We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and BEST breakfast!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Inn of the Governors
Ranked #12 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 28, 2014

Just spent 3 nights at the wonderful Inn of the Governors. The location is perfect walking distance to both the Plaza and Canyon Road. Rooms were comfortable and cozy and the buffet breakfast was outstanding. The Sherry and tea hour at 4:00 was a great way to relax from a day of sightseeing and meet fellow guests. Nice small pool was closed when we were there but looked good. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kenrichfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamGerberding, General Manager at Inn of the Governors, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2014

Dear kenrich family,

It is great to know you enjoyed your recent 3 night stay with us. We genuinely appreciate your comments regarding our breakfast, tea & sherry hour and location - 3 things we feel set us apart!

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and for the recommendation.

We hope to see you again soon.

In Health and Prosperity,

Sam Gerberding
General Manager
Inn of the Governors

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,648)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

729 - 735 of 1,648 reviews

Reviewed March 27, 2014

Perfect location in walking distance to discover Santa Fe. Stayed in room 202 which was a great experience. Nice junior suite and quiet. Very welcoming and helping staff, reception as restaurant. Enjoyed the heated swimming every day. Best breakfast during my New Mexico trip. Not to forget the drinks offered in the afternoon, 4 - 5 pm, in the lobby area.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anders L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamGerberding, General Manager at Inn of the Governors, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2014

Dear Anders L,

Thank you very much for posting such a nice review of your recent stay with us!

It is a pleasure to know that the room, the staff, the breakfast, the pool and the tea & sherry hour were all enjoyable.

We hope your travels bring you back to Santa Fe and the Inn of the Governors again soon.

In Health and Prosperity,

Sam Gerberding
General Manager
Inn of the Governors

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2014 via mobile

Very nice hotel walkable to the plaza. I stayed for a long weekend and enjoyed the breakfast each morning. Be careful the hashbrowns have a kick! I stayed in 106, not in the main building, my only cons are the heating/cooling system did not have a fan and the room would be stuffy and warm if you didn't open the window. The wifi had a poor signal with almost no connectivity if you are too far from the door and window.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rollingmountain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamGerberding, General Manager at Inn of the Governors, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2014

Dear Rollingmountain,

Thank you for sharing your comments regarding your recent stay with us.

I am pleased to know you enjoyed our location and daily breakfast buffet. My apologies that you experienced a few issues with the internet and room temperature. We will certainly investigate the problem.

We hope to see you again soon!

In Health and Prosperity,

Sam Gerberding
General Manager
Inn of the Governors

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2014

My tanning place for the summer, free parking (most of the time) grew up on the food, and I'm after your job Sam!
-Love Taylor Vanderwolk
P.S. Since when do I have to be 21 to eat on the balcony without a parent at a certain time?

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Taylor V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamGerberding, General Manager at Inn of the Governors, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2014

Hi Taylor,

Thanks for sharing your comments. We're always happy to see you!

In Health and Prosperity,

Sam Gerberding
General Manager
Inn of the Governors

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2014

We were happy to have the opportunity to return after a previous nice stay, and were not disappointed. As usual, the inn was quite busy, so parking spaces, breakfast tables and seats in the bar were at a premium. The inn has loads of character and is full of little quirks. We opted to try a fireplace room this time. It was of a smallish size typical of historic properties but was beautifully decorated and had everything we needed. The included breakfast is one of my favorite hotel breakfasts anywhere. I hope to return soon.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
6  Thank JJTOH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamGerberding, General Manager at Inn of the Governors, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2014

Dear JJTOH,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us. We are happy to know that everything was delightful. We also very much appreciate your repeat patronage!

We hope to host another visit very soon.

In Health and prosperity,

Sam Gerberding
General Manager
Inn of the Governors

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2014

We were in Santa Fe for new years eve. I will come back here without doubt. The hotel is clean, the price is reasonable. The location is good and the breakfast is really delicious. We were 7 adults and I kid. I highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bogotamoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamGerberding, General Manager at Inn of the Governors, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2014

Dear bogotamoni,

Thank you for sharing your comments regarding your stay on new year's eve. It is a pleasure to know you and your traveling partners found the Inn to be a good value, clean and the breakfast delicious.

We genuinely appreciate your recommendation and hope to see you again soon.

In Health and prosperity,

Sam Gerberding
General Manager
Inn of the Governors

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2014

We had a wonderful stay at the Inn of the Governors. It is older and the rooms could use a little updating but we would definitely recommend this hotel.

The breakfast was magnificent and Carlos who waited on us did a marvelous job (They should consider opening 30 minutes earlier).

The bar/ restaurant was very reasonable and many of the locals also frequent the establishment. They are known for their margaritas and they will not disappoint. It is walkable to the square and we seldom used the car (free parking).

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jeffsmead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamGerberding, General Manager at Inn of the Governors, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2014

Dear jeffsmead,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Inn. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay.

Carlos IS a true gem! He has worked with us for many years and we are lucky to have him.

We hope to see you again very soon!

In Health and prosperity,

Sam Gerberding
General Manager
Inn of the Governors

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
La Fonda on the Plaza
#6 of 60 in Santa Fe
622 reviews
Downtown
Inn on the Alameda
Inn on the Alameda
#2 of 60 in Santa Fe
2,404 reviews
Old Santa Fe Inn
#8 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Drury Plaza Hotel in Santa Fe
Downtown
Rosewood Inn of the Anasazi
Hotel Santa Fe
#13 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn of the Governors? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn of the Governors

Address: 101 West Alameda, Santa Fe, NM 87501-2117
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#10 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
#18 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range: $135 - $271 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn of the Governors 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inn of the Governors is a leader in hospitality among Santa Fe Hotels. We provide world-class service, a beautiful downtown location, complimentary Mountain Sunrise full breakfast, free parking and complimentary Tea and Sherry served daily in our lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, JackRabbit Systems, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone and getaroom.com so you can book your Inn of the Governors reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn Of The Governors Hotel Santa Fe
Hotel Of The Governors
Of The Governors Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing