We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“First class, reasonable price” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inn of the Governors

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Inn of the Governors
Ranked #11 of 61 Hotels in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“First class, reasonable price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

We lucked out to find this hotel available for our one night stay. Wish we could have stayed longer. The front desk staff went beyond helpful.....we wanted to see the pianst, Doug Montgomery....they not only found out he was playing at Vanessi's, but gave us discount restaurant coupons for a place nearby. The sherry & tea hour at the Inn was well attended and we made friends w/several other guests. Our room was nicely refurbished (this is an older hotel) and well maintained. The discount (25.00) for lunch at their restaurant was a bonus....great margueritas and pulled pork sandwiches were our choice.

Room Tip: 2nd floor (top floor) corner room--very quiet....good view of Alameda Street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank obuoy4848
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,371 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    829
    428
    82
    22
    10
See reviews for
291
631
63
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (323)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pershore, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at the Inn of the Governors. The room was excellent with some lovely touches in terms of decor and features. The location is ideal just a few minutes walk from the plaza and the inn has easy to access parking.
The staff were very helpful. The breakfasts had a good range of options and we also enjoyed some nice evening meals in Del Charro, the restuarant attached to the Inn. Our package included a $25 dollar voucher each night towards the cost of food at Del Charro, which made it excellent value.
We spent the mornings sight seeing in Sante Fe, then walked back to the hotel for relaxation by the pool and as well as the sherry hour in the afternoon. Sante Fe is a great place to visit and the Inn of the Governors is a really relaxing and pleasant place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LJBWorcester_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

Perfect location for Santa Fe. Stayed for two days and didn't drive a single time. The property is older but is in good general repair. The parking lot is small and spaces very tight. The only bad thing was the room air conditioner did not work very well. We complained after the first night and a maintenance guy was dispatched but no improvement.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dbski4it
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rimrock
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

I have had the pleasure of staying at the Inn of the Governors over the years. I have not been able to return to Santa Fe for 6 yrs., and I must say, it is still the same wonderful hotel in the heart of Santa Fe. The staff is so wonderful and helpful and the location truly is in the heart of Santa Fe, you are able to walk everywhere. A hint for anyone is going in the fall or winter, book a room with a fireplace, the piñon wood perfumes the air and room. I love this place......

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nikzan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marquette, Michigan
Level Contributor
52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

From check in to check out everything was great. Comfortable room, refreshing pool, fun sherry hour, delicious pool side lunch and all less than a 5 minute stroll to the plaza. Why would you stay anywhere else. Will definately stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank macnm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grapevine TX
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

I have stayed here before and everything was perfect, Food was good, service was good , the only problem was the fireplace really did not draft well. The room filled up with smoke. We solved the problem though. We stopped using it.:) This time the air conditioner did not work well and our neighbors next door actually had their unit replaced. The weather was perfect though and I was comfortable enough. The location is great by the way.

Room Tip: Choose the part that is newer than the section where the office is located.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MarciainTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedfordshire
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

Check in was speedy and parking sufficient. Our room was clean and decorated with all things native! There was satelite TV, hairdryer and free Wi-Fi. It has a tiny outdoor pool but provides towels and a bar service for food and drinks. They have afternoon tea and sherry at 4pm and provide computers and newspaper sin receptions.
Its location is good for walking to the nearby town plaza which houses all gift shops and restaurants/bars etc. We ate in the restaurant in the evening and the food is defintiely value fo rmoney. It was busy and quite popualr with people not staying at the hotel.
The only downside was our room must have been near a main road as we were woken by the traffic and also the birds tweeting at 5am!! they do provide earplugs n the room next to the sink - maybe we should have takent he hint and put them in!!
Would recommend to others :)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cb90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
Downtown
Inn on the Alameda
Inn on the Alameda
#2 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 stars 1,843 reviews
La Fonda on the Plaza
#6 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 stars 1,898 reviews
Old Santa Fe Inn
#5 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 stars 1,383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inn of the Five Graces
#1 of 61 in Santa Fe
5.0 of 5 stars 516 reviews
Downtown
Eldorado Hotel & Spa
Eldorado Hotel & Spa
#18 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.0 of 5 stars 1,185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn of the Governors? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn of the Governors

Property: Inn of the Governors
Address: 101 West Alameda, Santa Fe, NM 87501-2117
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#10 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
#18 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn of the Governors 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inn of the Governors is a leader in hospitality among Santa Fe Hotels. We provide world-class service, a beautiful downtown location, complimentary Mountain Sunrise full breakfast, free parking and complimentary Tea and Sherry served daily in our lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, JackRabbit Systems, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Travelocity and HotelsforEveryone so you can book your Inn of the Governors reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn Of The Governors Hotel Santa Fe
Hotel Of The Governors
Of The Governors Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing