We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Inn of the Governors
Ranked #12 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Could not have ask for a better location everything in walking distance. A full breakfast was included every morning and it was excellent. Additionally their grill was a nice size and they are noted for the house Margarita.... again excellent.
Would agree with others on room size a little small... but location wins over that.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,629)
There are newer reviews for Inn of the Governors
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

960 - 966 of 1,629 reviews

Reviewed September 25, 2012

The location of this hotel was perfect: within walking distance of museums, the Plaza, good restaurants etc. We stayed twice, once on the way to the northern parts and upon returning. Our room both stays was sufficient but quite small, nicely decorated and comfortable bedding etc. Noise was a problem from garbage pickup early in the morning and then the house air conditioning the second stay. The place is old so the walls are not soundproof. Staff were very well trained, eager to help even if it was not their area of responsibility, and food was OK and only available in the bar. The bar is very noisey after noontime and we were told that is because it is one of the most popular! Their heated outdoor pool was fantastic. It is a well run hotel but lacks a good restaurant to go with their upscale ambitions.

Room Tip: I think one has to pay more for rooms that are in a quiet location
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deirdre049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

My wife and I spent 10 days at Inn of the Governors in October 2012.. It was our 2nd stay there in the past five years. Obviously, that says a lot. But we were particularly thankful for the
"extras" provided that most hotels don't. Like the fireplaces (wood provided, even matches and fire starter), the evening tea and sherry (cookies for me), the convenience of
a complete -- yes, hot and complete -- breakfast, beautiful flowers (fresh) lining the balcony
decks, attention to cleanliness, congenial and warm staff always willing to help, and last but not least, a good location that just "seemed like home" to us back here in Virginia. Well run, well
managed and well supplied. Sleep don't get any better that at the Inn of the Governors. (And, no, I have no conflicting interest or ownership in the facility.) My hat is tipped to the folks there
in a day and time when it's difficult to get employees to be polite, respectful and attentive to
customers.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stringsplayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

This was a nice clean hotel. The room was a bit small though, and once we brought all our luggage and bags in, it was a bit cluttered. It didn't matter much, since we didn't spend much time there anyway. The location was excellent, walking distance to the Plaza. The breakfast was very good, and the staff was very nice.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jomom139
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

We spent only one night in Santa Fe and we were glad we chose the Inn of the Governors. Our room was large and quiet with a kiva fireplace, a sofa and club chair, and a great bed, Santa Fe decor and spotless room with the fire already laid out and ready to lite. The room looked just like the photo on the web site.
The complementary buffet breakfast was absolutely the best we had on our entire week long trip in New Mexico and Colorado. It is a real plus to have on site parking so close to the plaza.

Afternoon tea and wine were served in the lobby. The bar and cafe were nothing to brag about but we received a $25 credit so we ate there. Food was fine. Atmosphere was not like the rest of the hotel. I mean the lobby and rooms are very upscale but the lounge is the only restaurant in the facility and seemed out of place.

We have stayed in several other hotels near the plaza and this one was as good as the others.

Room Tip: Deluxe King with fire place gives you a sitting area and maybe a balcony.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SherryinTucson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

After reading far too many reviews of the hotels in Sante Fe, I decided I wanted a room to stretch out in and I wasn't too concerned about the amenities, or dining since we were within walking distance of most of the major attractions. I can't stand expensive hotels with small rooms, unless I'm in a major metropolitan area like NYC. So, we got the mini-suite and it was worth the extra money - especially if you are entertaining friends and family. There was no separate living room but it was a big room with a king size bed and lots of room to lounge about (leather couch and two leather chairs, plus a small balcony). The bed was comfy and the hotel was super quiet.

However, the bathroom was not in proportion - way too small. It was joined by another small counter with a sink and the closet was in that little area. They really should knock all that out and make a bigger bathroom - it would really "tie the room together."

Friendly service, great location, and a free glass of dry sherry at 4pm (nice touch). Good choice.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johnny D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We spent five nights here and loved it. Our room was huge and quiet with a kiva fireplace, two leather sofas, a great bed, and all spotless with Santa Fe decor. Service was terrific, the complementary buffet breakfast was wonderful. All the little extras too meant the price was good: free parking near the Plaza, free wifi, free breakfast, free sherry or tea hour, plus $25 bar and/or food credit.Charros bar is warm and inviting and full every evening. We will be back.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank new0rleansmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
La Fonda on the Plaza
#6 of 60 in Santa Fe
597 reviews
Downtown
Inn on the Alameda
Inn on the Alameda
#2 of 60 in Santa Fe
2,355 reviews
Old Santa Fe Inn
#8 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Drury Plaza Hotel in Santa Fe
Downtown
Inn and Spa at Loretto
Inn and Spa at Loretto
#20 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,814 reviews
Hotel Santa Fe
#13 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn of the Governors? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn of the Governors

Address: 101 West Alameda, Santa Fe, NM 87501-2117
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#10 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
#18 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range: $136 - $295 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn of the Governors 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inn of the Governors is a leader in hospitality among Santa Fe Hotels. We provide world-class service, a beautiful downtown location, complimentary Mountain Sunrise full breakfast, free parking and complimentary Tea and Sherry served daily in our lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with JackRabbit Systems, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Inn of the Governors reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn Of The Governors Hotel Santa Fe
Hotel Of The Governors
Of The Governors Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing