We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Our Spot in Santa Fe” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Inn of the Governors

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Inn of the Governors
Ranked #11 of 61 Hotels in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
Marianna, Arkansas
Level Contributor
77 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Our Spot in Santa Fe”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

We lived in Santa Fe some 40 years ago and love to visit. Inn of the Governors is our choice of a centrally located hotel at a reasonable price. We stayed there three nights the week before Christmas and enjoyed ourselves. Some rooms and the ones we always rent have kiva style fireplaces with a supply of wood just down the hall if you run out in the room. The in house restaurant does a good job on a limited menu and we had room service dinner two of our three nights. If we have a complaint, it is the the included breakfast does not seem to change and the preparation on one of our three mornings left much to be desired. I wrote that up on my satisfaction survey and we will see what happens. The breakfast buffet is complete with all you could expect but they do need to rotate the egg dishes and perhaps pay attention to some of the preparation a little more.

Room Tip: If visting in the winter, get a room with a kiva fireplace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Richard N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,339 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    809
    419
    80
    21
    10
See reviews for
284
617
63
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (317)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
The Finger Lakes, NY
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Many positive attributes makes this hotel an excellent choice for travelers. First and foremost is the great location. Numerous shops, restaurants and galleries are only a stone's throw from the inn. You can easily go out on the town, make a quick stop back at the hotel to freshen up or unload any treasures you may have found, then go right back out to continue exploring.

Next is the free parking. The inn is a wonderful launch pad for any trips you want to take, whether they be just around town or further out. If you go in the winter like I did, you will appreciate that some of the parking is covered.

If you like the warmth of a fire and don't mind a slightly smoky smell in your room, definitely get a room with a kiva. The hotel supplies the wood and fire starters and stocks a heap of kindling on hand so you can keep the fire going for some time. This makes for a cozy atmosphere, especially after a day of exploring.

One of the best things the inn offers is its $25 credit that can be used at Del Charro. This lively spot features decent wines and enormous Margaritas, which can be sipped in some big chairs by the fireplace. While I spent the credit on drinks rather than food, the menu items looked appealing. Also, you can order your drinks and take them to your room, where you can unwind with your own personal fire.

Each day I looked forward to the breakfast. Two of the most delicious buffet choices were the western-style scrambled eggs and the giant sausages. There are two yummy chile sauces for your potatoes and other foods, which adds a sparkly little twist to your morning. And again, if you are a fireplace lover, you can eat your meal by a toasty kiva. What a way to start the morning!

If sherry and cookies are your thing, the happy hour is a nice feature and a good way to connect with others in the comfortable lounge.

Another thing I really enjoyed is seeing the farolitos or luminaries lit up at night outside of our window, which faced Alameda Street. I expected to hear a lot of noise because of the room location, but I think the snow and cold deterred the revelers.

Service at the hotel was decent, although some of the desk clerks were much more pleasant than others. The nice ones really went out of their way to be helpful. A couple of the others should find jobs away from the hospitality industry. As a rule, though, most of the staff were quite kind and friendly.

Overall, the Inn of the Governors is an excellent value and a serious contender for the middle-income traveler. The beds are comfy, the rooms are clean, although ours could have used a paint job after all those fires in the kiva! It is a well-worn hotel that is great for the person who loves to explore the city and who wants a homey place to rest.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ChicPea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
121 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

This hotel is in a great location for walking Old Santa Fe. They have some very nice amenities, including afternoon sherry and cookies (delicious). The service across the board was excellent. The breakfast buffet is very good. The room was very nice, if not a bit tight for three people, but we were in a traditional room. We had no problems with noise. The biggest complaint would be the quality of the toilet paper they use. We enjoyed the restaurant for lunch-very good nachos, quesadillas, etc. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank odie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

The.hotel.was.at.a.great.location.......easily.walking.everywhere!!!!The.buffet.breakfast.with.fireplace.dining.rooms.was.wonderful!Heated.pool.was.useable----very-nice.too!!!!Del.Charro.restaurant.was.great.food.prices.and.a.nice.fireplace-there.too.Get.a.room.with.a.fireplace....real.wood!!!!Loved.it.all!!!!!

Room Tip: Room.with.a.fireplace.is.useful-real-wood!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ken c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longueuil, Canada
Level Contributor
217 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

The Inn of the Governors is on Alameda Street, which makes it very close and easily walkable to all the attractions of downtown Santa Fe. The only drawback is that Alameda Street can get very busy, especially at night, so guests who have a room on the street side could be indisposed by the noise. We had a room at the back of the building so noise was no problem. As well, there was no room-to-room noise. The rooms are not all that large but are very well appointed with Navajo-type blankets as wall decorations. The beds are very comfortable. All rooms are equipped with mini-fridges and a flat-screen TV. The bathrooms are also well equipped with separate vanity tables. A delicious complimentary breakfast is served with fresh orange juice, good choice of top-quality breakfast dishes, worthy of a 4 or 5-star hotel. The hotel bar (with both indoor and outdoor parts) is great...and they make a mean marguarita! Every evening, they serve a free glass of sherry in the hotel lobby, which is a nice touch. There's lots of free parking available. The Inn of the Governors is not cheap but not excessively expensive given the quality of the hotel. As such, it definitely is a good choice if you're visiting Santa Fe.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a room away from Alameda Street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RAPLongueuil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, California
Level Contributor
184 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

We spent several days in a room very close to Alameda Street. I was surprised that there was almost no room to room noise, but the traffic noise from the street, the revelers coming out of the bar and yelling in the parking lot was annoying. Everything else was fine.

The room was small and crowded but very clean. The bathroom was tiny but very clean. The vanity area was well lit and had decent counter space. The room had a fairly new flat screen TV and the WiFi was free, fast and reliable.

The staff was helpful but not overly friendly. The first couple of times we entered the room, we were met with a strong odor that smelled like old milk. I spoke with the person at the front desk and as I stood there, he notified housekeeping of the problem. When we returned to the room, the smell was gone.

The hotel is connected to the Del Charro Saloon at which we received a $25 per day credit. The food was fine, the drinks quite average. The waitresses were friendly and attentive. The bartenders were surly, bordering on rude.

The buffet breakfast has pretty much everything you'd want -- from bacon and eggs to oatmeal. Servers bring around water and juice. Very good meal.

Overall, a very good hotel in a convenient location, but I would avoid any room near the street.

Room Tip: Rooms near Alameda Street are noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VenturaTraveler13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Nice, clean, attractive rooms... We got free parking close to our room, a great morning breakfast with fresh fruits, juices, eggs, meats, breads, etc like you would get at a 4 -5 star hotel.. We also got a $25 credit everyday for their restaurant or bar. Nice people, very accomodating . You won't be sorry if you stay here. We certainly will stay here the next time we visit Santa Fe.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Soonerfan2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
Downtown
Inn on the Alameda
Inn on the Alameda
#2 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 stars 1,779 reviews
La Fonda on the Plaza
#7 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 stars 1,868 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Santa Fe Inn
#4 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 stars 1,357 reviews
Inn of the Five Graces
#1 of 61 in Santa Fe
5.0 of 5 stars 510 reviews
Downtown
Eldorado Hotel & Spa
Eldorado Hotel & Spa
#17 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.0 of 5 stars 1,159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn of the Governors? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn of the Governors

Property: Inn of the Governors
Address: 101 West Alameda, Santa Fe, NM 87501-2117
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#10 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
#18 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn of the Governors 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inn of the Governors is a leader in hospitality among Santa Fe Hotels. We provide world-class service, a beautiful downtown location, complimentary Mountain Sunrise full breakfast, free parking and complimentary Tea and Sherry served daily in our lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, JackRabbit Systems, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Odigeo and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Inn of the Governors reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn Of The Governors Hotel Santa Fe
Hotel Of The Governors
Of The Governors Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing