We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Made our trip to Sante Fe”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Inn of the Governors
Ranked #12 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 1, 2011

Inn of the Governors really made our trip to New Mexico and Sante Fe worth it. Upon arrival, they promptly upgraded us to a suite room with a balcony that was HUGE. With the $25 food and bev credit we used it everyday and the food at Del Charro is great! The breakfast in the morning was plentful with fresh fruit, pastries, egg mixes, french toast, and meats. The room was not only huge, but clean, decorated well, and had character. Of course there may be some cracks in the paint, but people, come on! this establishment is OLD. They have done wonders to keep the old feel, without it being run down. I've see hotels less than 2 years old in worse shape that this. The bed was comfortable, the location was great, and again, Del Charro and the service we received were top notch. The only thing we didn't care for was we had some issues with the air conditioning. Other than that, I would highly recommend Inn of the Governors.

About Sante Fe. For a young couple with no kids, we enjoyed ourselves, but the city does attract an older crowd. Get out as much as possible and get to the national parks such as Bandeiler. Go north and get to Taos, and do some wine tasting. I personally thought Santa Fe was overpriced and overrated catering to baby boomers looking to retire.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank umyeah01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,677)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,245 - 1,251 of 1,677 reviews

Reviewed May 28, 2011

Hubby and I recently spent 2 nights at the Inn of the Governors. We booked one of their Traditional Rooms and found it very much met our expectations and needs. While the room and bathroom are not large, it was more than ample and we absolutely loved the decor and toiletries. Service from the front desk staff was excellent as was housekeeping. The on site restaurant serves great pub food at a bargain price. We parked our car when we arrived and walked everywhere. The included breakast and the convenience to the Plaza makes this Inn well worth the price. Loved it, loved it, loved it.

Room Tip: We had a street side third floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank doloresandjeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2011

Met three siblings and spouses, all seniors, for a long weekend reunion and 50th wedding anniversary celebration. Front desk and general management were very attentive to our needs and went out of their way to help us celebrate and enjoy Santa Fe. Perfect location for walking the center of town. Excellent breakfast and casual bar and dining. Definitely would return.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnw40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2011

Booked room for $65 on priceline. Called hotel which confirmed room with 2 beds. Wonderful extensive breakfast buffet with choice of breakfast room with fireplace or patio with heater. Two blocks from plaza, a mile from Whole Foods. Very convenient with incredibly accomodating staff.

Really, really liked this hotel! If noise is a concern, ask for a room away from the street.

Room Tip: Book on pricelilne
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stillhouse1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2011

Stayed there for 2 nites, very comfortable rooms with fireplace. Full breakfast incl. each day.
Walking distance to all shopping and galleries. Bar with appetizers in the building.
Recommend to anyone wanting to stay in Sante Fe. Also went to a great Italian Rest in
guadalupe district walking distance to hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank snobrd2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2011

The hotel is first rate, located 3 blocks from The Plaza in Santa Fe. The beds are so comfortable it's hard to describe. And the bed linens are first rate. The feather comforter was so wonderful my wife and I purchased one from them before we left. The complimentary breakfast was great with just the right amount of chile sauce to give you a pleseant burn without setting your mouth on fire. They offer a four o'clock tea and sherry social everyday and the Del Charo restaurant has good food as well. The staff is very accomodating and courteous. This was our third visit in five years and we can't wait to go back again.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dgmjbm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2011

This little gem is a classic, a very real Santa Fe experience with outstanding service and a wonderful location. The room we were in although small was very comfortable and had very nice linens and beds. All accents are real and high quality from the circa pictures on walls and Pueblo blankets, to handcrafted mirrors, real wood, to the small details like earplugs and make up remover in bathrooms. FREE parking and Wi fi which is not the norm in Santa Fe, specially when so close to the Plaza.
The breakfast which is included along with tea and Sherri in the early evenings make it a huge value since the food is made from scratch and it is a full on "desayuno fuerte" hefty breakfast.
I like that they are being eco friendly by using bulk dispensers for soap, shampoo and conditioner along with native landscaping. We were going to stay one night and ended up for three because we liked it so much. The restaurant/ bar has fgood food and they deliver to the room.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iginiavb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
Downtown
Inn on the Alameda
Inn on the Alameda
#3 of 60 in Santa Fe
2,465 reviews
La Fonda on the Plaza
#6 of 60 in Santa Fe
658 reviews
Old Santa Fe Inn
#7 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Drury Plaza Hotel in Santa Fe
Hotel Santa Fe
#13 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,694 reviews
Downtown
Rosewood Inn of the Anasazi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn of the Governors? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn of the Governors

Address: 101 West Alameda, Santa Fe, NM 87501-2117
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#8 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
#18 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range: $135 - $251 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn of the Governors 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inn of the Governors is a leader in hospitality among Santa Fe Hotels. We provide world-class service, a beautiful downtown location, complimentary Mountain Sunrise full breakfast, free parking and complimentary Tea and Sherry served daily in our lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with JackRabbit Systems, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Inn of the Governors reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn Of The Governors Hotel Santa Fe
Hotel Of The Governors
Of The Governors Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing