We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“They get everything right . . .”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Inn of the Governors
Ranked #11 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“They get everything right . . .”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

This is a wonderful hotel, with great staff in a great location. The free parking alone, in the centre of town, is worth the price of admission. I love that the free wifi was not a hassle, no passwords and logging on every 3 seconds. Breakfast was delicious, service was great. Afternoon sherry was a pleasure. I really appreciated the convenient computers in the lobby. Honestly everything was great.

In addition to this, due to a flight saga, I arrived and checked in to my room at 6am - I was so worn out I practically fell asleep on the reception desk. I expected to be charged for the 'night' even though I had not actually slept in my room and I was just so delighted to see that they did not charge me for those few hours. This is the kind of courtesy that makes travelers like me want to tell everyone to stay there. Bravo.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mmqc2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,547 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    949
    472
    90
    24
    12
See reviews for
330
711
69
72
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (378)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2013

Clearly there is an emphasis on service here. Lots of "extras."
A year round heated swimming pool. Fireplaces in the grill and the two rooms where breakfast was served. A superb breakfast buffet with gourmet home made muffins in the morning. Covered and underground parking. Steps to the plaza and other shops. And the rooms? We stayed on the governor's wing...with a king bed, pull out sofa, kiva fireplace and balcony. Beautifully appointed....very charming. Also, they were offering a special of $15.00 off dinner at their already reasonably priced grill. This was a nice touch.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Minnesotamon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2013

First off, I would like to say, I really enjoyed Santa Fe - the people, food, location and art were amazing. We started off renting an adobe near Canyon for the first 1/2 of the week and then stayed at the Inn of the Governors for the second 1/2 of the week. The Inn of the Governors was a great deal in Santa Fe. We booked through the website for the hotel and was able to get one of the smaller rooms (212) for $139 (not including taxes). Our booking also included free wi fi, free parking, free breakfast and a $25 credit at Del Charro (hotel's bar), for food each evening. The food in Del Charro may not be fancy, but it is affordable and tasty. All food was charged to the room, including tip and the $25 credit was taken off successfully each day. Also, the smaller room did not bother us at all. We liked having the fresh air. We did not find it noisy. Walking to the Plaza was very easy. The only thing that did not work was the hair dryer which I would have called down and gotten another one, however my fellow traveler had brought a hairdryer, which I used instead! Also, I was able to print off our boarding passes in the lobby. I would stay there again. Good times!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mayshouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rescue, California, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Inn of the Governors has comfy beds, super great breakfast with lots of choices and a fun bar.
The location is perfect to explore Santa Fe. Loved the new decor especially the wrilly-kigs in front.
There are greats shops and restraurants just across the street. It's also within walking distance to the train station.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
128 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We returned to the Inn of the Governors last month - this was our fourth or fifth stay. The hotel has had a recent make-over and is more comfortable than ever.
We chose a superior king - plenty of room, quiet, well appointed.
The room has a fridge, coffee maker and plenty of storage space. Bathroom is large with an ample and comfortable shower.
One of the highlights is the breakfast - many choices, regular filling of offerings, substantial space for any size of guests. There's also a sherry and tea hour in the afternoon.
Staff is gracious, helpful to a fault.
It's well located, within a couple blocks of the plaza. Very reasonably priced - excellent value.
Only issues: (1) no in-room safe; (2) no recycling.
Overall, a 99/A+ rating.

Room Tip: Choose a room with an interior corridor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tejo42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, MD
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Spent five nights here and was very pleased. Although I had the smaller "traditional" room (#210, with an outside corridor) it was fine. Staff were very helpful, the breakfast was good and plentiful, and the location cannot be beat! One caveat is that my friend had a room right near West Alameda and there was some construction/traffic noise. So if that's a problem for you request one that's further away. Next time I'm in town I will definitely be back here!
p.s. Thanks to Ken for the great restaurant recommendations.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Myra W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eugene, OR
Level Contributor
46 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

Great location. We stayed in a suite with fireplace and balcony which was comfortable, large and charming. Heated outdoor pool was nice and enjoyed thoroughly by our kids. The bar has great margaritas and good food. The included breakfast was above average. Staff was accommodating and helpful with the exception of Bea who was rude, a real B in fact. Kenny was fantastic.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Mayadog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
Downtown
Inn on the Alameda
Inn on the Alameda
#3 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,185 reviews
Old Santa Fe Inn
#6 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,536 reviews
La Fonda on the Plaza
#5 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Santa Fe
#12 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,613 reviews
Downtown
Rosewood Inn of the Anasazi
Downtown
Drury Plaza Hotel in Santa Fe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn of the Governors? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn of the Governors

Property: Inn of the Governors
Address: 101 West Alameda, Santa Fe, NM 87501-2117
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#10 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
#18 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn of the Governors 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inn of the Governors is a leader in hospitality among Santa Fe Hotels. We provide world-class service, a beautiful downtown location, complimentary Mountain Sunrise full breakfast, free parking and complimentary Tea and Sherry served daily in our lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, JackRabbit Systems, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Inn of the Governors reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn Of The Governors Hotel Santa Fe
Hotel Of The Governors
Of The Governors Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing