We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a cozy place in winter”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Inn of the Governors
Ranked #13 of 61 Hotels in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 1, 2014

My wife and I stayed at this hotel twice last year, when traveling between Colorado and Arizona. It is a very welcoming place, especially when the weather is freezing outside. There are fireplaces inside keeping the lobby and cantina warm and cozy. We stayed in what they call a Superior room, which was comfortable, warm, and quiet. The decor is slightly on the rustic side, which seems common in Santa Fe, but quite nice nonetheless.
The cantina downstairs was very convenient, as you could get food without braving the cold. If you book direct with the hotel, you can get a $15/night food credit in addition to the free breakfast. If you're okay with casual meals, it was nice, and the food was good. There are numerous fancier places to eat nearby, if that's what you're looking for.
The hotel is in a part of town that is fun to wander around in. The staff was very welcoming and attentive to our needs. We're going back again next week.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Strider2357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamGerberding, General Manager at Inn of the Governors, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2014

Dear Strider2357,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at the Inn.

It's nice to know you were able to utilize the $15 food credit in Del Charro. It is a fun spot that can be easily enjoyed without breaking the bank.

I hope your second stay with us was as pleasant as the first.

In Health and prosperity,

Sam Gerberding
General Manager
Inn of the Governors

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,691)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

786 - 792 of 1,692 reviews

Reviewed January 31, 2014

Back at the inn for a leisurely weekend! This is a charming, beautiful hotel on the historic plaza. Gorgeous rooms with kiva fireplace, amazing location walking distance from attractions and restaurants. Delicious very rich breakfast buffet included in the room price. Cookies and sherry at 4 pm.... Love it! Enjoy!

Room Tip: The governors wing has the best rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Atllasoftheworld123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamGerberding, General Manager at Inn of the Governors, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2014

Dear Professor Idriss,

Thank you so much for your thoughtful review. We very much appreciate your repeat business! Guests such as yourself who return year after year help us to create that comfortable, family environment we strive for.

Hope to see you again very soon.

In Health and prosperity,

Sam Gerberding
General Manager
Inn of the Governors

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2014

I repeated a stay with the Inn because of the location, B&B atmosphere,fabulous breakfast buffet with fireplaces with Carlos - long time employee - great service, fireplaces in the room with available wood,heated 98* pool like a hottub for winter use, Goya package used was such a financial plus and Del Charro house restaurant is a 'total plus' - great food, prices and atmosphere - hamburger is better than BobCat Bite !!!!!

After confirming my stay within two wks of arrival the info of all the aspects of the Goya Package should have been provided in detail to me by the Inn reservation staff via web connections to museums and restaurant La Boca menus etc without me asking for it all etc etc I had to ask for all details/explainations of what are the particulars of the package etc Check in was very hectic due to a group also checking in - details were not explained to clear up all aspects of our stay etc - a better job could be done if a Conciege person were used to get with guests ie: booking a package and other discounts given by the Inn for a stay or use of amenities etc I requested early checkin due to early flight arrival and an East facing room with two beds and the staff was helpful to accomodate these requests -- a big help concerning this stay at the Inn.
I think all the staff did a great job once checked in- staying at the Inn - I have recommended others to the Inn and they too have enjoyed it -- so, I'll use it again and again.

Something for the Owner/Mgr of the Inn to think about would be a courtesy car of the Inn available to guests for pickups in the severe winter months- the great location is not easy to use with cold, snowy weather for walking and Inns/B&B's in Santa Barbara also offer cruiser bikes available to guests free with availability to enjoy the town -- a real plus ( could be a summer advantage for staying at the Inn !) !!!!

Room Tip: Definitely get a room with a fireplace -- standard rooms are small and use outside access to your ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ken c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamGerberding, General Manager at Inn of the Governors, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2014

Dear Ken c,

Thank you for taking the time to post such a thoughtful review. We truly appreciate your repeat business and are so pleased you utilized the Goya package.

It is a pleasure to know that you enjoyed Del Charro and Carlos is a real asset!

We will discuss your suggestions and see if it will be possible to implement.

Thanks again and we look forward to seeing you soon.

In Health and prosperity,

Sam Gerberding
General Manager
Inn of the Governors

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2014

I really love this hotel. The room was lovely and had a beautiful view over the Plaza. When I arrived, it was late and I was exhausted. The fruit and cheese platter they brought to my room was like heaven.

The beds were comfortable and the staff is really friendly. The breakfast buffet is delicious with a lot of variety.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank DesertRat880
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamGerberding, General Manager at Inn of the Governors, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2014

Dear DesertRat880,

We greatly appreciate your comments regarding your October stay with us. It is wonderful to know you enjoyed our comfortable beds and the complimentary breakfast buffet.

Thank you very much for mentioning our friendly staff. They all work very hard to make the Inn your home away from home.

In Health and prosperity,

Sam Gerberding
General Manager
Inn of the Governors

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2014

Christmas in Sante Fe was great.
Lots to do within walking distance of the Inn.
Staff service was great.
Breakfast was excellent-well prepared and a lot of variety.
Parking was on site.
Too cold(for us) to use the heated outdoor spa while wwe were there.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank jak7101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamGerberding, General Manager at Inn of the Governors, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2014

Dear jak101,

We are so pleased you enjoyed your Christmas in Santa Fe. It is a wonderful time of year to see the sights.

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay. It is great to know you were able to walk the city, the staff was helpful and the breakfast was tasty.

We hope to see you at the Inn again soon!

In Health and prosperity,

Sam Gerberding
General Manager
Inn of the Governors

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2014

This hotel is well located within walking distance to the Plaza and most major sights. The rooms are furnished in reds and browns, distinctly Southwest décor. The room was fairly large and had a kiva fireplace in the corner. This hotel had one of the nicest breakfast buffets that we ever had with Spanish and regular style eggs, spicy soup, waffles, bacon, fruit, sausage, hash browns, ham, etc. There is only an outdoor pool which is just okay. The lobby is very warm and inviting with a very homey feel. There is a city tour that picks up right at the hotel. Hotel staff is kind and helpful. We were on a package where we had a $25 food credit if we ate at the restaurant attached to the hotel, Del Charro. I was not sure how good it would be, but it turned out to be very good. The price for our meal was $35, so after the credit, we both ate for $10 which was a great deal.
I would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank angeleyes27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamGerberding, General Manager at Inn of the Governors, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2014

Dear Angeleyes27,

Many thanks for taking the time to review your stay with us!

We are so pleased you enjoyed our decor, the yummy complimentary breakfast buffet and lobby. Having the tram tour pickup right outside our door IS very convenient. These tours are a great way to see many of the things Santa Fe has to offer.

I am also quite happy to see you enjoyed Del Charro!

We hope you are able to stay with us again soon.

In Health and prosperity,

Sam Gerberding
General Manager
Inn of the Governors

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014

Unfortunately, we had only one night to spend at this lovely hotel. Super helpful staff, especially at reception. They have a nice tradition of serving coffee/tea or sherry from 3-5pm daily. We opted for a room with a fireplace. It was great; starter and wood were supplied by the hotel. The location was ideal for exploring the shops along the square. They had a heated outdoor pool which was great. What impressed me most was the exceptional attention to guests with disabilities. They had an excellent breakfast buffet with standard fare as well as southwestern foods as green chili stew and quesadillas. Rooms were exceptionally clean and spacious. Can't say enough good things about this establishment.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a room with a fireplace. It's worth it, if not just for the ambiance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank AlamedaYankeegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamGerberding, General Manager at Inn of the Governors, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2014

Dear AlamedaYankeegal,

Thank you for sharing such a lovely review! I am so glad you were able to interact with our helpful staff and enjoyed the complimentary breakfast buffet.

It's nice to see your mention of our attention to guests with disabilities. Our goal is to make certain each guest enjoys their stay to the fullest extent.

We look forward to seeing you again.

In Health and prosperity,

Sam Gerberding
General Manager
Inn of the Governors

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
Downtown
Inn on the Alameda
Inn on the Alameda
#3 of 61 in Santa Fe
2,499 reviews
La Fonda on the Plaza
#6 of 61 in Santa Fe
678 reviews
Old Santa Fe Inn
#7 of 61 in Santa Fe
1,666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Drury Plaza Hotel in Santa Fe
Hotel Santa Fe
#14 of 61 in Santa Fe
1,708 reviews
Downtown
Hilton Santa Fe Historic Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn of the Governors? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn of the Governors

Address: 101 West Alameda, Santa Fe, NM 87501-2117
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#8 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
#18 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range: $133 - $235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn of the Governors 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inn of the Governors is a leader in hospitality among Santa Fe Hotels. We provide world-class service, a beautiful downtown location, complimentary Mountain Sunrise full breakfast, free parking and complimentary Tea and Sherry served daily in our lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with JackRabbit Systems, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Inn of the Governors reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn Of The Governors Hotel Santa Fe
Hotel Of The Governors
Of The Governors Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing