We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“... what a warm welcome to Santa Fe!”
Review of Inn on the Paseo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Inn on the Paseo
Ranked #12 of 36 Santa Fe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“... what a warm welcome to Santa Fe!”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Spending a week in Santa Fe for my brother's birthday, I found the new owners and their entire staff were so eager to help us make the week special.

As a B&B, it was just the right size to meet and enjoy the guests over a gourmet morning breakfast. Each day's selection was different, and had something adventurous to enjoy - squash blossoms filled with goat cheese, chives, olives, etc. on our last day, but everything from corn cakes with fresh corn kernels to eggs served in so many different ways. Tea time meant fresh cookies and on occasion, very special chocolates from a local chocolatery (dark chocolate with raspberries) and coffee and teas were always available.

It was such an easy - and pleasant - walk to the Plaza, just a few blocks, and on Indian market Saturday we were near the exhibits and could be there early to talk with the artists.

My room was quiet, full of Santa Fe style with sunflower yellow walls, painted wardrobe, large closet and fully equipped (hair dryer, spa gels, lotions) bath. And I talked about the warm welcome. On his birthday, we brought a friend's birthday pie - blueberries and raspberries - back to the Inn, and Terry, the owner's father, personally served us our plates of pie, and actually helped us sing "happy birthday!" The wonderful chef, Erin, shared a few seasoning secrets with us. We'll be back!

Room Tip: We liked being on the lower, basement floor, downstairs where it was very quiet, since the Inn is on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BJTwhcsb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca M, Owner at Inn on the Paseo, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Greetings from Santa Fe!

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that you took the time to write your very kind review! It was our pleasure to host you during your stay (and my father still waxes poetic about that piece of pie) and we look forward to seeing you again next year for Indian Market.

Thank you again for taking the time to write your review and we wish you all the best!

Take care and safe travels,
Rebecca Martinson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    257
    71
    24
    4
    3
See reviews for
41
188
36
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
249 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 229 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Several of our family members have stayed at the Inn for a few days during the last two summers. The convenient location, homey feeling and good value make this our choice for Santa Fe visits. With new ownership and management of the Inn, there are some changes worth noting. The free shuttle service between the Inn and locations in central Santa Fe is no longer available. A single breakfast dish was offered, rather than the several choices a year ago. Sometimes there was no one at the front desk to check in new arrivals. I hope the new management will address such problems and keep their new and return patrons happy.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Henry A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca M, Owner at Inn on the Paseo, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Hello and greetings from Santa Fe!

Thank you so much for taking the time to offer your thoughts on your recent stay with us! We really do appreciate these feedback notes and hope to use them as a forum for improving our guests' experiences. To address your concerns- while the Innkeeper is on property starting at 3:30 to prepare for our check-ins at 4:00 pm, we are often preparing rooms or baking cookies in the kitchen- we can usually hear the bells on the door but will always hear the bell on the front desk- we're never further away than a quick ring!

Unfortunately, the shuttle service was provided by the Hotel Santa Fe (the previous owners) and as we are no longer affiliated with them, we no longer have access to that service. I agree that it was a convenience but as we are so centrally located in a very walkable city (only three blocks from the plaza!), we don't see it as an insurmountable loss.

Thank you again for your kind words and for taking the time to offer your review. We hope to see you again soon and thank you for your business!

Take care and safe travels,
Rebecca Martinson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery, Texas
Level Contributor
58 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

We were residents of this B&B August 7-9th for our second stay in two years. Both visits have been wonderful experiences for us. This B&B is within walking distance of the square, many fine restaurants, shopping, and sightseeing of many old cathedrals and buildings in Santa Fe. We learned that this property had recently been sold to new owners; we noticed no difference in services from our previous visit. The breakfasts were creative and chef-prepared, rooms were clean and upscale, and toiletries provided were a higher-class product. The young man that is managing this property is very polite, friendly and helpful. We feel that we can recommend this establishment for couples, singles, and families with teen-age+ children.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sniffies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca M, Owner at Inn on the Paseo, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Greetings from sunny Santa Fe!

Thank you so much for both your repeat business and for your kind review! We really appreciate our guests taking the time to tell us of their experiences and to offer us feedback. Thank you so much, again, for coming to stay with us and we look very much forward to welcoming you back to Santa Fe the next time your travels bring you our way!

Take care and safe travels,
Rebecca Martinson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sneads Ferry, North Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2013

I arrived at the Inn on the Paseo one night before the class I was in town to take began and I was delighted by what I found. The Inn looks like several old houses that have been connected together to form this sweet little gem of a property. I had called ahead because I was going to be arriving before the 4:00 pm check-in time and Pete and Erin stored my luggage for me until my room was ready. I was able to grab some fresh-baked cookies and a cup of coffee before I left to explore the Plaza- which was only a five minute walk from the Inn! I only had breakfast there two days out of my 5 day stay but wish I could have tried more- Erin’s cardamom coffee cake is to die for and her corn cakes demanded that I eat seconds. An excellent find in a great location with wonderfully friendly staff.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Madeline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca M, Owner at Inn on the Paseo, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Hello from Santa Fe!

Thank you so much for your kind review- I'm glad you enjoyed both your stay and your class! One of the things that drew me to Santa Fe when I decided to pursue purchasing a bed and breakfast was the large number of things to do here- including numerous classes on art, photography, glassworks, etc.

Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back to Santa Fe very soon!
Take care and safe travels,
Rebecca Martinson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, Mo
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013

We stayed at this upscale B&B based on TripAdvisor recommendations, and are very glad we did! The Inn consists of three formerly separate houses that have been joined together into one rather sizeable (for a B&B) establishment, but with the quirky layout retained; we found it charming and fun. Becasue of the arrangement and history, each room is different in size and shape - our two couples ended up with one large room and one small one - but the common areas, a breakfast area, lounge, living room, outdoor deck and patio, are roomy, bright and very nicely appointed, so there is really no reason to spend much time in your room (and if you are going to stay in a B&B, you shouldn't expect a suite anyway). In any case, our bed - the critical element - was very comfortable. There is a common refrigerator on the lower level for storing your snacks or beverages - quite homey.

The location is ideal - a 5-10 minute walk to the Plaza, but directly on the Paseo de Peralta which circles the downtown area and makes getting in, out and around by car very easy (our room faced the street, but we didn't notice traffic noise at all); and the Inn has its own parking in the back. Directly across the street is a nice path up to the top of a hill, with historic plaques along the way and a park. Great for a morning walk before breakfast.

The Inn changed ownership recently, from the Hotel Santa Fe to a family, and the new owners have started updating and improving as they are able to. The breakfast has been upgraded from a buffet to an individually cooked plate served at table (plus available fruit and cereal). Each day was different, each dish reflected local flavors, and every one was excellent. Seating is either inside, or outside on the deck in the fresh desert air. Coffee, tea and water are available 24/7, and cookies are put out in the afternoon. Even wine glasses are available in the breakfast area. Every staff member we encountered was friendly and helpful.

Overall, a delightful place to stay, and we hope to be back soon!

Room Tip: The web site now has individual descriptions and pictures of the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jdf48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca M, Owner at Inn on the Paseo, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Greetings and Salutations from the City Different!

Thank you so much for your kind review, it was such a pleasure to read of your experience. I particularly appreciate the thoughtful details you mentioned in your review. In particular, the comment you made about the rooms being of varying sizes due to the age and peculiarities of three old builidings joined together. Part of the reason we wanted to purchase this particular inn was because of that very uniqueness. And you are correct that it is a bed and breakfast- we do not make any claims to be a hotel and our rooms are quirky, original, and unique- much like our guests! As such, as you pointed out, there is no such things as a 'standard' room or a 'suite'.

Thank you again for your thorough and very thoughtful review. We hope very much to be able to host you again when your travels bring you through Santa Fe.

Take care and safe travels,
Rebecca Martinson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Nice rooms, a welcome change from the typical institutional accommodations found at the chain motels. Erin, the breakfast chef, makes a great breakfast in a pleasant setting. Brian, the innkeeper on duty, was polite and helpful. I would recommend this B & B to everyone.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca M, Owner at Inn on the Paseo, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Hello hello!

Thank you so much for taking the time to give us a review, we really appreciate your comments! I'm glad to hear that you appreciated the homier aspects of our little Inn and hope you enjoyed staying here as much as we enjoyed hosting you. It's always a pleasure to hear about your stay.

Thank you again and we hope to see you here in Santa Fe again soon!
Safe travels,
Rebecca Martinson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We stayed at the Inn a week ago and can only say how much we loved our experience. Our room (#8 on the lower level) was charming and very private. As city dwellers, we were delighted by how quiet and peaceful it was and very much enjoyed the eclectic Santa Fe style. Brian, Pete, Rebecca, and Erin were welcoming, friendly, and incredibly helpful. Pete gave us some tips on dining in town and we found some new favorite restaurants thanks to his advice. Breakfast was a delight every morning- different offerings and perfectly sized portions. Erin’s crepes are not to be missed! We enjoyed being able to eat outside in the mornings (before it got so hot!) and the chairs are so comfy, it’s hard to force yourself to leave once you finish your meal.

All in all, a great find, a great stay, and wonderful people. We will definitely be back! Thank you to the Inn and the staff for the excellent vacation!

Room Tip: We loved room #8 on the lower level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank asequinedlife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca M, Owner at Inn on the Paseo, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Greetings from Santa Fe!

Thank you so much for the taking the time to write your lovely review. I'm so glad to hear you liked our room 8- I find it to be a quiet, charming room with a lot of character. I will pass along the compliments to Erin, Pete, and Brian and on my own behalf, thank you for your kind words!

We look forward to welcoming you back to Santa Fe soon!
Take care and safe travels,
Rebecca Martinson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
Downtown
Inn on the Alameda
Inn on the Alameda
#3 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,180 reviews
Old Santa Fe Inn
#6 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,535 reviews
Downtown
Inn of the Governors
Inn of the Governors
#11 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Santa Fe
#12 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,613 reviews
La Fonda on the Plaza
#5 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,151 reviews
Downtown
El Dorado Hotel & Spa
El Dorado Hotel & Spa
#17 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn on the Paseo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn on the Paseo

Property: Inn on the Paseo
Address: 630 Paseo de Peralta, Santa Fe, NM 87501-1957
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe > Downtown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Inn on the Paseo 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn on the Paseo is the quintessential Santa Fe bed and breakfast. Located just three blocks from the historic Santa Fe Plaza, and within walking distance to Canyon Road, the Inn on the Paseo offers comfortable, relaxing accommodations with free Wi-Fi, free parking, and complimentary breakfast. We are here to help make your visit to Santa Fe a memorable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Inn on the Paseo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn On The Paseo Hotel Santa Fe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing