We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Inn of the Governors
Ranked #12 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
Johnston, Iowa, United States
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Exceptional Hotel”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We selected the Inn of the Governors based on the reviews we read here. We stayed three nights in this lovely hotel and enjoyed every minute of it. The rooms are comfortable, clean, well maintained and nicely decorated. The free breakfast was fantastic with many choices of foods. We would definitely recommend this property.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 735DanielA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,592 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    974
    487
    93
    26
    12
See reviews for
351
726
70
73
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (388)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Clinton, Oklahoma
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

The location is great. We were able to park at the hotel and walk to explore.
The rooms are a bit small. There is a mini fridge in the room.
This is an older hotel, and the heater in our first room didn't work very good. When we called the front desk to report it, they quickly offered a space heater. Which let me know weak heaters is an issue they are used to. The space heater did help a lot. One night I decided to blow dry my hair while the space heater was on. That apparently overloaded the breaker, and the power went out in our room. We were moved to another room where the heater works well.
We had a kind of crappy experience, but would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yadee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taos NM
Level 5 Contributor
98 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2013

What a great hotel! Have stayed previously, always return. Had a charming room with a kiva fireplace - what could be cozier in February? Free parking, wonderful free breakfast, great staff, good bed & linens & immaculate housekeeping. In the heart of downtown - it's the best deal in Santa Fe! It's a little rustic in its decor, but quite charming. Give it a try!

Room Tip: I prefer an interior room, rather than one that opens from an outdoor walk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NMTaosena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austria
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2013

I stayed for two nights at the hotel. Its a perfect location for exploring downtown. We stayed in two traditional double queen rooms. The rooms were beautiful furnished and had a warm homely feeling. The front desk manager was very friendly and helpfull and provided us with every information we needed. Breakfast was absolutely perfect! The pool was quite small but ok for the kids. I can highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2013

I always stay at the Inn of the Governors while the New Mexico Legislator is in session. It is comfortable, convenient, the food is tasty, and the staff is very helpful. I've never had the opportunity to swim in the pool, but it looks very inviting. The hotel is also close to the Santa Fe Plaza.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maestraverde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013

I love this hotel! Centrally located on the plaza, walking distace from amazing restaurants. Excellent breakfast in the morning included in the room price. Beautiful large rooms, some with Kiva fireplaces and the wood all ready to go!!
Excellent staff. Also parking available on site.

I always look forward to my stay at the Inn!

Room Tip: Well worth it to book a room with fireplace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Atllasoftheworld123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
292 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2013

The location can not be beat in Santa Fe. The rooms are spacious and the kiva fireplaces with supplied pinion wood makes the stay!

Room was clean. Bed was comfortable. Staff was friendly.

This was our 2nd stay and we are already looking forward to our next.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vtxriders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
Downtown
Inn on the Alameda
Inn on the Alameda
#2 of 60 in Santa Fe
2,272 reviews
La Fonda on the Plaza
#5 of 60 in Santa Fe
2,223 reviews
Old Santa Fe Inn
#8 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Inn and Spa at Loretto
Inn and Spa at Loretto
#21 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,789 reviews
Downtown
El Dorado Hotel & Spa
El Dorado Hotel & Spa
#18 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,345 reviews
Downtown
Drury Plaza Hotel in Santa Fe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn of the Governors? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn of the Governors

Property: Inn of the Governors
Address: 101 West Alameda, Santa Fe, NM 87501-2117
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#10 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
#18 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn of the Governors 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inn of the Governors is a leader in hospitality among Santa Fe Hotels. We provide world-class service, a beautiful downtown location, complimentary Mountain Sunrise full breakfast, free parking and complimentary Tea and Sherry served daily in our lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with JackRabbit Systems, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Inn of the Governors reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn Of The Governors Hotel Santa Fe
Hotel Of The Governors
Of The Governors Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing