We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect location! great breakfast included!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Inn of the Governors
Ranked #12 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Got a great rate on priceline. Nice local touches in the great rooms. Easy parking. Fabulous location. Nice common areas. Fabulous included free breakfast with many many options. Will return. Love Santa Fe!

Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank jmjesq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,675)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

980 - 986 of 1,675 reviews

Reviewed November 9, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Inn of the Governors in Santa Fe for seven nights on our first trip to New Mexico. I find it difficult to rate - is it a very superior motel (many of the rooms had outside corridors) or an above average hotel (as some rooms had interior corridors)? SWe had experience of both types of room. We wwere initially booked into a standard room with exterior corridor. It had two beds, a clean bathroom and plenty of room. However the heating system was not working (it was in other rooms in the same block) and as it was late October, it got cold at night. We complained and the hotel tried to correct the situation, but to no avail. They explained on the second night that they would move us on the following day (the inn being full that evening). They loaned us a small space heater which marginally improved the situation. On the following day they move us to an upgraded room in the hotel part of the complex. A lovely room with a king size bed, even more space, settee and two chairs and a balcony....and it was warm.
Apart from the cold on the first two nights we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would return
The staff were very friendly, the serving of sherry at 4.00pm a great idea and the location ideal. The hotel was in walking distance to shops, museums, the old town and several excellant restraurants.
Breakfast was plentiful, with cereal, pastries, fruit and cooked items. The pastries were a little disappointing - some American bakeries cannot make good croissants, and the inn's suppliers fell into this category.
In the evening we ate twice in the hotel's bar/restaurant, the Del Charro Saloon. It was good basic food at very reaonable prices. The local ale was excellant
Overall, an enjoyable experience and given the location, excellant value for money

Room Tip: Choose a room in the hotel part, they are more expensive, but much better than the motel type rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

In just a few words , our entire stay was Wonderful, the Staff from morning , to night, were outstanding, accomodateing , and kind. The small bar on the other side of the hotel is with out adoubt the best deal in town it seems , that every one likes to pop in there , for happy hour, smallplates, and cocktails.Also the Kiva , and small balcony with as much wood as you needed fpr the Kiva makes this place , my home away from it all. Ahhh...

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StarFeatherfoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

On a recent trip (11/2-11/6/12) to Santa Fe, my daughter and I stayed at the Inn of the Governors in Santa Fe. It is a great inn/hotel! We were close to shops and the Plaza, and our parking was free (unusual). Each morning we had a complimentary breakfast buffet, which consisted of eggs, bacon, sausages, hashbrowns, toast, fresh strawberries and cantaloup, cereals, coffee and pastries, etc. Great FREE breakfast!

Our room (#104) had two queen beds, large TV, WiFi, thick terry bathrobes, iron and ironing board, hair dryer, coffeemaker (with coffee/etc.), and a small refrigerator. I believe the room had recently been redecorated, and it was very comfortable and cozy. Outside our door was a small garden space with chairs and a small table. Very charming!

All employees were exceptional at this property. We have stayed here before, and we would recommend it to friends. It is a great value!

Room Tip: Room #104 was quiet, accessible from the outside, very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nanameister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

We arrived at the hotel at 12:00 for a 4 night stay and were able to check in straight away - even upgraded to a deluxe room. We were allocated room 251 which was a lovely, but had a connecting door to the adjacent room which we do not like (due to past experiences). We asked at reception to change, but they didn't have anything else available and were told the connecting room was empty. It wasn't and was occupied by the same person who checked out of there the next day, so that wasn't exactly correct. In summary, there was noise from the adjoining room AND room 251 is opposite the cleaner's station which is VERY noisy. So after one night we repeated our request for a room change to the same guy on reception (he was very pleasant and helpful) and offered us room 249 - literally the next room but NOT connecting and NOT near the cleaner's station. We were SO pleased to change rooms and our remaining 3 nights were excellent. Very comfortable huge bed and pillows. Del Charro bar / restaurant is a delight. Great food, ambiance, drinks and staff. It was VERY busy on Friday evening – there were even bouncers on the door, the other nights were less busy. We ate and drank here a lot during our stay.
The pool area is nice even though we didn’t go for a dip. The breakfast is an ok help yourself selection, but I don’t like the waiting staff bringing your juice. I guess it so they are “serving” you with something, so expect a tip. This should be changed.
Overall we had a very pleasant stay and were happy with the hotel after the room change. I’d recommend it to anyone wanting to stay a few blocks from the center.

Room Tip: Avoid a connecting room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fussyminx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We spent a week here and loved every minute ! Small and very "Santa Fe" We asked for a kiva and got a balcony too! Breakfasts are exceptional ..and included…Lisa helped us with everything and also where to go and eat…….she is the BEST ! We will definitely come back !!!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Nice central location. Close to shops, museums,and restaurants. If you come by train it is a 10 minute walk to the hotel. Great staff. Average breakfast. Lunch was very good, sat by the fireplace. Great value for price. Tea and cookies in the afternoon. Will stay there again.

Room Tip: Try to get room with patio on lower level. Was a very quite room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charles G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
Downtown
Inn on the Alameda
Inn on the Alameda
#2 of 60 in Santa Fe
2,462 reviews
La Fonda on the Plaza
#6 of 60 in Santa Fe
658 reviews
Old Santa Fe Inn
#7 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Drury Plaza Hotel in Santa Fe
Hotel Santa Fe
#13 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,693 reviews
Downtown
Rosewood Inn of the Anasazi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn of the Governors? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn of the Governors

Address: 101 West Alameda, Santa Fe, NM 87501-2117
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#10 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
#18 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range: $133 - $251 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn of the Governors 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inn of the Governors is a leader in hospitality among Santa Fe Hotels. We provide world-class service, a beautiful downtown location, complimentary Mountain Sunrise full breakfast, free parking and complimentary Tea and Sherry served daily in our lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with JackRabbit Systems, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Inn of the Governors reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn Of The Governors Hotel Santa Fe
Hotel Of The Governors
Of The Governors Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing