We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great place to stay in downtown Santa Fé.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Inn of the Governors

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Inn of the Governors
Ranked #11 of 61 Hotels in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
Paris, France
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great place to stay in downtown Santa Fé.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2014

I stayed this summer (early August 2014) with my wife and our son for only one night. We really all enjoyed the place. We happened to get there by chance without any booking. We were lucky enough to have the last room of the day !!
We did not regret our stay and much appreciated the very large room, the pool and the breakfast in the morning.
Fewvery good things about this hotel are free parking and great location in Sante Fé, just 3 minutes walking distance from Plazza and other market / shop; you can not dream better place to stay.
I will come back definitely for a longer stay.
Enjoy !

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cstormyweather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samuel G, General Manager at Inn of the Governors, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Dear Cstormyweather,

Thank you for your kind review of the Inn.

We are so pleased to have been able to host your stay. As you experienced, we can be quite busy in summer. Although, so fortuitous you booked our last room!

It is great to know you were able to enjoy the pool, our convenient location and our complimentary breakfast buffet.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

In Health and prosperity,

Sam Gerberding
General Manager
Inn of the Governors
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,440 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    868
    454
    85
    23
    10
See reviews for
302
659
66
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (343)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
296 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2014

Numerous trips to Santa Fe allow me to try different locations to stay in the city. I chose the Inn of the Governors because of its location but I was disappointed. The room was small and lots of noise from the Inn kitchen nearby. The bathroom was very small with a toilet that was small by any standards. The sheets were rougher than any I can remember. The pillows were firm and lumpy. Access doors to the lobby were locked during the day that were only meant to be locked at night and frustrated many. The location was clean. The breakfast was good. We will not return.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not related to the kitchen or lobby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank zepper50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samuel G, General Manager at Inn of the Governors, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Dear Zepper50,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us.

I am so sorry your visit was not more enjoyable. Would you please contact me directly so that I may gain more understanding of your concerns? I can be reached at 505.954.0332.

We do urge our guests to contact us during their stay to voice any matters. Our staff will exhaust every effort to make things better.

I look forward to hearing from you.


Sam Gerberding
General Manager
Inn of the Governors
gm@innofthegovernors.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for three nights in July. The hotel is a short walk to the Plaza and shops and restaurants. Our room was a good size with a king bed and fireplace. Breakfast was included each day and had a selection of hot food as well as cereal and fruit. Overall we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Smashly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samuel G, General Manager at Inn of the Governors, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Dear Smashly,

We are so pleased to know you enjoyed a convenient and comfortable stay!

Your review is greatly appreciated and we hope to see you again if your travels bring you back to Santa Fe.

In Health and prosperity,

Sam Gerberding
General Manager
Inn of the Governors
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebastopol, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2014

I've stayed here twice. My rooms were charming and quiet. The service is very good and all the staff seem to go out of their way to be helpful. The breakfast is ample and delicious and there is a daily $15 credit in the restaurant/bar, and they offer tea or sherry and cookies at 4 pm. It is just a few blocks from downtown, and we were able to walk everywhere. The hotel staff did make one mistake about scheduling a taxi for our departure...we were forced to change our travel plans, but the hotel reimbursed us every extra penny that we had to spend for the new itinerary. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 363Mona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samuel G, General Manager at Inn of the Governors, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Dear 363Mona,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with the Inn.

My sincerest apologies regarding the scheduling error and the forced change to your plans. I am happy to know our staff covered the additional cost, but am so sorry for your inconvenience.

It is great to know you enjoyed the breakfast, tea & sherry hour and your room. We are pleased to know you will return.

In Health and prosperity,

Sam Gerberding
General Manager
Inn of the Governors
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
273 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014 via mobile

This was our first stay, and we were pleasantly surprised in many ways. The parking was very easy, and free. Our room was comfortable, and included a small refrigerator so we were able to chill our wine. They included some nice touches, like earplugs, in the room amenities. Housekeeping did a very good job during our 3 night stay.
The included breakfast was quite good, with several egg dishes; various breakfast meats; hash browns; cereals; fresh fruit; one type of yogurt; juices; and a variety of breads and pastries. Their coffee was good, but they also offered tea and cocoa.
We were given a nightly $15 credit at their restaurant, El Charro, which we used for our evening margaritas.
In the lobby, we were able to refill our water bottles with filtered water, which was quite convenient. All the hotel staff was pleasant and helpful. Would definitely consider staying at the hotel again in the future.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheryl D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samuel G, General Manager at Inn of the Governors, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Dear Cheryl D,

We very much appreciate your thorough review of your stay with us. And are pleased you enjoyed the breakfast, free parking, room amenities and Del Charro.

Our staff and myself hope you can stay again soon!

In Health and prosperity,

Sam Gerberding
General Manager
Inn of the Governors
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
44 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2014

Short walk to the plaza, with corresponding lower rates than hotels closer to the plaza. Key perks are: free parking for hotel guests, good location, year-round heated pool, food credit at the attached restaurant/bar. I stayed there for a week on company business in a room block of 5 rooms total, we paid $185 each per night--be warned the taxes will bump that nightly rate up substantially. Families, business travelers, solo travelers all blended in seamlessly at the hotel. There's a daily sherry/cookies hour (4pm ish). If you're sensitive to street noise, be sure to request a room away from the street. Appeared to have OK handicap access throughout. Some parking is covered (there's underground and surface parking). Free wifi (everywhere I went on property), and adjoining rooms are available. AT&T cell phone service is a little spotty around the property.

Room Tip: I stayed in room 113 and heard a good deal of noise from Alameda street. Be sure to request a room A...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SuzieCookie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samuel G, General Manager at Inn of the Governors, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Dear SuzieCookie,

Thank you for sharing your experience of your stay at the Inn.

Your "key perks" are spot on. We are glad to know you liked our location, parking and tea & sherry.

We look forward to welcoming you back again. Hopefully, for pleasure instead of business next time.

In Health and prosperity,

Sam Gerberding
General Manager
Inn of the Governors
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prescott, Arizona
Level Contributor
59 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2014

You couldn’t ask for a better location -- we walked to the Georgia O’Keefe museum, the cathedral, the plaza, Loretto Chapel, and the hundreds of shops and restaurants on the plaza and Old Town Santa Fe. The free breakfast buffet has something for everyone and is good. The room was very pleasant, quiet, and clean, and being on the far side on the first floor, had a nice little patio with a bistro table and chairs. Parking is tight but free. Del Charro, the restaurant located off the lobby, has good margaritas and decent chicken cesar salad in addition to other items. As a guest, one receives a $15 credit to the restaurant. I would not hesitate to stay here again.

Room Tip: Might be wise to ask for a room that does not face the parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samuel G, General Manager at Inn of the Governors, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Dear Kim P.,

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us.

We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and found us conveniently located. It is great to know you enjoyed your room, the patio, the complimentary breakfast buffet and Del Charro.

We hope to see you back again soon.

In Health and prosperity,

Sam Gerberding
General Manager
Inn of the Governors
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
Downtown
Inn on the Alameda
Inn on the Alameda
#2 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,965 reviews
La Fonda on the Plaza
#5 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,969 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Santa Fe Inn
#8 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,435 reviews
Downtown
Drury Plaza Hotel in Santa Fe
Inn of the Five Graces
#1 of 61 in Santa Fe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn of the Governors? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn of the Governors

Property: Inn of the Governors
Address: 101 West Alameda, Santa Fe, NM 87501-2117
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#10 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
#18 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn of the Governors 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inn of the Governors is a leader in hospitality among Santa Fe Hotels. We provide world-class service, a beautiful downtown location, complimentary Mountain Sunrise full breakfast, free parking and complimentary Tea and Sherry served daily in our lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, JackRabbit Systems, Priceline, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your Inn of the Governors reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn Of The Governors Hotel Santa Fe
Hotel Of The Governors
Of The Governors Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing