We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oh what a Surprise and Extremely Happy!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Inn of the Governors
Ranked #12 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Such ambiance to this hotel. The rooms are decorated so nicely. Centrally located to walkable sites in town. The all inclusive breakfast to die for.. far from your typical continental. Also the bar restaurant exteremly affordable. We had a great stay.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lacm59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,629)
There are newer reviews for Inn of the Governors
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

883 - 889 of 1,629 reviews

Reviewed April 14, 2013

We were not terribly happy the first night as the noise from the pub was a little loud in our room. We told the front desk, then went out for the day. When we came back in the afternoon they had moved our stuff to a room in the back which was very quiet, Wonderful customer service.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank missct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

Definitely not one if the big hotel/spa experiences, but very nice staff, nice extras like Sherry and cookies and tea 4-5 pm. Definitely would recommend upgrade to mini suite for $30/ night for a roomy relaxing room to really enjoy. Other rooms were more " motel 6" style. Liked that breakfast was hearty and included, tea available all day long. Very clean and great daily service. In- house restaurant just ok. front desk very helpful. Would recommend.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

We stayed 2 nights at this hotel and thoroughly enjoyed it. The staff at the front desk were very helpful with recommendations, etc. The room was lovely and the breakfast was the best free (included) breakfast we can remember.
Beautiful decor. It is an older hotel so the bathroom was a bit small but we really loved the ambience and would definitely stay there again.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Sandra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

This is a wonderful hotel, with great staff in a great location. The free parking alone, in the centre of town, is worth the price of admission. I love that the free wifi was not a hassle, no passwords and logging on every 3 seconds. Breakfast was delicious, service was great. Afternoon sherry was a pleasure. I really appreciated the convenient computers in the lobby. Honestly everything was great.

In addition to this, due to a flight saga, I arrived and checked in to my room at 6am - I was so worn out I practically fell asleep on the reception desk. I expected to be charged for the 'night' even though I had not actually slept in my room and I was just so delighted to see that they did not charge me for those few hours. This is the kind of courtesy that makes travelers like me want to tell everyone to stay there. Bravo.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mmqc2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013

Clearly there is an emphasis on service here. Lots of "extras."
A year round heated swimming pool. Fireplaces in the grill and the two rooms where breakfast was served. A superb breakfast buffet with gourmet home made muffins in the morning. Covered and underground parking. Steps to the plaza and other shops. And the rooms? We stayed on the governor's wing...with a king bed, pull out sofa, kiva fireplace and balcony. Beautifully appointed....very charming. Also, they were offering a special of $15.00 off dinner at their already reasonably priced grill. This was a nice touch.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Minnesotamon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013

First off, I would like to say, I really enjoyed Santa Fe - the people, food, location and art were amazing. We started off renting an adobe near Canyon for the first 1/2 of the week and then stayed at the Inn of the Governors for the second 1/2 of the week. The Inn of the Governors was a great deal in Santa Fe. We booked through the website for the hotel and was able to get one of the smaller rooms (212) for $139 (not including taxes). Our booking also included free wi fi, free parking, free breakfast and a $25 credit at Del Charro (hotel's bar), for food each evening. The food in Del Charro may not be fancy, but it is affordable and tasty. All food was charged to the room, including tip and the $25 credit was taken off successfully each day. Also, the smaller room did not bother us at all. We liked having the fresh air. We did not find it noisy. Walking to the Plaza was very easy. The only thing that did not work was the hair dryer which I would have called down and gotten another one, however my fellow traveler had brought a hairdryer, which I used instead! Also, I was able to print off our boarding passes in the lobby. I would stay there again. Good times!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mayshouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
La Fonda on the Plaza
#6 of 60 in Santa Fe
597 reviews
Downtown
Inn on the Alameda
Inn on the Alameda
#2 of 60 in Santa Fe
2,356 reviews
Old Santa Fe Inn
#8 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Drury Plaza Hotel in Santa Fe
Downtown
Inn and Spa at Loretto
Inn and Spa at Loretto
#20 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,814 reviews
Hotel Santa Fe
#13 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn of the Governors? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn of the Governors

Address: 101 West Alameda, Santa Fe, NM 87501-2117
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#10 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
#18 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range: $136 - $295 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn of the Governors 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inn of the Governors is a leader in hospitality among Santa Fe Hotels. We provide world-class service, a beautiful downtown location, complimentary Mountain Sunrise full breakfast, free parking and complimentary Tea and Sherry served daily in our lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with JackRabbit Systems, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Inn of the Governors reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn Of The Governors Hotel Santa Fe
Hotel Of The Governors
Of The Governors Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing