We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a charming place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inn of the Governors

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Inn of the Governors to your Saves list
Inn of the Governors
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   101 West Alameda, Santa Fe, NM 87501 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #12 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
Tiburon, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“What a charming place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

This is centrally located in the heart of Santa Fe, across from the State Capitol and two blocks from the Plaza. Our room was large, comfy, well appointed in Southwestern style. The lobby is attractive and every afternoon they serve tea and sherry. The buffet breakfast is very good and their pastries are wonderful, some of the best I've ever had. There is a spacious dining room and a charming patio and the Del Charro bar is a 'happening' place. Their drinks are reasonable and their bar food is also reasonable and very good. Their home made potato chips are excellent. The people are friendly. Parking and wifi are free which is not true of many other places in Santa Fe. It's a great place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank fredverde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamGerberding, General Manager at Inn of the Governors, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Dear fredverde,

We are so pleased to know you found the Inn charming and conveniently located.

Thank you for sharing your comments. We, too, agree that Del Charro is the "happening" place. Very popular with locals and visitors alike.

I hope to welcome you back again in the future.

In Health and prosperity,

Sam Gerberding
General Manager
Inn of the Governors
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Irving, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

This hotel is really just 2 blocks from the square.. great hotel bar, great food, very helpful and polite staff.. The breakfast that is included is the best we have had anywhere. The location to shopping, art galleries, restaurants was perfect..

Room Tip: WE had the perfect room.. the smell of the buffet breakfast woke me up in the morning.. it was fabul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamGerberding, General Manager at Inn of the Governors, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Dear Marie C,

Thank you for sharing such a nice review.

It is such a pleasure to read that the wafting aromas of breakfast woke you in the mornings. I can't think of a better way to greet the day.

I am grateful to know that you found our staff polite and helpful and that you enjoyed our saloon, Del Charro.

We look forward to hosting another stay very soon.

In Health and prosperity,

Sam Gerberding
General Manager
Inn of the Governors
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentfield, California
Level Contributor
91 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014 via mobile

We recently staid here for three nights and our stay was wonderful from walking in the front door to our breakfast the next morning. The front desk staff was very friendly and helpful with all of our needs as to restaurants and directions and what to see in this lovely town. The breakfast they serve is the best so far of any hotel we have ever staid in for it is a full course meal that is served and is complimentary. They also serve sherry and snacks in the afternoon. The hotel room was clean and quite in the evening which made for a wonderful night of sleep and rest. There are fantastic restaurants that are within a short walking distance so leave your car parked when you get there.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamGerberding, General Manager at Inn of the Governors, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Dear PeterB,

Thank you for sharing such a positive, all-encompassing review of your recent stay.

We are so pleased to have had the opportunity to host your visit to the City Different.

Looking forward to see you again soon.

In Health and prosperity,

Sam Gerberding
General Manager
Inn of the Governors
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

Wonderful hotel in walking distance to downtown Santa Fe with all the amenities one could want. Charmingly decorated in the old-world Santa Fe style, clean and comfortable room with free wi-fi, close to town, restaurant with complete breakfast, tea time yummies, bar and dinner restaurant next door, pool and reasonable pricing. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Would absolutely recommend!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamGerberding, General Manager at Inn of the Governors, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Dear Ruth H,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us.

We are so pleased you were able to enjoy all of our amenities and our convenient location.

We genuinely appreciate your recommendation and hope to see you back again very soon.

In Health and prosperity,

Sam Gerberding
General Manager
Inn of the Governors
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

This place is so cool. Really if you want some Santa Fe charm without the razzmatazz then check out the Inn of the Governors. I almost don't want to write such a good review because I don't want to destroy the cool factor.
The awesome extra is the del charro dining . If you crave Northern New Mexico cuisine at a reasonable price in a casual setting with mostly locals then this place is for you? The Poole is to die for and the quesedeas with the extra little bowl of red. wow!!
Great rooms, friendly staff, free parking and wifi all in the center of Santa Fe. This is da place!

Room Tip: Upgrade to a suite with a balcony. Take a day to drive up Santa Fe Baldy. Kick back and relax.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CaliforniaCosette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamGerberding, General Manager at Inn of the Governors, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Dear CaliforniaCosette,

Thank you for such a flattering review!

We are so pleased you discovered the local's secret - Del Charro. A fun atmosphere with good food at low prices.

It's delightful to know you enjoyed your room and were able to take the beautiful drive up the mountain.

I hope to welcome you back to the Inn very soon.

In Health and prosperity,

Sam Gerberding
General Manager
Inn of the Governors
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loveland, Colorado
Level Contributor
42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

Stayed while in Santa Fe on a business trip. Its been several years since I stayed at the Inn (always booked up when I would visit). The staff at check inwas fast and courteous. They provided information on local resturants and shopping.

Room was clean and comfortable. WiFi connection was strong. Parking is cramped if you have a larger vehicle.

At checkout staff was to busy on personal calls to be of much help. Hopefully this isn't the nirm.

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank TheAverageTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamGerberding, General Manager at Inn of the Governors, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Dear TheAverageTraveler,

We very much appreciate the comments and feedback you've shared regarding your recent stay. My sincerest apologies that the checkout staff was less than helpful. I can assure you that this is not the norm and that we have discussed your comments with our personnel.

It's nice to know that you were able to return to stay with us after several years. While its great that we are sometimes full, we lament that there's not always enough room for everyone.

Thank you for commenting that the room was comfortable and clean and the wi-fi strong.

Our staff and myself hope to see you again soon.

In Health and prosperity,

Sam Gerberding
General Manager
Inn of the Governors
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

My sister and I stayed two nights at the Inn of the Governors during May, we were thrilled at the location which is very near the centre of town and close to several good restaurants. We were a bit dubious about the room which despite nice modern decor seemed very dark and close to the car park however our fears were not realised. The room was quiet and we enjoyed a good nights sleep.

The breakfast buffet was extensive and the service was friendly and helpful. We particularly liked the free tea, sherry and home made biscuits available in the afternoon.

I would thoroughly recommend this hotel for good value and thoughtful touches for the guests.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cordelia2512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamGerberding, General Manager at Inn of the Governors, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Dear cordelia2512,

It is such a pleasure to read your thoughtful review. Thank you!

It is wonderful to know your fears were not realized and that you and your sister enjoyed a good night's sleep. We also appreciate your nice comments about our complimentary buffet breakfast and tea & sherry hour.

We do hope your travels bring you back to Santa Fe and when they do, you will stay with us again.

In Health and prosperity,

Sam Gerberding
General Manager
Inn of the Governors
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
La Fonda on the Plaza
#4 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 stars 1,615 reviews
Downtown
Inn on the Alameda
Inn on the Alameda
#2 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 stars 1,448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Santa Fe Inn
#5 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 stars 1,221 reviews
Inn of the Five Graces
#1 of 60 in Santa Fe
5.0 of 5 stars 474 reviews
Downtown
Inn and Spa at Loretto
Inn and Spa at Loretto
#25 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.0 of 5 stars 1,168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn of the Governors? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn of the Governors

Address: 101 West Alameda, Santa Fe, NM 87501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#10 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
#18 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn of the Governors 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inn of the Governors is a leader in hospitality among Santa Fe Hotels. We provide world-class service, a beautiful downtown location, complimentary Mountain Sunrise full breakfast, free parking and complimentary Tea and Sherry served daily in our lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, JackRabbit Systems, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Inn of the Governors reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn Of The Governors Hotel Santa Fe
Hotel Of The Governors
Of The Governors Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing