We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Inn of the Governors

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Inn of the Governors
Ranked #11 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
Austria
Level Contributor
74 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Perfect stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

I stayed for two nights at the hotel. Its a perfect location for exploring downtown. We stayed in two traditional double queen rooms. The rooms were beautiful furnished and had a warm homely feeling. The front desk manager was very friendly and helpfull and provided us with every information we needed. Breakfast was absolutely perfect! The pool was quite small but ok for the kids. I can highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,500 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    914
    462
    89
    24
    11
See reviews for
323
689
68
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (362)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

I always stay at the Inn of the Governors while the New Mexico Legislator is in session. It is comfortable, convenient, the food is tasty, and the staff is very helpful. I've never had the opportunity to swim in the pool, but it looks very inviting. The hotel is also close to the Santa Fe Plaza.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maestraverde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Level Contributor
49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

I love this hotel! Centrally located on the plaza, walking distace from amazing restaurants. Excellent breakfast in the morning included in the room price. Beautiful large rooms, some with Kiva fireplaces and the wood all ready to go!!
Excellent staff. Also parking available on site.

I always look forward to my stay at the Inn!

Room Tip: Well worth it to book a room with fireplace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Atllasoftheworld123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri
Level Contributor
294 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

The location can not be beat in Santa Fe. The rooms are spacious and the kiva fireplaces with supplied pinion wood makes the stay!

Room was clean. Bed was comfortable. Staff was friendly.

This was our 2nd stay and we are already looking forward to our next.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vtxriders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durango, CO
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

We arrived at 11:00 AM with no reservations. It was cold and windy that day (Dec. 29, 2012). The registration clerk found us a very nice room that we could have immediately. After cleaning up, we made our way across town to the SantaCafe for lunch, which was really enjoyable. At 4:00PM we went to the lobby of our hotel, and enjoyed sipping sherry with the other guests. Our concierge was pouring that evening, so we inquired about a nice restaurant that is close by. He steered us to a magnificent place, just around the corner. Early the next morning, we followed a heavenly aroma to a fantastic, full-blown, hot breakfast buffet that we enjoyed next to a roaring fire in a kiva.

We felt well taken care of, and we will definitely return.

Tom and Sheryl
Durango, Colorado

Room Tip: Some rooms are inside the main building and have kivas in them. Some rooms are outside the main bui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elkmantom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
94 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

Inn of the Governors has some good points and some not so good points. We reserved our room here based on reviews and location and honestly for nearly $300 - expected it to be similar to the Anasazi or other places we have stayed in the center of Santa Fe.

GOOD:
The Inn has a quaint lobby, is well decorated and has a FABULOUS location. In literally 1 minute, you can walk to the plaza to shop and never get in your car. The breakfast is good, the bar is great for a drink and the pool area is lushly landscaped. The rooms are for the most part tastefully decorated.

NOT SO GOOD:
The rooms all have outside facing doors like a motel. It just doesnt have the ability to have a warm feel. The ceilings in the rooms are a cheap tin drop in ceiling and with the outside facing rooms, there is a lot of noise that you shouldnt have to deal with in paying nearly $300 for a motel type room.

All in all, it is a great location and is quaint but should in no way be compared to the other hotels that are in this price range and this locale. So based on value, price and benefits - I am giving it an "average" rating. We werent impressed.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank michaelf50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marianna, Arkansas
Level Contributor
77 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

We lived in Santa Fe some 40 years ago and love to visit. Inn of the Governors is our choice of a centrally located hotel at a reasonable price. We stayed there three nights the week before Christmas and enjoyed ourselves. Some rooms and the ones we always rent have kiva style fireplaces with a supply of wood just down the hall if you run out in the room. The in house restaurant does a good job on a limited menu and we had room service dinner two of our three nights. If we have a complaint, it is the the included breakfast does not seem to change and the preparation on one of our three mornings left much to be desired. I wrote that up on my satisfaction survey and we will see what happens. The breakfast buffet is complete with all you could expect but they do need to rotate the egg dishes and perhaps pay attention to some of the preparation a little more.

Room Tip: If visting in the winter, get a room with a kiva fireplace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Richard N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
Downtown
Inn on the Alameda
Inn on the Alameda
#3 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,080 reviews
La Fonda on the Plaza
#6 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,069 reviews
Old Santa Fe Inn
#5 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Santa Fe
#12 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,586 reviews
Downtown
Rosewood Inn of the Anasazi
Downtown
Drury Plaza Hotel in Santa Fe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn of the Governors? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn of the Governors

Property: Inn of the Governors
Address: 101 West Alameda, Santa Fe, NM 87501-2117
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#10 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
#18 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn of the Governors 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inn of the Governors is a leader in hospitality among Santa Fe Hotels. We provide world-class service, a beautiful downtown location, complimentary Mountain Sunrise full breakfast, free parking and complimentary Tea and Sherry served daily in our lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Inn of the Governors reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn Of The Governors Hotel Santa Fe
Hotel Of The Governors
Of The Governors Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing