We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Genuine Hospitality - Staff is comprised of people who care”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Inn of the Governors
Ranked #12 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 7, 2013

I have logged literally millions of miles in travel....never wrote a review...never felt compelled to write about what I expected, and never felt compelled to complain or whine about situations that were less than stellar. However, our party of four had an experience at the Inn of the Governors that extends beyond hospitality and provides evidence that there is still greatness in humanity. Santa Fe was one of our stops on our cross country journey and we rolled in at about 2 or 3 am. Steve and Mitch (I hope these names are correct) went well beyond the call of duty and provided us with unparalleled service and care. Without going into details, our group was extremely unique and our situation that morning was tenuous. Steve and Mitch quickly assessed our needs and provided what they could to make our stay comfortable. The next morning we were re-energized by the fantastic breakfast buffet that included fresh squeezed OJ. Later that afternoon we enjoyed the sherry (and seminar on sherry) in the lobby. Sam is the general manager and it is evident that he leads by example, truly cares about his role at the property, and gives his staff the latitude to make out of the box decisions that will create positive unforgettable experiences for the guests. We stayed another night because of the warm welcome. Comfortable, clean, secure, extreme value, walking distance to everything, internet, pool...yes. But with over 50,000 places to stay in the US, it is the staff that sets this facility apart. Intuative, caring, and compassionate.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Joe L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,668)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

878 - 884 of 1,668 reviews

Reviewed July 6, 2013

We had basic room which was a bit dated but fine and would have given 4 stars if not for the jet engine sound that came on for A/c that must have been servicing another part of hotel. We did fine earplugs in cotton ball holder but was next morning! staff was great and breakfast was good. Was a great location and for the price a good deal. But a good night sleep in invaluable!

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank BIGFUNNOW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

May 17, 2013 we checked in and taken to a very nice room. Room was freshly painted so it smelled. Was told to keep the window open and the paint smell would lessen. After walking around town and having dinner, we returned to the room and the smell was just as bad. I spoke with the front desk and they did the right thing, they found a room and moved us. Both rooms were very nice. Had dinner downstairs and the food was very good. Went back later for a snack. The next morning we had the hotel breakfast which had many choices on the buffet. If we ever go back to Santa Fe, I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BRubin510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

We took a romantic vacation for 4 days on june 15,2013.This hotel was perfectly situated for the first time visitor to Santa fe!Walking distance to everything!We had a king room with a woodburning fireplace too!Wifi signal was good as well.Little patio.Nice little pool with adequete chairs and poolside service.We booked with the hotel directly and got a great breakfast and a credit at the resteraunt too!Made it kind of a ep style!Big buffett breakfast in the am with friendly service and a lovely afternoon tea!We really enjoyed the friendly front desk and they gave us great dining ideas!The room was clean and though the bathroom is small it worked and was charming.(it is an older hotel)This hotel gives you a very at home welcoming feeling.Overall great!Plus fre parking and even some covered!Thank you!

Room Tip: although our room was by the elevator it was dead silent!no problem sleeping.fireplace was awesome!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank idiversue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

We wanted to stay near the plaza so this is how we ended up here. It was near the plaza and and very close walking distance from all the shops and eateries. We liked the room, we had a king with a balcony and fireplace, although we didn't use it it was in the high 80's all three days. The beds were excellent and it was a clean room, the staff were friendly and willing to smile. This place had charm and we would stay there again. It was expensive, but the prices to stay near the plaza were all high, location, location, location.
The breakfast buffet was more than enough and the service for the b-fast was excellent. For buffet food it was pretty good and the fruit was excellent.
The bar grill attached to the Inn had the best burgers and the drinks were flowing pretty well, They have a lot of traffic coming in thier doors.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brownalteza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

I read mixed reviews on this location and I do not understand why. We stayed here for 5 nights and just loved the place. Excellent location, easy to park in lot and walk to most places. Wood burning fireplace in our room which was LARGE. They offer a $15 credit to the Del Charro located on premise which was convenient for lunch before relaxing by the pool in the afternoon after doing our site seeing in the morning. Very nice breakfast buffet and good staff throughout the hotel. Recommend this place great value.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank crazyjaney9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

The food at this Inn is incredible! The Breakfast menu is diverse and really good. The restaurant is a real bargain and appears to be a favorite haunt of locals. The price of the food (generous portions) and the drinks represent a real value. Even if you don't stay here, it would be worth it to have lunch or dinner here.

The rooms are nice, but avoid the rooms that are next to the main street (main entrance) because the road is very busy and can be noisy. Parking can be tight. Close to the Plaza and many restaurants.

Good staff, nice lobby, nice pool. We would re-visit.

Room Tip: Bes sure to request quiet rooms and not in proximity to the main street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Edward Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
Downtown
Inn on the Alameda
Inn on the Alameda
#3 of 60 in Santa Fe
2,456 reviews
La Fonda on the Plaza
#6 of 60 in Santa Fe
645 reviews
Old Santa Fe Inn
#7 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Drury Plaza Hotel in Santa Fe
Hotel Santa Fe
#13 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,689 reviews
Downtown
Inn and Spa at Loretto
Inn and Spa at Loretto
#19 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,845 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn of the Governors? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn of the Governors

Address: 101 West Alameda, Santa Fe, NM 87501-2117
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#10 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
#18 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range: $133 - $244 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn of the Governors 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inn of the Governors is a leader in hospitality among Santa Fe Hotels. We provide world-class service, a beautiful downtown location, complimentary Mountain Sunrise full breakfast, free parking and complimentary Tea and Sherry served daily in our lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with JackRabbit Systems, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Inn of the Governors reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn Of The Governors Hotel Santa Fe
Hotel Of The Governors
Of The Governors Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing