We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Impressive”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Inn of the Governors
Ranked #11 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
153 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 286 helpful votes
“Impressive”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2008

Absolutely impressive small hotel in the heart of beautiful Santa Fe. Reserved it through hotels.com. Three of my friends and I stayed here in April last year for spring break, and we absolutely loved the service, charm, ambiance, decor, and also the fabulous breakfast buffet. There's also a restaurant in the hotel that served really good food with reasonable prices. The price of We had a standard double room in this hotel, and the rate we had was not that bad either. We totally enjoyed our stay here!

  • Liked — service, price, charm, location, breakfast
  • Disliked — none
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank crismanila77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,522 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    928
    469
    90
    24
    11
See reviews for
328
696
69
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (370)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
very rural Colorado
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2008

We visit Santa Fe once or twice a year and have enjoyed a number of hotels, but this property stands out for us. Deluxe king room with fireplace and balcony was immaculate. Entire hotel, from lobby up looked as if it had just been polished to a shine. Staff, from front desk folks to Ron (the great bartender at El Charro) to the hotel manager who personally poured sherry for afternoon tea and was assisting guests at breakfast the next morning, all made us feel genuinely welcome. Hotel location is perfect. We thought the entire experience was well worth the price.

  • Liked — friendly staff & quality Southwestern decor
  • Disliked — not yet energy efficient
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Highhikers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frisco, Colorado
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2008

My mother and I just spent 3 nights at this fabulous little hotel in Santa Fe. The location could not be beter and the staff was fantastic - welcoming and friendly. The room was well decorated, the beds & pillows very comfortable and the housekeeping was impeccable. The lobby is very attractive - makes you want to curl up with a book.

The breakfast in the morning was really good. Eggs with cheese, green chilis & salsa. Wonderful croisants. Bacon, Sausage, toasts, oatmeal, pancakes with berry syrup, great coffee and OJ. We spent 2 evenings at the hotel restaurant/tavern which I highly recommend. It was packed both nights but the staff was great and the Margaritas were the best we had the whole trip and we are marg snobs. $6 bux gets you an entire shaker full! Food is quite good - quesadillas, burgers, salads, stuffed poblanos etc. Limited menu but cheap $5-$7!! The ambiance is really nice as it's indoor/outdoor with heat lamps & fireplace. Seems like there were a lot of locals there too which is always a great sign.

Pool area looked very relaxing but water was a bit chilly for October even though the temps were 75 degrees outside. They provide big bath towels in the lobby for you as well.

Only complaint is the outside noise but this hotel is right downtown so what are you going to do? Stay in the country if you need complete quiet. There is also some early morning noise between the rooms which we just dealt with. We weren't there to sleep in any way.

Also recommend attending the FARMERS MARKET. It was fantastic, full of all kinds of foods, cheeses, produce, pumpkins, chilis galore, crafts, salsas, fresh baked breads...makes my mouth water just thinking about it. One of the best I have ever attended.

  • Liked — Location, food and quality of accomodations
  • Disliked — Morning noise
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank RkyMtnGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhode Island
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2008

We stayed in this hotel for four nights in early October, We had a traditional room which was very clean with comfortable beds. The complimentary breakfast was wonderful serving both hot and cold choices. The hotel staff was friendly and helpful to us in every way.....with directions to restaurants and tourists places to see, making reservations etc.
I would highly recommend this hotel as a perfect place to stay in Santa Fe. It's closeness to the Plaza was another bonus.

Don't even bother to look any further ......the Inn of the Governors has it all. Although the rooms are not cheap, we did not break the piggy bank as one could at some other hotels in the area !

Stayed October 2008
Helpful?
3 Thank MrsFactor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keller, Texas
Level Contributor
71 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2008

We stayed here just for one night last week and thought the place was nice. We had a superior room with fireplace. The room was well maintained and clean but did smell of smoke.

We ate at the Grill there and it was cheap but okay food! We ate at the bar and the waitress acted like we were bothering her.
The breakfast was wonderful and the girls were sweet. The front desk personel were helpful in directions and the room service guy was a hoot. We ordered hot fudge ice cream and they were great.

Our bill for one night on check out was $330.00. (for just the room and tax) I know that the hotel is in Santa Fe and close to the Plaza, but come on! The rooms are set up like a motel with the parking everywhere.

We had just come from Ouray, CO and spent $90.00 on a room that had alot more charm. Maybe we just don't get the Sant Fe mystic.

We would stay there again for a better price.

Stayed September 2008
Helpful?
2 Thank Lcrich56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2008

We loved our four night stay at the Inn of the Governors. The staff were extremely warm and welcoming. When we arrived we were extremely tired from having to leave Dallas on an earlier than planned flight due to the threat of Hurricane Ike's tropical force winds (which never actually materialized in Dallas). The staff was so welcoming to us and made an extra effort to get us a room before the 4 pm check-in so that we could NAP in the wonderfully comfortable beds! We loved the daily breakfast--the food was delicious--and never even considered going anywhere else. The Charro lounge made great Margaritas. The sherry and tea time in the afternoon was sublime. We were actually travelling with two small children and our son was begging for the afternoon cookies for breakfast the next morning!! Although neither the Inn of the Governors nor, in fact, Santa Fe itself are really "family" destinations--the staff (and guests) made us feel welcome as a family and the concierge and registration staff were very helpful in directing us to great Santa Fe restaurants that were child friendly. We DEFINITELY want to return again (with the kids) and would book with Inn of the Governors in a heartbeat!!

  • Liked — The service from the personnel
  • Disliked — The rooms were a little warm for us.
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JacSarMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
51 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2008

There is nothing wrong with this hotel except for the layout of the building. It looks like a motel! There are cars parked in front of the rooms and we had people walking by our window all the time. The room was rather small. Since the windows are small, too, the room is quite dark at that. But everything inside the room is nice and immaculate. Everything else about this hotel is nice and did not give us any reason to complain. It is conveniently located. The town center and all the shopping and dining is literally around the corner. Staff is friendly and breakfast was good and the kids loved the pool. I just found it a bit disturbing to stay in a building which has a layout of a roadside motel. I expected better than that for the rather upper end room rates.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — layout
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Suppiluliomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
Downtown
Inn on the Alameda
Inn on the Alameda
#2 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,131 reviews
Old Santa Fe Inn
#7 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,514 reviews
La Fonda on the Plaza
#5 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Santa Fe
#12 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,600 reviews
Downtown
Rosewood Inn of the Anasazi
Downtown
Drury Plaza Hotel in Santa Fe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn of the Governors? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn of the Governors

Property: Inn of the Governors
Address: 101 West Alameda, Santa Fe, NM 87501-2117
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#10 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
#18 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn of the Governors 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inn of the Governors is a leader in hospitality among Santa Fe Hotels. We provide world-class service, a beautiful downtown location, complimentary Mountain Sunrise full breakfast, free parking and complimentary Tea and Sherry served daily in our lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with JackRabbit Systems, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Inn of the Governors reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn Of The Governors Hotel Santa Fe
Hotel Of The Governors
Of The Governors Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing