We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Fantastic Walking Tour

Allen Pacheco is is a highly knowledgeable historian and a consummate story teller! Our 2-hour tour... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
tawtaw5
,
Santa Monica, CA
via mobile
Highly informative and fascinating tour of Santa Fe

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our personal tour with Allan. What an exhilarating experience... read more

Reviewed November 18, 2018
Karen S
,
Reno, Nevada
Read all 29 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Santa Fe
from $43.00
More Info
from $140.00
More Info
from $37.00
More Info
from $80.00
More Info
Reviews (29)
Filter reviews
29 results
Traveler rating
28
1
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
28
1
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews paranormal activity great stories private tour walking tour ghost walk storytelling skills story teller highlight of our trip interests allan sightings historian knowledge tailor santa
Filter
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 29 reviews
Reviewed May 13, 2016

Allan Pacheco is the tour guide for an ultimate experience when visiting Santa Fe. I have been to Santa Fe five times, and it was on my latest trip that I had the best of all experiences. My companions and I booked two tours with Allan prior to arriving in Santa Fe. These were private tours just for us and the prices were so reasonable.
We had the ghost tour on the first day we arrived meeting Allan right at dusk. We wound our way around town listening to fascinating information. Although I am not as much of a ghost enthusiast as my friend, I found myself very interested in the stories told on location. The tour ended back at the square just at dark. Allan even walked us (three women) to the La Fonda, where we were staying. Two days later, we met Allan for the historic walking tour. I have been on a walking tour of Santa Fe in the past, but this far exceeded my prior experience. Again, this was private to our group and, therefore, tailored to our questions. As a history buff, I came away feeling that this jewel of a city was part of me.
Both the ghost walk and history tour of Santa Fe more than met our expectations. Allan's depth of knowledge, high energy and upbeat personality are second to none. I have been on many tours both in the USA and abroad and Allan's history tour ranks in my top two!
Go to Santa Fe. Meet Allan. You won't be disappointed.
By the way, Allan is a one man show. If you read a review about someone other than Allan leading, it's not the correct tour!

Date of experience: April 2016
Thank nativejerseygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2016

We were a bit off put that this tour was during the day but one could see the reasons behind it. The stories Julia told us gave the history of the area more of a fun and light hearted aspect to it. While some of the stories overlapped with what we had been told on our history tour, Julia also took us to some new locations that had some interesting experiences attached to them. Her storytelling skills were good and kept everyone's attention. She also left some space at the end for any questions regarding Santa Fe itself, like places to eat or get drinks at, places to stay at, or things she recommended doing while in the area. We were sad the tour ended a bit early and wanted to hear more stories but Julia was good at connecting with everyone in the group and answering any questions we had.

Date of experience: March 2016
Thank Nova159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2015

Local historian and Author Allan Pacheco is the only tour guide in Santa Fe who actually has ghost hunting experience and has investigated many areas over his 30 plus years of being in the Santa Fe area. He personally took us to many places where there was history of apparition sighting and shared photographs of some of his personal hunts, with a few photos that stand out, such as one taken in a local cemetery where a power surge of some kind comes up from the ground (grave site) and fries the circuitry of the camera. This is a rare occurrence and exceptional to capture a photo of it through a second camera while it was occurring. He spent a couple of hours with us walking us around and even though it was a pay for tour I felt that I came away with a friend that I could contact as I needed later.
Not interested in the paranormal?: Allan does historical tours and can leave out the ghostly experiences for the squeamish if requested. He is the author of several "easy read" history books on the Santa Fe area. Grab one for the ride home on the plane and your flight will go by quick, as our's did.
PS: Allan also has experience in keeping the local beggars at bay while on the tour and they can be pesky in the plaza areas after dark. For the most part they recognize him as a local and will leave your group alone. We never felt threatened while walking the streets at night on this tour. Because of many narrow stairways of the buildings, I don't believe that this tour would be handicapped friendly and you should contact him for the minimum age that he would like to see on his tours.
....StanJanParanormal

Date of experience: April 2015
9  Thank stanjanparanormal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Date of experience: August 2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2016
Google Translation

Date of experience: July 2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews