeling well and they graciously moved us to a larger room for a reduced rate. The location was convenient and Northern New Mexico was fantastic. I highly recommend The Inn of the Governors.

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank RItraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2006

We stayed at Inn of the Governors on our honeymoon last week and it was an ideal spot - an easy stroll off the plaza, cozy, well maintained, with friendly and helpful staff and features of more expensive hotels nearby for more competitive prices. We had a deluxe room with a kiva fireplace that we used in the evenings (hot, hot hot during the day but big temperature drop after sundown), and enjoyed the included breakfast buffet each morning. Parking was also free which is not the case at the other big name hotels (which are also off the plaza).

A few things we wish had been better: warning to those with restricted diets - the kitchen staff is none too helpful when it comes to special requests such as a an egg over easy cooked without butter (use oil instead) or a poached egg. Guest room bathrooms are tiny - don't plan on making any more than 2 people share one..if you can get a second person in there, it will be standing in bathtub!

A few tips for those headed to Santa Fe:

-take a hat and 30 SPF sunscreen

-before you arrive, schedule a cooking class for the first day in town at the Santa Fe School of Cooking, just off the plaza. Take any class that Rocky teaches - he's a native and knows every chef in town. On top of a local history lesson and a tasty lunch or snack, you'll get assistance with restaurant tips and reservations too. Another good reason to book a class on Day 1 in town - Santa Fe is 7,000 feet so drink extra water and take it slow, especially if it's hot outside.

-We ate better meals at the local, casual spots vs. fancy overpriced places: go to Tomasitas for good margaritas and local eats. Randy Travis has a ranch in the area and has a dish named in his honor! We like the Coyote Cafe Cantina on the roof, but skip the tired and overpriced dining room. The Plaza restaurant services all day - stop in for at least one meal here. Blue Corn Cafe has a tasty green chile stew and features local microbrewed beers. We regret never making it to Maria's. We don't regret missing Geronimo's..most expensive place in town and not necessarily worth it. The Compound was worth the spend however. One thing that Santa Fe restaurants seem to have in common is huge portions and lots of meat. If you are not eating for 2 or are a professional athlete in training, consider splitting main courses and order a second appetizer. Eyeball other diner's plates to gauge the over-stuffing quotient.

-Have drinks at the belltower lounge on the roof of La Fonda Hotel - great sunsets and views over the city for some perspective

-Take at least one of the minibus tours around to get the lay of the land and a painless look a the wild array of art on Canyon Road.

-Do your souvenir shopping at the 5 & Dime - excellent prices on most things as compared to other gift shops (and there are at least 5 on every block).

-If you are interested in tin work, pottery, tiles, etc. head straight for Artesanal Imports a few blocks of the plaza. We bought a tin tissue box cover for 1/4 of the price of the one on display at a hotel gift shop a few blocks away, and 1/2 off of a museum shop price. If you are shopping to redecorate or retile a floor, this store has a warehouse location on the outskirts of town.

-Buy chiles and local specialty foods at the Albertston's grocery store on Guadalupe - a 20 minute walk from plaza area, or a short cab ride. The same stuff the gift shops sell at 30 - 50% less. Look for the dried posole, etc in the Mexican food aisle.

13  Thank highlandbride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2006

My wife and I spent four days here last week.The room was beautiful andwell kept,the poool was 90 degrees and the best ever, the breakfasts(included) were full breakfasts and great,the staff really friendly and helpful,and the location was the best.We have been everywhere in Europe,Asia,etc,but here is where we had the absolutely best time.Wre would return tomorrow if it were possible.PACKYOUR BAGS AND GO!

3  Thank Pianists
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
Downtown
Inn on the Alameda
Inn on the Alameda
#3 of 61 in Santa Fe
2,499 reviews
La Fonda on the Plaza
#6 of 61 in Santa Fe
678 reviews
Old Santa Fe Inn
#7 of 61 in Santa Fe
1,666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Drury Plaza Hotel in Santa Fe
Hotel Santa Fe
#14 of 61 in Santa Fe
1,708 reviews
Downtown
Hilton Santa Fe Historic Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn of the Governors? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn of the Governors

Address: 101 West Alameda, Santa Fe, NM 87501-2117
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#8 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
#18 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range: $133 - $235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn of the Governors 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inn of the Governors is a leader in hospitality among Santa Fe Hotels. We provide world-class service, a beautiful downtown location, complimentary Mountain Sunrise full breakfast, free parking and complimentary Tea and Sherry served daily in our lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with JackRabbit Systems, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Inn of the Governors reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn Of The Governors Hotel Santa Fe
Hotel Of The Governors
Of The Governors Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing