We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous B&B”
Review of Four Kachinas Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Four Kachinas Inn
Ranked #5 of 36 Santa Fe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 10, 2010

All I can say is wow. I have stayed at other highly rated B&Bs in Santa Fe, Four Kachinas is my favorite by far. I was in town for a four day photography workshop, the location-perfectly situated being close enough to town to walk, far away enough for quiet; the room...great linens, bed to die for, very roomy with great work space for me to process my photos, beautifully decorated and clean, clean, clean; the breakfasts were delicious (always fresh savory baked goods along with wonderful breakfast choices); and the staff warm friendly and so helpful; plus parking on premise (a plus for downtown Santa Fe). Bravo Four Kachinas, you got it right.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maggiephotonut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (412)
There are newer reviews for Four Kachinas Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

277 - 283 of 412 reviews

Reviewed September 12, 2010

We selected Four Kachinas for our first visit to Santa Fe, and it was a perfect choice. In addition to a tastefully furnished room with posh sheets and towels, there were several cozy sitting areas indoors and patio areas. Breakfasts always yummy. Cookies, too. Hosts are easy going, informative and helpful. This inn and sister property El Farolito are easy walking distance to the plaza, restaurants, Canyon Rd, other sites...but private, it became our home away from home. Nicely priced, too.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank babette50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2010

Within walking distance to the Plaza. Comfortable rooms; great intimate courtyard for lingering after ample breakfasts. Great advice on the area and dining from amiable proprietors.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travellin_Dan_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2010

We have been spoiled for life. This charming B&B exceeded all of our expectations. The rooms were wonderfully decorated, the breakfasts were deliciously prepared, Wayne, Mark, Dana, and Walt were gracious hosts with a wealth of knowledge about the area. The location was an easy walk to the Plaza, museums, galleries, etc. We can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Merlin2536
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2010

Four Kachinas B&B, Kachina Room. The atmosphere is a serene one, with a courtyard fountain quietly bubbling away amidst gardens dappled with sunlight. Tables with chairs dotted around. We’re in the Kachina Room – high-ceilinged, queen-bedded, and bursting with Southwest charm. We have a door leading to a private patio for two on one side and a door leading to the garden courtyard on the other. There’s also a comfortable sofa, a flat screen tv(which we didn’t turn on once) and the quietest air condition I’ve ever heard. A ceiling fan and screened windows make the most of the high desert air to cool the room quite comfortably without the a/c, if one prefers. The bathroom is compact, with a bath-shower combo, thick, fluffy towels, and outfitted with Gilchrist & Soames toiletries.
The room is altogether charming and we felt damned lucky to get it—my weekend trip was booked completely last minute to join up with my husband who had already been out there for a week teaching a workshop at St. John’s College. The dorm room where the college put him up, while being perfectly adequate to his needs, was only furnished with a twin bed, so we had to scramble to find a room. I wanted a room where I could walk the downtown area while he was still teaching, but finding one with charm and local color that also didn’t break the bank was a challenge.

The breakfast spread is quite good. They offer one hot entrée each morning, and the first morning we were there it was a mushroom & cheese soufflé. They also offer a variety of breads, cereals, yogurt, and a remarkable fruit plate with ten different kinds of fresh fruit. Coffee, tea, and freshly squeezed orange juice rounded out the offerings. Because we had to leave before breakfast on our second morning to catch an early flight out of Albuquerque, Walt, the innkeeper, arranged to leave some yogurt and cereal for us in the communal refrigerator in the breakfast room.

The breakfast room doubles as a lounge or tea room for the remainder of the day, where the innkeepers provide complimentary coffee, tea, sodas, bottled water, and homemade cookies—perfect for that late afternoon pick-me-up after exploring all day. They also provide maps of the town and the region for guests to take with them, and they’ve collected menus from dozens of restaurants in town for guests to peruse in order to best choose their meals out. The communal refrigerator is also great for guests who have leftovers or who want to keep bottles of wine chilled to enjoy in their rooms later.

The Plaza was only a 10 minute leisurely stroll (shorter if one has a brisker pace or doesn’t stop to window browse every shop along the way), but the location was quiet enough not to be bothered by noise from traffic or tourists. In short, it was practically perfect in every way, and I look forward to my next trip to Santa Fe and the Four Kachinas.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ejcrowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2010

My wife and I spent 2 nights at the 4 Kachinas Inn in early July. We stayed in the Digneo room which is located in a separate house from most of the other rooms. We were greeted by one of the owners, Walt, who made sure that we knew all the good things that were going on in Santa Fe that weekend. The room itself is very nice and his its own little foyer area. The only disappointment was that the room was described as having a private patio, which we interpreted as meaning that it had access to its own outdoor space. However, guests in that room do have access to the front porch, a side patio, and the communal patio where breakfast can be eaten.
Breakfast itself is very nice. A combination of a hot dish (usually an egg based meal), fresh fruit, cake, etc. For those who want to know what the breakfast seating arrangements are like at B&Bs, this is a separate table situation rather than a communal table situation. The breakfast can also be taken outside to the nice patio area in good weather. Snacks are also offered at other times of the day.
While the location of the 4 Kachinas is certainly within easy walking distance of the main downtown area, it should be mentioned that it does require crossing one busy street (Paseo De Parelta). This kind of makes the B&B seem just a little more removed from downtown than it actually is. I kept wishing the B&B was just one block closer so that I wouldn't have to cross that street.
While we were in town we dined at La Choza (good) and Galisteo Bistro (very good but make sure you have reservations). We also really enjoyed having a drink in the wonderful courtyard of La Casa Sena every night.
In sum, a great B&B where the owners seem really intent on making sure you experience many of the interesting things that Santa Fe has to offer.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Westby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2010

This was a perfect experience. The room was beautifully furnished with art from the area; the breakfasts were excellent; the patio was a perfect place to visit with fellow travelers and enjoy the pleasant weather; our host was knowledgeable and gracious. We spent three nights here. It was simply marvelous.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2TravelersfromWis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
La Fonda on the Plaza
#6 of 60 in Santa Fe
595 reviews
Inn of the Five Graces
#1 of 60 in Santa Fe
607 reviews
Downtown
Rosewood Inn of the Anasazi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Santa Fe
#13 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,664 reviews
Downtown
Inn on the Alameda
Inn on the Alameda
#3 of 60 in Santa Fe
2,353 reviews
Downtown
Hilton Santa Fe Historic Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Kachinas Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Kachinas Inn

Address: 512 Webber St, Santa Fe, NM 87505-2654
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Fe
Price Range: $177 - $322 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Four Kachinas Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy our peaceful garden setting located in the historic district within a short walk to the Plaza, Canyon Road, the Railyard area and numerous restaurants, shops, galleries and historical sites. Exquisitely decorated rooms with private entrances, original art, garden patios and handcrafted furniture. Full breakfast, wifi and parking included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Four Kachinas Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing