We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Time to review”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Inn of the Governors
Ranked #12 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 27, 2013

My husband and I have stayed at Inn of the Governors before, and were pleased enough to return.
Although I must admit it was our third choice. While it still has a great location, we found it lacking this visit. The mattresses appear to have served their purpose - neither my husband nor I slept well. The other thing that added to our discomfort, both during the day and while attempting to sleep, was the fact that the air conditioner was not sufficient for the space. In room 255 the air conditioner is aimed at the wall straight to the side of the room and NO AIR is aimed at the full length of the room, nor is there any ceiling fan to assist with air circulation. Therefore, while we set our air conditioning at 75 at home and are quite comfortable, setting the AC at 69 in our room still left too warm - simply because the AC was not correct for the space.

Room Tip: Try another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nydy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,676)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

869 - 875 of 1,676 reviews

Reviewed July 24, 2013

I opted for a Kiva Fireplace Room with 2 Queens in the quietest area of the hotel. The room was almost perfect!
I always stay here. Between the well-appointed room, the gorgeous flowers and Southwest style that surrrounds you, the little old Native American ladies who spread their jewelry out on a table each morning, the perfect temperature pool with birds serenading you, the Del Charro Saloon right inside the hotel, room service til midnight, the totally accommodating staff ( love you Orlando, Krista, Alberto, Dave, Mercedes, everyone!) and the best breakfast buffet I've ever experienced, I always feel like a Queen!

Room Tip: Decide whether you want to party or have quiet and ask for what you want. Rooms with patios may rece...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gourmasseur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

Booked a deluxe king room with private balcony. Got to the room and patio was right over AC unit - noisy. Called downstairs and was promptly moved across the hall to different room with great balcony -nice view, tree right outside, birds singing in am, quiet (room 261). Was super nice to be able to sleep with patio door open at night.

Easy walk to plaza, railyard, farmers market, REI, shops, galleries

Bed was very comfortable, linens of high quality, room immaculate. Nice bathroom with pretty tile work, good toiletries, breakfast buffet actually very good (we're kinda picky) with fresh watermelon, other fruit, real eggs, good bacon, sausage.

All staff very friendly and professional, didn't make me feel like a complainer when asked for different room :)

Will definitely stay here again next time in Santa Fe!!!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rita8740
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Our family of 6 people booked 2 rooms during July and, although expensive, it was clean and well-located. They have a pool (would have liked a spa to go with it) that our grandson enjoyed. The breakfasts were substantial, and the servers were pleasant and efficient. The internet was intermittent, much to the frustration of our daughter. Rooms are not large and the bathroom is a little too small for comfort.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Marigoldmary5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

The Inn of the Governors is centrally located, comfortable, clean and comes with several perks that you won't get at other Santa Fe hotels. Having previously stayed at two other Santa Fe hotels which were lovely, I wondered if the Inn of the Governors would be able to meet my expectations. I was thoroughly pleased to say that it did. Its ambiance was very charming and fit well with the Santa Fe vibe. The lobby was well decorated and comfortable, it had an inviting, open layout that looked out onto the pool. My friend and I had a spacious and clean two queen room, with a flat screen tv, mini fridge, good size closet with bathrobes. The bathroom was on the small side, but it was clean and the bath soaps, shower gel, shampoo and conditioner were fantastic. The shower had great water pressure and maintained a good temperature as well. The hotel also provided water bottles in your mini-fridge that you could purchase for $1 which isn't an outrageous price. It was convenient if you were setting off on a hiking adventure to Bandelier or Tent Rocks. The fee for the water bottles you drink is added to your bill when you check out. The air conditioning in the room was quiet and kept the room very cool.

The hotel really did a great job with breakfast. You had a nice selection to choose from: hot food like eggs, ham, bacon, pancakes as well as fruits, pastries, and bagels. The breakfast area is spacious and has a lovely outside covered patio. In the afternoon, the hotel has complimentary sherry and tea hour. There's also cucumber infused water in the lobby for guests to drink. The hotel staff were friendly, especially the woman who greeted us when we pulled up to check in. Other perks of the Inn include free parking which is a nice convenience and a lovely heated pool. We went to the pool a few times and found it relaxing.

Overall, we really enjoyed our stay at the Inn of the Governors. It is great great place to have as your home during your stay in Santa Fe.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank metrochica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

We stayed here for three nights in June. Not having been to Santa Fe before, we followed advice to "stay on the Plaza", which may or may not have been a mistake. The Inn of the Governors was Hobson's choice for us, for it was the only hotel near the Plaza with available rooms when we made the reservation.

First off, the good:

1. Location- it's a block from the Plaza; an easy walk.
2. Staff- with on exception that I'll get to, very courteous and helpful.
3. Breakfast buffet- This was included with the room charge, and it is outstanding!
4. Parking- included, although pretty tight quarters if your driving a large vehicle.

Now, the not-so-good:

1. The property is old. Aside from the lobby and the breakfast area, it needs updating from what we saw. Our room was vintage 70's with Southwestern-themed decoration piled over it. The bathroom was a closet, and there was mold visible on the walls and floor. The toilet had operational issues.

2. The room was small. We booked a "Deluxe Room with 2 Queen Beds", and the two beds took up most of the room. Clean (except for the bathroom), but very tight quarters.

3. Air conditioning- pretty much there wasn't any, and the system was very noisy. The first night we noticed it was somewhat warm in the room, but it wasn't too oppressive. The second night was so bad I visited the front desk to seek help. The man on duty offered a fan and the promise that someone would take care of it in the morning. It was a difficult evening- very little sleep.
The next morning when I inquired as to the status of the repair, the daytime person on the desk knew nothing about the problem, so I had to go through the story again. A repairman was apparently summoned and the AC worked better on the third night, although still loud.

With the cost of a room at this property, I expected better- much better accommodations. Ownership there needs to invest more of their profits back into the facility and do better than offer a guest a fan when the AC fails on a hot summer evening.

Although it is close to the Plaza, there are several much newer properties and additional block or so away that probably deliver a better room at a better price.

When I return to Santa Fe, I'll not return to the Inn of the Governors.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ted R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Stayed two nights with my parents, great hotel. Free parking, free internet and free breakfast. Breakfast was AMAZING and so was service. It's an older hotel that has been revitilized with many new amenities, great down town location, didn't use pool but it must have been heated because in March there were kids swimming in it.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank forkrisf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
Downtown
Inn on the Alameda
Inn on the Alameda
#2 of 60 in Santa Fe
2,462 reviews
La Fonda on the Plaza
#6 of 60 in Santa Fe
658 reviews
Old Santa Fe Inn
#7 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Drury Plaza Hotel in Santa Fe
Hotel Santa Fe
#13 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,693 reviews
Downtown
Rosewood Inn of the Anasazi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn of the Governors? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn of the Governors

Address: 101 West Alameda, Santa Fe, NM 87501-2117
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#8 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
#18 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range: $133 - $251 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn of the Governors 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inn of the Governors is a leader in hospitality among Santa Fe Hotels. We provide world-class service, a beautiful downtown location, complimentary Mountain Sunrise full breakfast, free parking and complimentary Tea and Sherry served daily in our lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, JackRabbit Systems, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone and Priceline so you can book your Inn of the Governors reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn Of The Governors Hotel Santa Fe
Hotel Of The Governors
Of The Governors Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing