We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Inn of the Governors
Ranked #11 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2008

We just got back from staying at the Inn of the Governors in Santa Fe. This property is two blocks from the plaza and includes free parking (although tight) and a lovely full breakfast. The rooms were nicely decorated and although on the small size they fit our family of 4 (including 2 kids) just fine. We loved eating in the cafe and enjoyed walking across the parking lot each evening and enjoying a glass of wine or yummy dessert by the indoor fire.

Other than another couple with a baby our kids were definitely the only kids around, but they loved the pool and playing checkers in the lobby. It was fun to walk to dinner and museums in the plaza.

Great location and excellent service!

  • Liked — Location, service, free parking and breakfast
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank kat503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,519 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    927
    468
    89
    24
    11
See reviews for
326
695
69
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (369)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
colorado
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2008

I visit Santa Fe often. This is my first time in this hotel. We stayed here a couple of nights. It was well priced for a hotel on the plaza. The staff was fantastic. The room was nice and clean, the beds were very comfortable! The complimentary breakfast buffet was great with pretty good variety for a complimentary breakfast.. Parking is also free which is a bonus. I would definately stay here again. It appears there are some rooms that face the plaza and have cute little balconies. I would try to score one of those next time.

  • Liked — location, free buffet, beds
  • Disliked — location of room
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank kwho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portland, oregon
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2008

My husband and I just spent two days at this hotel. It's proximity to the main plaza is absolutely great. We parked our car in the hotel lot and walked everywhere, for example,the fine arts museum, the Georgia O'Keefe museum, The Palace of the Governors, and wonderful restaurants. Our room was the deluxe room with two queen beds. It was a bit on the small side but with very nice decor and it was certainly comfortable. The breakfast is wonderful. It is a huge buffet, and the food is very high quality. It was a pleasure to look forward to such a satisfying start to the day. The staff was very pleasant and helpful. Although not inexpensive, I think this hotel is reasonably priced for this very desirable area of Santa Fe. Highly recommended!

  • Liked — location and breakfast
  • Disliked — room size
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank northwesterner_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Maryland
Level Contributor
205 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2008

I have visited Santa Fe many times for business & pleasure & have family ties to the area. I have stayed at Inn of the Governors twice now & would recommend it to anyone, unless they are looking for a super-posh resort.
Fabulous location (and not noisy), comfy rooms, great concierge, terrific breakfast buffet, and everyone loves the afternoon tea and sherry.
And the bar/restaurant is one of Santa Fe's best kept secrets. Cheap and good! There's tons of fine dining in Santa Fe, but there are few places as welcoming as this to sit by the fire & have a (reasonable priced) drink & a yummy pudding.
Forget those overpriced margaritas at La Fonda--this is the place to unwind on a chilly evening!
Child friendly, too.

  • Liked — Location, service, bar, concierge
  • Disliked — Grounds not very spacious
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Manningjen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2008

Inn of the Governors is very conveniently located just a couple of minutes' walk from the Plaza. Access from the highway into town could not be more simple and direct. Parking is easy and free. As promised, check-in at 4 PM was a friendly, social time for guests with three varieties of sherries served in the lobby. Our room was delightful and exactly as represented on the website. Two nice touches were the tasteful New Mexico decor of our room and the availability in the hallway of additional firewood for our kiva fireplace. The facilities and grounds were very clean. Consider the Inn of the Governors if you are apt to be turned off by crowded, overpriced, noisy conditions at Hotel La Fonda. Our first room had no heat. Staff were very responsive and moved us to a comparable new room no questions asked.

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EighthContinent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perkins, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
58 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2008

We were so lucky to find this hotel totally by chance. I normally research everything and make reservations in advance but we weren't sure when and if we were going to fit in a Santa Fe visit during our road trip. When we did make it there, I happened to see the hotel on a visitor map with the number and decided it was worth a call. That was the luckiest call that I've made. We got a great rate (it was off-season plus we took a standard room with AAA discount but still I expected it to be higher due to its location.) The room was a pleasure to be in with wonderful attention to detail: super clean, with cosy decor that reflected the region and comfortable, attractive beds and linens.

The staff were amazingly helpful with their suggestions for nearby restaurants, entertainment and directions. The breakfast was way above the normal standard for the "hotel inclusive buffet". We only had the one night but wished that we had could have stayed longer at the Inn.

Besides enjoying the hotel itself, we also thought the location was great. It is still in the historic district although on the edge. You didn't have to fight parking but could instead walk to most places.

If I have to have ANY negatives, they would only be 1) I used the computers to mapquest a place and also to check my email - it was painfully slow one day but somewhat improved the next and 2) When we first arrived, it was a slightly warmer than normal March day and we found the room just on the stuffy side. The air conditioner wasn't set to work because it was so early in the season. HOWEVER, the staff brought up a fan to circulate the air a bit and it cooled down beautifully and was very pleasant after that. To me these were very minor and didn't change my overall feelings about the hotel.

I've stayed at hotels that are considered more "upscale" (their price reflected it too!)...but I would choose the "Inn of the Governors" over any of those. I will definitely plan to go back.

  • Liked — Cleanliness and the attention to detail in the decor
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank OkieSusan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2008

My husband and I chose Inn of the Governors for our 3 day mini anniversary get-away. We loved the attentive staff, fantastic (and complimentary) breakfast buffet and the 4 o'clock tea and sherry hour. Our bed was very comfortable and the kiva fireplace really added to the ambiance. This is a humble, cozy place that does a good job of balancing hotel professionalism and B&B friendliness. We would come back here in a heartbeat. One caveat - the parking (while free and plentiful) is a bit tight and it was a challenge to maneuver our Ford Ranger pickup truck. Luckily, since the hotel is right in the heart of the Plaza, we didn't use the truck much at all!

  • Liked — Kiva fireplace and breakfast buffet!
  • Disliked — Parking lot is pretty tight...
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank sepurdy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
Downtown
Inn on the Alameda
Inn on the Alameda
#3 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,125 reviews
Old Santa Fe Inn
#7 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,509 reviews
La Fonda on the Plaza
#5 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Santa Fe
#12 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,598 reviews
Downtown
Rosewood Inn of the Anasazi
Downtown
Drury Plaza Hotel in Santa Fe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn of the Governors? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn of the Governors

Property: Inn of the Governors
Address: 101 West Alameda, Santa Fe, NM 87501-2117
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#10 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
#18 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn of the Governors 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inn of the Governors is a leader in hospitality among Santa Fe Hotels. We provide world-class service, a beautiful downtown location, complimentary Mountain Sunrise full breakfast, free parking and complimentary Tea and Sherry served daily in our lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with JackRabbit Systems, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Inn of the Governors reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn Of The Governors Hotel Santa Fe
Hotel Of The Governors
Of The Governors Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing