We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Southwestern charm within walking distance of the Square” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inn of the Governors

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Inn of the Governors
Ranked #11 of 61 Hotels in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
Carrollton, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Southwestern charm within walking distance of the Square”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

We stayed at the Inn for three nights and loved it. We appreciated the parking and could walk to almost everywhere we wished to go. A tour company will pick you up at the door. The rooms are beautifully decorated with southwestern touches. Breakfast is great and we enjoyed drinks and entertainment in the evening.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ksera51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamGerberding, General Manager at Inn of the Governors, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Dear ksera51,

Thank you for your review!

We appreciate knowing that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay with us. Our central location makes it so easy for our guests to get out and enjoy all that Santa Fe has to offer. The Custom Tours by Clarice tram does pickup at our front door 4 times daily and is a great way to see the city.

We look forward to hosting another stay for you in the near future.

In Health and prosperity,

Sam Gerberding
General Manager
Inn of the Governors
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,307 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    786
    412
    79
    20
    10
See reviews for
277
601
61
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (307)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Evergreen Colorado
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014 via mobile

My sister and I stayed here one night on a recent girls getaway trip, very nice accommodations. Our stay included a credit at their adjoining bar/restaurant where we enjoyed margaritas! Also included was a full hot breakfast, very nice spread with eggs, bacon, sausage, fruit, breads etc. Their location is perfect with easy walks to the plaza, rail yard neighborhood and canyon road. Staff was friendly, everything was clean and beds were very comfy! Definitely would stay here again!

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank MountainMama03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamGerberding, General Manager at Inn of the Governors, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Dear MountainMama03,

Thank you for reviewing your recent girls getaway stay at the Inn! We always appreciate comments and feedback.

It's very nice to see you were able take advantage of the $15 nightly food & beverage credit and to enjoy our close proximity to many of Santa Fe's sights.

We do hope to see you again very soon.

In Health and prosperity,

Sam Gerberding
General Manager
Inn of the Governors
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

My husband and I stayed 5 nights at the Inn. We had a large king superior room with a kiva fireplace and small balcony. It was a very inviting space with southwestern decor. The amenities could not be beat for the June price: free parking, free breakfast, restaurant voucher, sherry hour, and small outdoor pool. It's close to the plaza so we only needed our car once or twice. The staff is helpful. The on-site restaurant is casual, has decent food and was always hopping, as is the bar. It was a great place for us and seemed so also for the families staying here. If you need a quiet place with lots of lobby space, this may not be for you, but we loved it!

Room Tip: Our room overlooked the parking lot and we occasionally noticed street noise. My only complaint was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Diane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamGerberding, General Manager at Inn of the Governors, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Dear Diane W,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay with us. We are so glad you found everything to your satisfaction.

My apologies that the a/c noise was bothersome. Would you please contact me directly to let me know your room number? I want to be certain it has since been repaired.

It is great to know you enjoyed the lively atmosphere of Del Charro and the Inn.

We hope to welcome you back again very soon.

In Health and prosperity,

Sam Gerberding
General Manager
Inn of the Governors
gm@innofthegovernors.com
505-954-0332
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for one night along our road trip. The Inn of the Governors provides a perfect feel of Sante Fe along with accommodations that are above and beyond. The complimentary breakfast is outstanding and in the afternoon the hotel provides additional tea and sherry to guests. Our room was very clean with comfortable beds. My only negative, which is minor, is the less than friendly attendant at check in. He hurried through my questions as if annoyed, but he could have just been having a bad day. I would definitely stay here again next time we are in Sante Fe because the accommodations, breakfast, and location cannot be beat.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Abby W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamGerberding, General Manager at Inn of the Governors, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Dear Abbywebster,

Thank you for your thoughtful review and rating. I am thrilled you had an "excellent" experience.

I also appreciate knowing about the staff member at check in. I can assure you that is not the norm at the Inn and I will be speaking to that individual to ensure it does not happen again.

We look forward to offering a clean, comfortable room and the delicious breakfast to you on your next visit.

In health and prosperity,

Sam Gerberding
General Manager
Inn of the Governors
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Artesia, New Mexico
Level Contributor
82 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

We were in Santa Fe for the weekend and decided to stay at the Inn of the Governors this trip. It is ideally located in downtown Santa Fe for exploring the area. The price of the rooms are mid-range for plaza area Santa Fe ($220/night plus tax...summer rate). This does include free parking (somewhat rare for hotels in the area near the square) and a free hot breakfast as well as a $15 credit for the bar in house. The bed was very comfortable with a small balcony to look out from. The hotel is showing its age a bit but still well maintained. The staff was very helpful. A very nice stay overall. The morning breakfast buffet was very good with a bit of something for everyone. Recommended.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JohnandJean681985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamGerberding, General Manager at Inn of the Governors, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Dear JohnandJean681985,

Many thanks for sharing a review of your recent stay at the Inn.

We are pleased you found us to be conveniently located, moderately priced and have comfortable beds. It is also nice to know you enjoyed the complimentary buffet breakfast and the variety we offer.

Thank you for your recommendation and we hope to see you again in the near future.

Sam Gerberding
General Manager
Inn of the Governors
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pueblo
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

My husband, mother-in-law, and I decided to take a trip to Santa Fe, NM which is about 4 1/2 hr drive from our home in Colorado. It was the best stay ever. This hotel is centrally located to all the historical sites. Parking is free which is a true plus at this place, otherwise I'm not sure where you'd park your car. There are a few public parking lots (for a fee) around the area, but they all looked full when we went out and as for the side street parking, it was metered with a maximum of 2 hours. Another benefit to the hotel is it was very clean, comfortable, and had a fabulous bar/restaurant downstairs. My only complaint would be that it gets too full and often times, we were lucky to find 1 table open as it seems that this is a place where locals (outside public) are allowed to come in. There is also free tea and sherry everyday from 4-5. My husband and I planning our next vacation in Santa Fe, NM and will definitely be staying at this hotel again. I'd highly recommend it!

Room Tip: Try and pic a room in the corridor otherwise, the hot sun would enter the room. I'd also recomme...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MINXY810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamGerberding, General Manager at Inn of the Governors, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Dear MINXY810,

Thank you so much for sharing your experience at the Inn!

We are so happy you enjoyed your stay and, especially that you will be returning soon. We also appreciate your recommendation.

My apologies Del Charro was crowded during your visit. It is quite popular with the local crowd as well as other visitors to Santa Fe. The open air patio is particularly nice in the summer.

Please let me know if I may offer any assistance during future visits.

In Health and prosperity,

Sam Gerberding
General Manager
Inn of the Governors
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kettering, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
175 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

This is an excellent hotel with super breakfast buffet. The hotel is ideally situated near to the heart of Santa Fe so a walk out of the hotel instantly gets you into the best areas of the city for sightseeing. The onsite parking is complimentary which in Santa Fe, with its’ tight streets, is necessary. Comfortable and interesting rooms with a great breakfast!

Room Tip: Rooms in the block where we stayed were over 3 floors. The lower floor would be dark, we were on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterandLesley2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamGerberding, General Manager at Inn of the Governors, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Dear PeterandLesley2013,

Thank you for sharing your experiences during your stay at the Inn.

It's so great to know you found our location so easy to get out and about. Also, I'm glad you mention the sunsets. The western view rooms are so nice for enjoying that time of day. The sunsets in the summer can be spectacular.

If your travels bring back to Santa Fe, we hope you can join us again.

In Health and prosperity,

Sam Gerberding
General Manager
Inn of the Governors
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
Downtown
Inn on the Alameda
Inn on the Alameda
#2 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 stars 1,736 reviews
La Fonda on the Plaza
#5 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 stars 1,818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Santa Fe Inn
#4 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 stars 1,341 reviews
Inn of the Five Graces
#1 of 61 in Santa Fe
5.0 of 5 stars 503 reviews
Downtown
Eldorado Hotel & Spa
Eldorado Hotel & Spa
#17 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.0 of 5 stars 1,131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn of the Governors? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn of the Governors

Property: Inn of the Governors
Address: 101 West Alameda, Santa Fe, NM 87501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#10 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
#18 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn of the Governors 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inn of the Governors is a leader in hospitality among Santa Fe Hotels. We provide world-class service, a beautiful downtown location, complimentary Mountain Sunrise full breakfast, free parking and complimentary Tea and Sherry served daily in our lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, JackRabbit Systems, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Inn of the Governors reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn Of The Governors Hotel Santa Fe
Hotel Of The Governors
Of The Governors Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing