We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still great- but slipping.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Inn of the Governors

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Inn of the Governors
Ranked #11 of 61 Hotels in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
Arvada, Colorado
Level Contributor
111 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Still great- but slipping.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

We have been staying at Inn of the Governors yearly for the past 8 years. We usually go during spring break and really wondered during our recent trip in June if the place is under new management or if they just don't cater as well to their customers because they don't need the business during the summer. We stayed for 3 nights in a mini suite, which was lovely and large, and the Mountain Sunrise Breakfast each morning was as great as always. The location is excellent, just park the car and walk to the Plaza and surrounding areas.

Our concern was with the hospitality and customer service provided (or not) by the staff. No one seemed to be happy in their jobs (except for the great staff at the Del Charro), We were not given the Del Charro cantina credit as promised on the website with a reservation, and when we asked were told that we were given the "best rate" so we wouldn't receive this credit. Best rate?? They dismissed us when we inquired, and were only responded to in an accommodating manner by a nice desk clerk the next morning. We had two days credit in the cantina, at least. The first night we were there, there were obviously drunken and extremely loud guests on the balcony below us, who we finally called to complain about at 1:20 a.m. Do they not have security to pay attention to these disturbances? The person who answered our call was obviously annoyed that we called, and we are not even sure they followed up with our concerns. No one called to follow up with us the next day. No one from management ever answered an email that I sent early in our stay about the Del Charro credit either. We have always loved Inn of the Governors, but will investigate other places that need our business in Santa Fe or who care to show some hospitality.

Room Tip: If you make a reservation on their website, make sure that you get the Del Charro credit up front...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ehsincolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,340 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    810
    419
    80
    21
    10
See reviews for
284
618
63
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (317)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shawnigan Lake, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

I booked and then upgraded to a room with door to inside hallway as opposed to outside breezeway door. After arriving I saw that any room would be great. We were two women traveling and felt safe and secure the entire time at this hotel and in Santa Fe. The rooms are pretty and the open lobby has lots of charm, the heated pool while not huge was never crowded and heated beautifully. Its location is excellent, you can stroll to everything, and quiet at night. The staff was helpful, friendly and gracious. Thanks to Ken for restaurant recommendations. The buffet breakfast that is complementary is terrific, starting at 6.30 am made it perfect for getting out and about early, I will recommend this place to all my friends and will stay there again, not one negative, its lovely.

Room Tip: A variety of room sizes, ask booking staff for recommendations
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shawniganlake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013 via mobile

Perfect place located just off the Plaza. Staff was amazing!
Kids were happy because there was a nice pool, adults happy to sit in hopping bar or have a drink outdoors in the sitting area or next to pool. The bar was packed with not only guests but locals too- great place to hang.
Breakfast was included and excellent.
Walk to all major places.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kerrybarefoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clemmons, North Carolina
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

We recently spent 2 nights in a King deluxe room. The room was charming- in addition to the bed & bath (2 sinks) , it had a Kiva fireplace,sitting area with a leather couch and arm chair and a balcony with 2 chairs. The decor was Southwestern and very attractive. Parking is free and the inn is walking distance to just about everything in Santa Fe. Once we parked the car, we didn't move it again until we left to go home! The breakfast (included in the room rate) is first rate; we had 2 types of eggs, bacon, sausage, fruit, danishes, chicken quesadillas, etc. There was enough there that you could easily skip lunch! In the afternoon the inn offered sherry, various teas and cookies. There's also a heated pool in the courtyard. The staff is very nice and went out of their way to help us with restaurant recomendations, etc. (The inn is walking distance to some really excellent restaurants as well!). We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here and would welcome the chance to come back!

Room Tip: Spend the extra money for a deluxe room, you'll be glad you did!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DebfromNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livermore, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

This hotel is in a great location. We walked to dinner almost every night and only used our car two days out of our five-day stay. It was clean, the bed was very comfortable and it was extremely quiet the entire time we were there in spite of the inn seeming to be full at the time. There were two sinks-one in and one outside the bathroom, which made it easy for each of us to get ready in the morning at the same time. There was fairly good quality Wolfgang Puck coffee in our room with the coffee maker, with real cream, which is always appreciated. The shower had nice water pressure. We didn't use the balcony at all since it was in the direct sun the entire time and the view was the parking lot and the building next door. I think the rate of the room was very good for what we got, especially if you ask for the AAA rate (I don't recall seeing that advertised on their web site, but they'll give you the rate if you ask). The complimentary breakfast was outstanding. Probably the best one I have had in a hotel that was included in the rate.

However, the restaurant attached to the inn is a little odd to me. You can have dinner in the outdoor, covered patio but the menu is all bar food and the bar in the restaurant is a total dive-rowdy local construction workers coming in after work and a sign on the way to the restroom that lists house rules that include no inappropriate public display of affection and no cursing (they appeared to be serious). My husband and I just wanted to have a cocktail, talk and maybe listen to some nice music but had to walk down to the piano bar of the Vanessie for that. I have nothing against a good dive bar but why would you want that on your hotel property? And I'm sorry, NOT the best margarita in town, no matter what they say.

Also, be forewarned about the inn's parking. It's great that they are one of the few, if not the only of the hotels in the downtown Santa Fe area that offer free parking for their guests, but there is a reason for that. Unless you are driving a Toyota Prius or a Mini Cooper, you are going to have a very difficult time parking your car every night (one of the reasons we tried very hard not to use our car while we were there). I can't even really describe the design of the lot but it's pretty poor and the parking spots are too cramped together. There is an underground parking area with a ceiling so low my husband had to duck to walk to the car. We did damage to our rental car parking our car there the first night and, while it was our fault, it would not likely have happened if it was easier to navigate their lot.

I think this inn is a very good value and not a bad place, but I honestly don't know that I would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jamarq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bar Harbor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

I slept soundly every night here. Had a fireplace in my room with plenty of firewood to be had out in the hall. Every member of the staff was unfailingly friendly and helpful. Decent food. Easy to walk to the Plaza and other downtown spots.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KBRBarHarbor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grove City, Ohio
Level Contributor
84 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 4 nights in a deluxe room. I liked having an interior room with a balcony. The bed was comfortable and the towels were thick and absorbent. This felt like a luxury accommodation but had quaint touches such as sherry and bischochitas (cookies) every evening between 4 and 5. My daughter loved the cookies! The location could not have been better but there was some renovation going on at the back of the hotel. However the workers were respectful about not starting the work too early. Pool was small but nice - could have been kept cleaner. Hot buffet breakfast was wonderful and lovely patio to sit and enjoy. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BethRossi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
Downtown
Inn on the Alameda
Inn on the Alameda
#2 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 stars 1,779 reviews
La Fonda on the Plaza
#7 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 stars 1,868 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Santa Fe Inn
#4 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 stars 1,357 reviews
Inn of the Five Graces
#1 of 61 in Santa Fe
5.0 of 5 stars 511 reviews
Downtown
Eldorado Hotel & Spa
Eldorado Hotel & Spa
#17 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.0 of 5 stars 1,159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn of the Governors? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn of the Governors

Property: Inn of the Governors
Address: 101 West Alameda, Santa Fe, NM 87501-2117
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#10 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
#18 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn of the Governors 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inn of the Governors is a leader in hospitality among Santa Fe Hotels. We provide world-class service, a beautiful downtown location, complimentary Mountain Sunrise full breakfast, free parking and complimentary Tea and Sherry served daily in our lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, JackRabbit Systems, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Inn of the Governors reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn Of The Governors Hotel Santa Fe
Hotel Of The Governors
Of The Governors Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing