We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“A True Gem!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inn of the Governors

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Inn of the Governors
Ranked #10 of 61 Hotels in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
Pueblo
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“A True Gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

My husband, mother-in-law, and I decided to take a trip to Santa Fe, NM which is about 4 1/2 hr drive from our home in Colorado. It was the best stay ever. This hotel is centrally located to all the historical sites. Parking is free which is a true plus at this place, otherwise I'm not sure where you'd park your car. There are a few public parking lots (for a fee) around the area, but they all looked full when we went out and as for the side street parking, it was metered with a maximum of 2 hours. Another benefit to the hotel is it was very clean, comfortable, and had a fabulous bar/restaurant downstairs. My only complaint would be that it gets too full and often times, we were lucky to find 1 table open as it seems that this is a place where locals (outside public) are allowed to come in. There is also free tea and sherry everyday from 4-5. My husband and I planning our next vacation in Santa Fe, NM and will definitely be staying at this hotel again. I'd highly recommend it!

Room Tip: Try and pic a room in the corridor otherwise, the hot sun would enter the room. I'd also recomme...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MINXY810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamGerberding, General Manager at Inn of the Governors, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Dear MINXY810,

Thank you so much for sharing your experience at the Inn!

We are so happy you enjoyed your stay and, especially that you will be returning soon. We also appreciate your recommendation.

My apologies Del Charro was crowded during your visit. It is quite popular with the local crowd as well as other visitors to Santa Fe. The open air patio is particularly nice in the summer.

Please let me know if I may offer any assistance during future visits.

In Health and prosperity,

Sam Gerberding
General Manager
Inn of the Governors
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,306 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    786
    411
    79
    20
    10
See reviews for
276
601
61
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (307)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kettering, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
176 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

This is an excellent hotel with super breakfast buffet. The hotel is ideally situated near to the heart of Santa Fe so a walk out of the hotel instantly gets you into the best areas of the city for sightseeing. The onsite parking is complimentary which in Santa Fe, with its’ tight streets, is necessary. Comfortable and interesting rooms with a great breakfast!

Room Tip: Rooms in the block where we stayed were over 3 floors. The lower floor would be dark, we were on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterandLesley2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamGerberding, General Manager at Inn of the Governors, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Dear PeterandLesley2013,

Thank you for sharing your experiences during your stay at the Inn.

It's so great to know you found our location so easy to get out and about. Also, I'm glad you mention the sunsets. The western view rooms are so nice for enjoying that time of day. The sunsets in the summer can be spectacular.

If your travels bring back to Santa Fe, we hope you can join us again.

In Health and prosperity,

Sam Gerberding
General Manager
Inn of the Governors
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiburon, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

This is centrally located in the heart of Santa Fe, across from the State Capitol and two blocks from the Plaza. Our room was large, comfy, well appointed in Southwestern style. The lobby is attractive and every afternoon they serve tea and sherry. The buffet breakfast is very good and their pastries are wonderful, some of the best I've ever had. There is a spacious dining room and a charming patio and the Del Charro bar is a 'happening' place. Their drinks are reasonable and their bar food is also reasonable and very good. Their home made potato chips are excellent. The people are friendly. Parking and wifi are free which is not true of many other places in Santa Fe. It's a great place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank fredverde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamGerberding, General Manager at Inn of the Governors, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Dear fredverde,

We are so pleased to know you found the Inn charming and conveniently located.

Thank you for sharing your comments. We, too, agree that Del Charro is the "happening" place. Very popular with locals and visitors alike.

I hope to welcome you back again in the future.

In Health and prosperity,

Sam Gerberding
General Manager
Inn of the Governors
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irving, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

This hotel is really just 2 blocks from the square.. great hotel bar, great food, very helpful and polite staff.. The breakfast that is included is the best we have had anywhere. The location to shopping, art galleries, restaurants was perfect..

Room Tip: WE had the perfect room.. the smell of the buffet breakfast woke me up in the morning.. it was fabul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamGerberding, General Manager at Inn of the Governors, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Dear Marie C,

Thank you for sharing such a nice review.

It is such a pleasure to read that the wafting aromas of breakfast woke you in the mornings. I can't think of a better way to greet the day.

I am grateful to know that you found our staff polite and helpful and that you enjoyed our saloon, Del Charro.

We look forward to hosting another stay very soon.

In Health and prosperity,

Sam Gerberding
General Manager
Inn of the Governors
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentfield, California
Level Contributor
120 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014 via mobile

We recently staid here for three nights and our stay was wonderful from walking in the front door to our breakfast the next morning. The front desk staff was very friendly and helpful with all of our needs as to restaurants and directions and what to see in this lovely town. The breakfast they serve is the best so far of any hotel we have ever staid in for it is a full course meal that is served and is complimentary. They also serve sherry and snacks in the afternoon. The hotel room was clean and quite in the evening which made for a wonderful night of sleep and rest. There are fantastic restaurants that are within a short walking distance so leave your car parked when you get there.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamGerberding, General Manager at Inn of the Governors, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Dear PeterB,

Thank you for sharing such a positive, all-encompassing review of your recent stay.

We are so pleased to have had the opportunity to host your visit to the City Different.

Looking forward to see you again soon.

In Health and prosperity,

Sam Gerberding
General Manager
Inn of the Governors
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

Wonderful hotel in walking distance to downtown Santa Fe with all the amenities one could want. Charmingly decorated in the old-world Santa Fe style, clean and comfortable room with free wi-fi, close to town, restaurant with complete breakfast, tea time yummies, bar and dinner restaurant next door, pool and reasonable pricing. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Would absolutely recommend!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamGerberding, General Manager at Inn of the Governors, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Dear Ruth H,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us.

We are so pleased you were able to enjoy all of our amenities and our convenient location.

We genuinely appreciate your recommendation and hope to see you back again very soon.

In Health and prosperity,

Sam Gerberding
General Manager
Inn of the Governors
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

This place is so cool. Really if you want some Santa Fe charm without the razzmatazz then check out the Inn of the Governors. I almost don't want to write such a good review because I don't want to destroy the cool factor.
The awesome extra is the del charro dining . If you crave Northern New Mexico cuisine at a reasonable price in a casual setting with mostly locals then this place is for you? The Poole is to die for and the quesedeas with the extra little bowl of red. wow!!
Great rooms, friendly staff, free parking and wifi all in the center of Santa Fe. This is da place!

Room Tip: Upgrade to a suite with a balcony. Take a day to drive up Santa Fe Baldy. Kick back and relax.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CaliforniaCosette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamGerberding, General Manager at Inn of the Governors, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Dear CaliforniaCosette,

Thank you for such a flattering review!

We are so pleased you discovered the local's secret - Del Charro. A fun atmosphere with good food at low prices.

It's delightful to know you enjoyed your room and were able to take the beautiful drive up the mountain.

I hope to welcome you back to the Inn very soon.

In Health and prosperity,

Sam Gerberding
General Manager
Inn of the Governors
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
Downtown
Inn on the Alameda
Inn on the Alameda
#2 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 stars 1,730 reviews
La Fonda on the Plaza
#5 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 stars 1,816 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Santa Fe Inn
#4 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 stars 1,340 reviews
Inn of the Five Graces
#1 of 61 in Santa Fe
5.0 of 5 stars 502 reviews
Downtown
Eldorado Hotel & Spa
Eldorado Hotel & Spa
#17 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.0 of 5 stars 1,129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn of the Governors? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn of the Governors

Property: Inn of the Governors
Address: 101 West Alameda, Santa Fe, NM 87501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#10 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
#18 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn of the Governors 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inn of the Governors is a leader in hospitality among Santa Fe Hotels. We provide world-class service, a beautiful downtown location, complimentary Mountain Sunrise full breakfast, free parking and complimentary Tea and Sherry served daily in our lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, JackRabbit Systems, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Inn of the Governors reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn Of The Governors Hotel Santa Fe
Hotel Of The Governors
Of The Governors Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing