We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Inn of the Governors” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Inn of the Governors

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Inn of the Governors
Ranked #10 of 61 Hotels in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
north carolina
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Inn of the Governors”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

Very friendly Inn, close to the plaza. Great breakfast buffet. Also good lunch food. Did not try for dinner. Parking is tight but free. Get a room with a kiva if weather is cool. We did not have a room with a view but it was nice and quiet.

Room Tip: We enjoyed our room in the main but older building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank orchidguy87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamGerberding, General Manager at Inn of the Governors, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Dear orchidguy87, Thank you for your recent review of your stay with the Inn! I appreciate your comments and feedback and am happy to hear you enjoyed the breakfast and Del Charro. The parking can be tight if we are busy, but we make every effort to ensure enough room for all our guests. The rooms with the wood burning fireplaces are quite enjoyable during our cool winter months. Our staff look forward to welcoming you again!

In Health and prosperity,

Sam Gerberding
General Manager
Inn of the Governors
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,307 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    786
    412
    79
    20
    10
See reviews for
277
601
61
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (307)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
tucson
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

We just returned from a wonderful celebration and family reunion at Inn of the Governors where we spent 3 nights. Our group took 5 rooms and each was configured a little differently, but all were just wonderful. The staff is the best we've ever encountered. My husband and I hosted a small dinner in the Governor's room. Deb, the staff person in charge of catering services was extremely accommodating. I wanted to show a slide show with my Apple computer. She provided the projector and adaptor for no extra charge. They even provided a lovely centerpiece for the table and they allowed us to decorate the room with balloons and banners. The GM went out of his way to make us all happy. He even gave our grandson a plate of chips and salsa when all the cookies were gone from the lobby and our grandson said he was hungry. We have stayed at the Inn before and consider it our family's special gathering. place as we come from 3 different states. The location is ideal too--walking distance to the plaza. The Inn of the Governors will always hold a special place in my heart.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank sharon o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamGerberding, General Manager at Inn of the Governors, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Dear Sharon, I am so pleased your family had a wonderful stay! It is an absolute pleasure for our staff and myself to be of service. Thank you for your continued patronage of the Inn and the magnificent review of your recent visit. We all look forward to seeing you again soon!

In Health and prosperity,

Sam Gerberding
General Manager
Inn of the Governors
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013 via mobile

Inn of the Governors is superb across the categories we all care about - customer service, room size, cleanliness, location, value, etc. But, even more impressively, all the details in this establishment are just as you would want them - real Native American rugs, beautifully restored furniture and staff that has impeccably positive attitude, for example. The overall experience, then, is outstanding and memorable.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Beat92629
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamGerberding, General Manager at Inn of the Governors, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Thank you so much for your review of your recent stay at the Inn. We couldn't be more pleased that everything about your stay was superb! We especially appreciate knowing that our staff was helpful and positive. We hope to see you again in the very near future.

In Health and prosperity,

Sam Gerberding
General Manager
Inn of the Governors
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Everett, Washington
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

We travel to Santa Fe almost every year and always stay at The Inn of the Governors. We've seen many changes over the years but it just keeps getting better. The complimentary breakfast is above and beyond most hotels and actually is freshly prepared AND tastes good! The bar, Del Charro has delicious food and drinks and is so reasonably priced. The only problem we have is getting a table because it is so good and popular, especially with the locals. The location is perfect and it's so quiet and relaxing. The only negative is that the rooms could use some updating, especially in the bathroom areas but that is so minor. It is super clean and the beds are really comfy.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Kathy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamGerberding, General Manager at Inn of the Governors, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Hi Kathy, Thank you so much for patronizing the Inn for 15+ years! We are so happy to have guests like you returning year after year. We like to know you appreciated your room cleanliness, your bed, the staff and Del Charro! We are in the beginning stages of looking at our next renovation and hope to have something in the works soon. I look forward to your next visit!

In health and prosperity,

Sam Gerberding
General Manager
Inn of the Governors
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Easton, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

We celebrated our 10th anniversary traveling through Arizona and New Mexico..The Inn of the Governors was wonderful..Our room featured a kiva and a balcony. Nice breakfast, courteous staff, clean rooms, wonderful amenities and a great bartender!! Really enjoyed the fact that locals patronized the bar. I would not hesitate to return to the Inn. There was only one slight drawback.... parking was free, but at a premium.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank joliejambe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamGerberding, General Manager at Inn of the Governors, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Hi Joliejambe, I'm so thrilled you were able to spend part of your 10th Anniversary trip with us! Thank you for commending the room, breakfast and staff! Del Charro does have quite a lively following from both locals and visitors! We are glad you were able to have fun there! We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

In Health and prosperity,

Sam Gerberding
General Manager
Inn of the Governors
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
111 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

The best thing about visiting Santa Fe is walking around, and the central location is great. They have a range of rooms, but the reasons we come back are: heated outdoor pool, free parking and near the plaza, very nice full breakfast is included, and the staff is very friendly and accommodating. There are more elegant hotels, but do you really want to be in the room, or do you want to be in Santa Fe?

Room Tip: The more expensive rooms are quieter and have fireplaces and balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kristin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamGerberding, General Manager at Inn of the Governors, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Hi Kristin, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We truly appreciate your comments. Although we try hard to provide inviting and comfortable rooms, I agree that time is best spent out enjoying all that Santa Fe and Northern New Mexico have to offer. We hope to welcome you again soon!

In Health and prosperity,

Sam Gerberding
General Manager
Inn of the Governors
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ogden, Utah
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

We have just returned from a long weekend in Santa Fe, where we had the delightful experience of staying at the Inn of the Governors. Everything about this hotel pleased us -- the rooms and their charming appointments, the cleanliness, the comfortable beds, the flower boxes bursting with flowers, the tea and sherry hour, the absolutely delicious breakfast, the friendly staff, the excellent location. We obviously were very happy with our stay and would heartily recommend this hotel to one and all.

Room Tip: We did not want a fireplace in our room, so we chose a traditional king room. The fireplace rooms an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marsha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamGerberding, General Manager at Inn of the Governors, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Thank you so much for staying with us and for the glowing review! It is our goal to provide the best in service, amenities and atmosphere. We are so pleased to have met your needs and to see your positive feedback. We hope to welcome you back to the Inn again in the near future.

In Health and prosperity,

Sam Gerberding
General Manager
Inn of the Governors
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
Downtown
Inn on the Alameda
Inn on the Alameda
#2 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 stars 1,728 reviews
La Fonda on the Plaza
#5 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 stars 1,810 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Santa Fe Inn
#4 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 stars 1,339 reviews
Inn of the Five Graces
#1 of 61 in Santa Fe
5.0 of 5 stars 502 reviews
Downtown
Eldorado Hotel & Spa
Eldorado Hotel & Spa
#17 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.0 of 5 stars 1,127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn of the Governors? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn of the Governors

Property: Inn of the Governors
Address: 101 West Alameda, Santa Fe, NM 87501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#10 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
#18 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn of the Governors 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inn of the Governors is a leader in hospitality among Santa Fe Hotels. We provide world-class service, a beautiful downtown location, complimentary Mountain Sunrise full breakfast, free parking and complimentary Tea and Sherry served daily in our lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with JackRabbit Systems, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Inn of the Governors reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn Of The Governors Hotel Santa Fe
Hotel Of The Governors
Of The Governors Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing