We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Inn of the Governors
Ranked #12 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
Greenfield MA
Level Contributor
72 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great breakfast”
Reviewed October 5, 2013

This was in a very nice and convenient location. Some rooms are hotel style, some motel, if you have a preference. The breakfast had both hot and cold options, including excellent spanish-style scrambled eggs. Parking is free and easy.We were happy with our choice, tho when we ventured into a couple of other hotels I felt a bit jealous. This is not luxury but nothing is really wrong with it either.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Julie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,567 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    960
    479
    91
    25
    12
See reviews for
336
722
69
72
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (381)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Elmhurst, Illinois
Level Contributor
64 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

We enjoyed the location,the homey lobby, the plants, the cute pool and mid-afternoon sherry, tea, and snacks. The included breakfasts were good and we enjoyed the $15 credit in the restaurant a few times. We were in a small and very clean room, but we were very short on towels for our 3 night stay-no clean towels unless you request them. Also the carpeting on the landings could use a good vacuum or replacement. It was also quite noisy from the street and some of the adjoining rooms. There seemed to be some large groups there having some late night fun. They do provide earplugs. The free parking was great, but we saw 2 cars back into the building while we were there. Yes, an older crowd.

Room Tip: Rooms across from pool and main building on Alameda are noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nancy0927
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, Georgia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

We loved this hotel in every way. The location is terrific. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The complimentary breakfast buffet is spectacular. The additional meal credit of $15/day can be applied to lunch, dinner or the bar tab.The Bar/Restaurant, Del Charro's has a strong local following and is a vibrant scene around happy hour.

The rooms are nicely done in authentic southwest motifs with balconies and/or patio areas. There are loads of flower baskets hanging all over the grounds and numerous wind mobiles. It is a delightful hotel experience. Parking spots are free with the room.
This is a fantastic place to call home when visiting Sante Fe.

Room Tip: No bad locations from what I could tell.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Roswell_Guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamGerberding, General Manager at Inn of the Governors, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write the lovely review. It is nice to know that we are able to achieve our tagline, which is to be "your home in the heart of Santa Fe."

We are quite proud of our exceptional staff and I'm so pleased your experienced the same during your stay. We all look forward to your return visits!

In Health and prosperity,

Sam Gerberding
General Manager
Inn of the Governors
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
75 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013

This is an excellent place to stay if visiting the enchanting city of Santa Fe. It is in easy strolling distance of all the sights and sounds of the city and comes complete with a pub style bar which is one of the top social gathering places for locals in the evenings – with excellent beers, wines and food menu at good value. The hotel restaurant also competes well with the many eating out places in town.

The hotel has a welcoming and relaxing atmosphere and a small but well turned out pool. Staff are very friendly and there is a lovely complimentary cooked breakfast available.

Rooms are motel style on two levels but very cosy and inviting. All are superbly furnished and spotlessly clean.

All round, this is just the right place to be in a great city.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AddickMark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamGerberding, General Manager at Inn of the Governors, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful review! We are so pleased you had an opportunity to delight in our hospitality on your recent visit to Santa Fe.

The city has so many offerings for travelers and we work hard to include things like the complimentary breakfast, complimentary parking and the daily tea & sherry hour for you to enjoy.

We hope to see you again on a future visit!

In Health and prosperity,

Sam Gerberding
General Manager
Inn of the Governors
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

I usually choose a hotel that's less expensive, but not as convenient to the plaza. We decided to stay at Inn of the Governors to see how we liked the convenience of being near downtown. I must admit, the ease of not having to constantly find parking was refreshing. Also, the breakfast was the best that I've had at a hotel. For whatever reason, the crowd staying at this hotel was significantly an older crowd. if h

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shelbynoel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

We visited Santa Fe for a cousin's wedding and did quite a bit of research before we booked a room. Our research definitely lead us in the right direction. My husband and I shared a room with our two teenagers. Normally we try to get something with two bathrooms but it is a bit pricy to stay near The Plaza so we opted for an oversize room. The room was very large and very nicely decorated. There is a sink inside the bathroom and another one outside. It ended up working out quite well. Beyond the homey room there are so many wonderful reasons to stay at The Inn of The Governors. 1. Free parking, many places charge. 2. A wonderful included breakfast every morning. 3. Friendly staff (from desk clerk to servers to bartenders to maids to security guard to host). Everyone was so kind and helpful. 4. Sherry and tea each evening. 5. Walking distance to shops and restaurants. 6. Heated pool. Other family members who booked rooms at different places in Santa Fe wished that they had made the same choice as we did. I would not even consider staying anywhere else besides Inn of the Governors if I were to ever visit Santa Fe again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ColaK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamGerberding, General Manager at Inn of the Governors, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Thank you for your great review of your recent stay with us! We truly appreciate your comments and look forward to sharing them with all of our staff.

Perhaps you can return for some wintertime activities soon.

In Health and prosperity,

Sam Gerberding
General Manager
Inn of the Governors
gm@innofthegovernors.com
505-954-0332
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
303 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

We stayed at the Inn of the Governors for five nights and were delighted with the room, the friendly and helpful service from all the staff and the location. We were up-graded to a kiva room for an extended stay and it was spacious, and especially well-appointed with Native American and Spanish fixtures. Comfortable king bed, chairs for evening reading and plenty of room. The breakfast was a good full buffet, and the afternoon sherry and tea (with delicious cookies) in the large, comfortable lobby or around the heated pool was a nice added touch. The pool area is very pleasant and added a congenial outside place to relax after a day around town. The flowers and plantings in the walled pool area as well as throughout the property gave the Inn a sense of quiet privacy two blocks from the plaza and within easy walking distance of many excellent restaurants. We wanted a car for a couple of trips out in SF and Taos, but if you are staying in Santa Fe, the walkable location of the Inn plus a free shuttle (and city bus I think) out to Museum Hill or the Railyards makes a car unnecessary. Overall, a terrific place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank robin082
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamGerberding, General Manager at Inn of the Governors, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful review! We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay in Santa Fe and at the Inn of the Governors.

We hope you are able to stay with us again in the near future.

In Health and prosperity,

Sam Gerberding
General Manager
Inn of the Governors
gm@innofthegovernors.com
505-954-0332
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
Downtown
Inn on the Alameda
Inn on the Alameda
#2 of 60 in Santa Fe
2,232 reviews
La Fonda on the Plaza
#5 of 60 in Santa Fe
2,185 reviews
Old Santa Fe Inn
#9 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
El Dorado Hotel & Spa
El Dorado Hotel & Spa
#17 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,328 reviews
Downtown
Inn and Spa at Loretto
Inn and Spa at Loretto
#22 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,775 reviews
Hotel Santa Fe
#13 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn of the Governors? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn of the Governors

Property: Inn of the Governors
Address: 101 West Alameda, Santa Fe, NM 87501-2117
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#10 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
#18 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn of the Governors 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inn of the Governors is a leader in hospitality among Santa Fe Hotels. We provide world-class service, a beautiful downtown location, complimentary Mountain Sunrise full breakfast, free parking and complimentary Tea and Sherry served daily in our lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Inn of the Governors reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn Of The Governors Hotel Santa Fe
Hotel Of The Governors
Of The Governors Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing