We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Inn of the Governors

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Inn of the Governors to your Saves list
Inn of the Governors
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   101 West Alameda, Santa Fe, NM 87501 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #10 of 61 Hotels in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great stay!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014 via mobile

I just stayed at this hotel for the first time on a family vacation. We had a good time but they are not the best for a family as we seemed to be looked at funny by staff and other guest. For the price we paid 250 a night I would stay outside the plaza area next time and enjoy the extra money. The breakfast was great and really followed the theme of the area with green chili and eggs.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank B4kreno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamGerberding, General Manager at Inn of the Governors, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Dear B4kreno,

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us. We are glad you stayed with us.

While I am pleased you enjoyed the breakfast and your stay, I am taken aback that you felt you were looked at funny by staff because you brought your family. We certainly want to maintain our family friendly atmosphere.

Would you mind emailing me directly so that I may contact you to discuss your experience? I would greatly appreciate it.

In Health and prosperity,

Sam Gerberding
General Manager
gm@innofthegovernors.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,307 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    786
    412
    79
    20
    10
See reviews for
277
601
61
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (307)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glendale, Arizona
Level Contributor
53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

Staff was friendly and kind. Immaculately clean room. Highly convenient location! Challenging to park but staff always out in lot to assist you to an open space. Main entrance is off of Alameda street and that is the only entrance for parking.
Always guests in the pool having fun.
Wonderful to have free breakfast with many options including hot foods (which was amazingly tasty- thank you!) and afternoon hosted sherry and tea is so thoughtful!
I asked for early check in a week before my arrival and it was immediately granted which was very convenient for this trip. Ariel and others at the front desk are prompt, courteous, and kind. You can tell they WANT to work there.
Wish I could have stayed longer- this hotel is much better than staying at a chain hotel where they are not nearly as friendly and accomodating.
Well done Inn of the Governors!

Room Tip: Rooms in the interior are quieter. We had an outside entrance room second floor close to Alameda str...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Theresa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamGerberding, General Manager at Inn of the Governors, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Dear Theresa D,

Thank you so much for your kind review!

I am so pleased to know that the staff, the breakfast and the sherry hour were enjoyed and made such a positive impact. Our continued goal is to offer as many extras as possible, and always with a smile.

It is very nice to see staff members mentioned by name. Thank you for remembering.

We hope to see you again soon.

In Health and prosperity,

Sam Gerberding
General Manager
Inn of the Governors
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

We have stayed twice at the Inn and will definitely stay there again when we come back to Santa Fe. It is conveniently located within walking distance of the Plaza and many great places to eat, shop and explore. We traveled both times via motorcycles and love that covered parking is available and at no charge. We planned our day trips to be back at the Inn around 2-2:30 each day so that we could spend time relaxing in the heated pool and take advantage of our $15 daily credit with awesome margaritas from Del Charo! We stayed in a Deluxe room on the second floor just up the steps from the lobby. The rooms are nicely decorated in authentic southwestern style and very clean. We can't wait for our next trip to Santa Fe and The Inn of the Governors!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RCR2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamGerberding, General Manager at Inn of the Governors, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Dear RCR2014,

Thank you for such a thoughtful review.

We are so happy you found everything to be enjoyable during both of your stays with us. I agree that our underground parking is perfect for motorcycles. Santa Fe and the surrounding area does have so many day trips to offer our visitors. Fall is also a lovely time to tour the area on motorcycles.

We look forward to seeing you again!

In Health and prosperity,

Sam Gerberding
General Manager
Inn of the Governors
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmette, Illinois
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

We really enjoyed our 3 night stay here. We booked a standard room with an outside entrance. We did not experience any issues. Parking was easy. We used our credits each evening at El Charro...very convenient, great food and very reasonable prices. We walked all over the area. The staff was so friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Win1776
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamGerberding, General Manager at Inn of the Governors, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Dear win1776,

It is such a pleasure to know that you loved your stay!

I genuinely appreciate all the feedback we receive and I thank you for taking the time to comment on your visit with us.

In Health and prosperity,

Sam Gerberding
General Manager
Inn of the Governors
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
173 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

On two prior trips to Santa Fe, we had stayed at the Inn and Spa at Loretto, which was nice .... but we wanted to try someplace new. The Inn of the Governors was great ... and I'd highly recommend asking for a room with a kiva fireplace. It was super easy to start, especially the first night when they had it all stoked and ready to be lit.

We had a room on the second floor in the main building ... there are severa wings. It was nice and pretty roomy, although the bath was fairly small. The hotel and room was filled with nice southwestern decor.

Plenty of food for breakfast ... buffet style. Hash towns were unexpectedly spicy ... be warned. We ate in the covered patio-style room, which was light and airy. (It has a whole bunch of overhead gas heaters for the cooler weather.)

So convenient to the historic plaza area and a hundred different cute shops. It was nice to be able to walk everywhere, particularly because the parking was a bit of a challenge at the hotel, so we didn't want to move our car once we were parked. We brought swimsuits but did not use the pool. It is pretty small and right outside the glass doors of the lobby.

Very nice overall. We'd definitely recommend this hotel to friends.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a kiva fireplace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maserk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamGerberding, General Manager at Inn of the Governors, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
Dear Maserk,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay with us.

I am so happy to see you found the Inn to be enjoyable and cozy. Our location is quite convenient to many museums, shops, restaurants as well as the Santa Fe Plaza.

We take your recommendation to friends as the highest praise and are so glad you stayed with us!

Looking forward to seeing you again soon.

In Health and prosperity,

Sam Gerberding
General Manager
Inn of the Governors
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Inn of the Governors in late March. The inn is very clean, in a perfect location and filled with beautiful New Mexican art. The service is first class, and the breakfast is hearty and delicious. Definitely recommend if you want to get a flavor of Santa Fe. We will be back!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rain P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamGerberding, General Manager at Inn of the Governors, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Dear Rain P,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us. I am so pleased to know you received great service, enjoyed the breakfast and hotel ambiance!

We definitely appreciate your recommendation and look forward to your return.

In Health and prosperity,

Sam Gerberding
General Manager
Inn of the Governors
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
Downtown
Inn on the Alameda
Inn on the Alameda
#2 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 stars 1,728 reviews
La Fonda on the Plaza
#5 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 stars 1,809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Santa Fe Inn
#4 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 stars 1,339 reviews
Inn of the Five Graces
#1 of 61 in Santa Fe
5.0 of 5 stars 502 reviews
Downtown
Eldorado Hotel & Spa
Eldorado Hotel & Spa
#17 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.0 of 5 stars 1,127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn of the Governors? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn of the Governors

Property: Inn of the Governors
Address: 101 West Alameda, Santa Fe, NM 87501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#10 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
#18 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn of the Governors 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inn of the Governors is a leader in hospitality among Santa Fe Hotels. We provide world-class service, a beautiful downtown location, complimentary Mountain Sunrise full breakfast, free parking and complimentary Tea and Sherry served daily in our lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with JackRabbit Systems, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Odigeo, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Inn of the Governors reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn Of The Governors Hotel Santa Fe
Hotel Of The Governors
Of The Governors Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing